Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

  1. #1
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Hi, fellow Csers. Please help. I am trying to calibrate my laptop LCD recently (first time doing that). After the calibration, the screen became yellowish. I compared the lab-printed photos with the soft copy of the same images. The screen images looks terrible.
    I think I may have calibrate wrongly. Something very strange also, all the thumbnails (extra large icons) look OK, when open in image viewer, they turn yellowish.
    Anyone have previous experience with this, could you please help me. Thanks.

  2. #2
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Photo after calibration



    Thumbnail image
    Last edited by jtsky; 29th July 2009 at 10:23 AM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Go to START > CONTROL PANEL > COLOR MANAGEMENT.

    Go under DEVICES tab, select your Monitor. Under PROFILES, select the Spyder3 profile that you have calibrated.

    Under START, PROGRAMS, START UP, delete any other profiles loaded during start up. E.g. Adobe Gamma Loader, Spyder Monitor Profile etc...

    Hope that helps. Cheers!

  4. #4
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    Go to START > CONTROL PANEL > COLOR MANAGEMENT.

    Go under DEVICES tab, select your Monitor. Under PROFILES, select the Spyder3 profile that you have calibrated.

    Under START, PROGRAMS, START UP, delete any other profiles loaded during start up. E.g. Adobe Gamma Loader, Spyder Monitor Profile etc...

    Hope that helps. Cheers!
    Thanks, hazmee. The profile that I calibrated and save seems to be defaulted automatically by the colour management setting. However, I reselected the profile, and still doesn't work. I am wonder if there is any other setting that I missed out.

    I save the calibrated profile as 250709 and was set as default



  5. #5
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Judging from the screenshots it looks as if the colour profile for OS is fine. The grey bars of Explorer look fine, no obvious cast - and that's how it should look like. Otherwise your whole screen would look terrible.
    So it must be something about the big images and the application itself you are using. Have you tried opening the images with a different viewer? How about Photoshop, Lightroom?

  6. #6
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Judging from the screenshots it looks as if the colour profile for OS is fine. The grey bars of Explorer look fine, no obvious cast - and that's how it should look like. Otherwise your whole screen would look terrible.
    So it must be something about the big images and the application itself you are using. Have you tried opening the images with a different viewer? How about Photoshop, Lightroom?
    I opened the image in PS, LR, it looks fine. Think the colour mismatch of PS, LR, Window picture and fax viewer may probably cause by window viewer is not colour-managed. The colour appeared to be OK in PS looks yellowish in window viewer.
    I reselect the original profile (not calibrated) under the Colour Management dialogue setting (for window viewer) and choose the calibrated profile to be used for PS (proof setup dialogue) and for my printer. Please enlighten me whether this solution will help in matching my print and what I view in PS?
    Last edited by jtsky; 25th July 2009 at 03:02 PM.

  7. #7
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by jtsky View Post
    I opened the image in PS, LR, it looks fine. Think the colour mismatch of PS, LR, Window picture and fax viewer may probably cause by window viewer is not colour-managed. The colour appeared to be OK in PS looks yellowish in window viewer.
    There we have the culprit - So better stick to colour-managed applications. Windows is just an OS.

    I reselect the original profile (not calibrated) under the Colour Management dialogue setting (for window viewer) and choose the calibrated profile to be used for PS (proof setup dialogue) and for my printer. Please enlighten me whether this solution will help in matching my print and what I view in PS?
    Nope, I don't think that works. Why do you want to sacrifice the exact profile just because a dumb viewer gives yellow casts? Every image processing should be done with profiled monitor and colour-managed application. Otherwise the result is bound to be ... let's call it 'suboptimal'.
    I haven't used any proofing in PS (using LR), but AFAIK this is meant for printing or exporting into new files using a different colour space (e.g. from AdobeRGB to sRGB). For printers there are different profiles again: matching the printer, the ink and the paper. Get them from the printer manufacturer.
    Btw: have a look at Digital Darkroom, your question has been discussed there already and you'll find lots of additional information and tips.

  8. #8

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by jtsky View Post
    I opened the image in PS, LR, it looks fine. Think the colour mismatch of PS, LR, Window picture and fax viewer may probably cause by window viewer is not colour-managed. The colour appeared to be OK in PS looks yellowish in window viewer.
    I reselect the original profile (not calibrated) under the Colour Management dialogue setting (for window viewer) and choose the calibrated profile to be used for PS (proof setup dialogue) and for my printer. Please enlighten me whether this solution will help in matching my print and what I view in PS?
    Please check if you have embedded a colour space other than sRGB colour space into the JPEG picture. One possible way to verify is to view the JPEG picture using a colour space aware browser like current release of Mozilla Firefox 3.5.1

    A portable version of Mozilla Firefox 3.5.1 can operate from USB drive and does not affect Windows registry is located at link http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable

  9. #9
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    There we have the culprit - So better stick to colour-managed applications. Windows is just an OS.



    Nope, I don't think that works. Why do you want to sacrifice the exact profile just because a dumb viewer gives yellow casts? Every image processing should be done with profiled monitor and colour-managed application. Otherwise the result is bound to be ... let's call it 'suboptimal'.
    I haven't used any proofing in PS (using LR), but AFAIK this is meant for printing or exporting into new files using a different colour space (e.g. from AdobeRGB to sRGB). For printers there are different profiles again: matching the printer, the ink and the paper. Get them from the printer manufacturer.
    Btw: have a look at Digital Darkroom, your question has been discussed there already and you'll find lots of additional information and tips.
    Thanks. but I used the viewer pretty often for family leisure viewing. just wondering is there anyway to change the viewer setting to remove the colour cast.
    Last edited by jtsky; 25th July 2009 at 03:44 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Squid View Post
    Please check if you have embedded a colour space other than sRGB colour space into the JPEG picture. One possible way to verify is to view the JPEG picture using a colour space aware browser like current release of Mozilla Firefox 3.5.1

    A portable version of Mozilla Firefox 3.5.1 can operate from USB drive and does not affect Windows registry is located at link http://portableapps.com/apps/internet/firefox_portable
    Downloaded and check, it is Adobe RGB. Can this be the cause?

  11. #11

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by jtsky View Post
    Downloaded and check, it is Adobe RGB. Can this be the cause?
    Microsoft Windows Picture & Fax Viewer is not colour space aware application and handles all images with asumption of sRGB colour space.

  12. #12
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Thanks so much, and sorry taking up so much of everybody's time.

    Quote Originally Posted by Squid View Post
    Microsoft Windows Picture & Fax Viewer is not colour space aware application and handles all images with asumption of sRGB colour space.
    OIC, I opened up cam direct jpeg (sRGB) and it look yellow, does this means there is something wrong with my calibration?

  13. #13
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by jtsky View Post
    OIC, I opened up cam direct jpeg (sRGB) and it look yellow, does this means there is something wrong with my calibration?
    No, your calibration is fine. The Windows Viewer is too stupid to check about the embedded colour profile in the image (which is NOT identical to the monitor profile that you have created!). As you see: LR and PS can read and recognize the embedded "Attention: It's Adobe RGB" and they will render the colours accordingly.
    Read here about embedded profiles and do your own checks: http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_...profiles.html#

  14. #14
    Senior Member jtsky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Yishun
    Posts
    2,081

    Default Re: Monitor calibration using Spyder3pro

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    No, your calibration is fine. The Windows Viewer is too stupid to check about the embedded colour profile in the image (which is NOT identical to the monitor profile that you have created!). As you see: LR and PS can read and recognize the embedded "Attention: It's Adobe RGB" and they will render the colours accordingly.
    Read here about embedded profiles and do your own checks: http://www.gballard.net/psd/go_live_...profiles.html#
    Thanks for the link. Thanks all for advices, really appreaciate ur helps

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •