Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Noise in night shots

  1. #1

    Default Noise in night shots

    How do i take a decent night shots without those irritating noise?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default Re: Noise in night shots

    Originally posted by nutz
    How do i take a decent night shots without those irritating noise?
    Noise is always present in long exposure....even in DCs with NR features (just that NR reduces the amt the noise thru s/w in the DC itself).

    Try keeping nite shots to max 2 sec if possible to keep noise to a minimal...if can't then gotta do post-processing lor!
    Last edited by Jayan; 23rd January 2002 at 09:16 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    UK
    Posts
    3,911

    Default

    Perform a dark frame subtraction if you can. Take a similar exposure (with the same shutter speed) but with the lens cap on. Then use the blank frame, which will have a similar noise structure, to form a subtraction layer in Photoshop to get rid of the noise pattern. Works like a charm.

  4. #4

    Default

    Noise is caused by heat buildup in the CCD, so that is unaviodable.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Tiong Bahru
    Posts
    41

    Default

    What noise are you guys talking about - picture itself has got no sound?

    I am a Newbie, pls pardon me for my ignorant.

    Thx.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Originally posted by duckling
    What noise are you guys talking about - picture itself has got no sound?

    I am a Newbie, pls pardon me for my ignorant.

    Thx.
    Noise usually occur when you take pictures at night with slow shuttle. Take a pic at night with shuttle lag of more than 2 sec and you probably see some noise.
    Canon Lover :)

  7. #7

    Default

    yup that quite true....but that bring me to think ..why the hell my camera need 16 sec exposure for what !!!...since at more than 2 sec exposure there already so much noise..think the manufacturers better improve on their CCDs!!

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    Originally posted by duckling
    What noise are you guys talking about - picture itself has got no sound?

    I am a Newbie, pls pardon me for my ignorant.

    Thx.
    The unwanted dots of all colors in a digi-pix that is cause by heat built-up of the CCD, long exposure, or by turning up the ISO.

  9. #9

    Default

    Originally posted by marlin
    yup that quite true....but that bring me to think ..why the hell my camera need 16 sec exposure for what !!!...since at more than 2 sec exposure there already so much noise..think the manufacturers better improve on their CCDs!!
    If more than 2 sec, every pic will sure got noise? *concern*

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    Originally posted by Blitz


    If more than 2 sec, every pic will sure got noise? *concern*
    Depends lah....when the DC is cool it's negligible but the noise level will creeps up when the DC gets warmer in my experience.

  11. #11

    Default

    Originally posted by Jayan


    Depends lah....when the DC is cool it's negligible but the noise level will creeps up when the DC gets warmer in my experience.
    So maybe we should all take pictures inside Air con environment

  12. #12
    tomcat
    Guests

    Default

    Just use the free software HotPixels Eliminator or BlackFrame NR from this site to digitally remove noise from your long exposure shots:

    http://www.mediachance.com/digicam/index.html

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Hougang, SG
    Posts
    1,338

    Default

    Originally posted by Blitz


    So maybe we should all take pictures inside Air con environment
    No use one...sometimes the 'heat' is due to the residual charge in the CCD...need some time to dissipitate.

  14. #14

    Default

    I guess the Olympus DCs are not designed for use in the SEAsia region, esp in a hot and humid country like Spore. Used my C700 in Genting a week ago. Surprisingly, I can use the DC continuously without noise/hot pixels, something which is not possible here. Of coz, the temp at Genting was constantly around 18-19 degrees.
    Last edited by azone; 28th January 2002 at 12:06 PM.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Bedok
    Posts
    1,417

    Default

    Originally posted by azone
    I guess the Olympus DCs are not designed for use in the SEAsia region, esp in a hot and humid country like Spore. Used my C700 in Genting a week ago. Surprisingly, I can use the DC continuously without noise/hot pixels, something which is not possible here. Of coz, the temp at Genting was constantly around 18-19 degrees.
    Shall all the C700uz and C2100uz camera owner all migrate to genting? haha..
    Canon Lover :)

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •