Thread: Please help... Digital cams

Default Please help... Digital cams

Hi i am relatively new to digital photography and i am now deciding which to get. I have more or less narrowed down my choice to the following four cameras, Ixus 400, A80, P8 and Nikon coolpix 3700.
    As you can see i am looking for a point and shoot camera that can take good pictures. My concern are the following

Ixus 400 :Use of CF card. I am quite concern of whether the cf card would go obsolete soon (Someone told me it might be obsolete by next year). cost of camera a little off budget. Heard that battery life rather short per charge

P8: Cost of accessories is very expensive. (the battery cost $110!!!)

Minolta XT: Reviews have said that images are soft. Lack of AF illuminator (I still wonder how important this is)

Coolpix 3700: ISO of 200 seems a little too little esp for indoor shoots + relatively new camera so price likely to drop further (I am not one who will rush out to buy the latest gadget, stil a little price sensitive.)

Please provide constructive advise and confuse me further.. Your help is highly appreciated (you can also give recommendations and where i can get the cam)
    Also how reputable are the following four places for cameras
    1. Cathay photo
    2. Alan photo
    3. MS color
    4. Bargain city

Quote Originally Posted by markytan
    Hi i am relatively new to digital photography and i am now deciding which to get. I have more or less narrowed down my choice to the following four cameras, Ixus 400, A80, P8 and Nikon coolpix 3700.
    As you can see i am looking for a point and shoot camera that can take good pictures. My concern are the following

Ixus 400 :Use of CF card. I am quite concern of whether the cf card would go obsolete soon (Someone told me it might be obsolete by next year). cost of camera a little off budget. Heard that battery life rather short per charge