Results 1 to 12 of 12

Thread: TV Antenna

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    127

    Default TV Antenna

    Hi guys!!

    I'm staying at woodlands HDB and looking for a good TV antenna.

    I have been changing tv antenna. It can't detect the programmes clearly, especially "channel U.. Sometimes channel 5.

    Googled and saw this satellite dish antenna?

    Recommendations please..

    Thanks!!
    Canon EOS 40D | Canon Powershot S5 IS

  2. #2
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    24,053
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    do you have a starhub cable point?
    just use that

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    do you have a starhub cable point?
    just use that
    I do not have that in my room.
    Canon EOS 40D | Canon Powershot S5 IS

  4. #4
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,387

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    I am also interested. .... but can install setallite dish in HUB flat? Need license?
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    La La Land
    Posts
    1,295

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    satellite dish is banned in SG.
    Mythbusters - the bigger the explosion, the better it is.

  6. #6
    Member tony_teo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tanah Merah
    Posts
    276

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Can put a splitter on the main junction box and pull a line into your room. You'll be able to see the free-to-air channels (Ch 5, CNA, Ch U, etc.), but not the cable channels.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    In The Shadows
    Posts
    1,230

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by Paranoia08 View Post
    Hi guys!!

    I'm staying at woodlands HDB and looking for a good TV antenna.

    I have been changing tv antenna. It can't detect the programmes clearly, especially "channel U.. Sometimes channel 5.

    Googled and saw this satellite dish antenna?

    Recommendations please..

    Thanks!!
    I tried a normal wire cloth hanger before. Just cut a little of the insulation in the center of the hanger. Connect a wire at the hook, or just place it next to your existing antenna. Works perfectly.

    GMAN

  8. #8

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Not all Starhub points are enabled for Free to Air transmission.
    No harm trying.

    TS' problem is a location issue. Try placing the antenna in various positions, directions etc.

    Cheers
    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    do you have a starhub cable point?
    just use that
    Nikon D750; FM2; FG; 55mm Micro Nikkor; 28-300 VR; 70-200 VR; Nikon V1 + 10-30mm

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    127

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Quote Originally Posted by tony_teo View Post
    Can put a splitter on the main junction box and pull a line into your room. You'll be able to see the free-to-air channels (Ch 5, CNA, Ch U, etc.), but not the cable channels.
    Where can I get those splitter?
    Appx how much is 1?
    SH charge ard $120 for 1 cable point.. -.-"
    So ex~~~
    Canon EOS 40D | Canon Powershot S5 IS

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Woodlands
    Posts
    464

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Get it at Home-fix around $16+

  11. #11
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,387

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Too bad, I live in an old flat where there are no TV antennas and network port built in every room. It had to go through major renovation to install these.

    Another alternative is to pull another cable from the main TV antenna to my room. But it will be ugly when seeing the cable lying on the floor (Currently, I had one telephone linked from living room to my room, which is lying on the floor. Just think it is like MATRIX )

    Is there anyway to link the antenna? Or else I have to watch TV using Mio.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  12. #12

    Default Re: TV Antenna

    Try NTUC, they have some people who can do it.
    I had mine done for $90 a couple of years back.
    Don't expect to pay peanuts for good labor.
    $120 is not expensive, would you do a house call for less than $100 for a few hours labor?

    Quote Originally Posted by Paranoia08 View Post
    Where can I get those splitter?
    Appx how much is 1?
    SH charge ard $120 for 1 cable point.. -.-"
    So ex~~~
    Nikon D750; FM2; FG; 55mm Micro Nikkor; 28-300 VR; 70-200 VR; Nikon V1 + 10-30mm

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •