Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Upper Thomson
    Posts
    133

    Default Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Hi, I can seems to have correct exposure using flash and setting using aperture priority. The When using flash the speed automatically set to 1/60 sec. But I do want to be able to dictate my apeture setting. How then to get the correct exposure.

    When using program mode exposure is correct.

    I am using SB800 and Nikon D200 body.

    Thanks for sharing.
    "Glory in his holy name, let the hearts that seek Yahweh rejoice!"

  2. #2
    Member Cartman2000's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    1,732

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Hi, I can seems to have correct exposure using flash and setting using aperture priority. The When using flash the speed automatically set to 1/60 sec. But I do want to be able to dictate my apeture setting. How then to get the correct exposure.
    Aren't you already dictating your aperture setting in this mode?

  3. #3

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Aperture priority is you choose the aperture while the camera onboard computer selects the rest.

    borrow a few photography books from the nearest national library.
    You wont see me much less remember me but i am the guy who makes you look good.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Upper Thomson
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Does it means that what ever aperture that I choose (the sync speed is 1/60 sec), the flash will give me the correct exposure. For example:

    Scenario 1:
    Aperture setting - f5.6, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Scenaro 2:
    Aperture setting - f2.8, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Scenario 3:
    Aperture setting - f16, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Thanks for clarifying.
    "Glory in his holy name, let the hearts that seek Yahweh rejoice!"

  5. #5
    Senior Member darrrrrrrrrr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rejoice View Post
    Does it means that what ever aperture that I choose (the sync speed is 1/60 sec), the flash will give me the correct exposure. For example:

    Scenario 1:
    Aperture setting - f5.6, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Scenaro 2:
    Aperture setting - f2.8, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Scenario 3:
    Aperture setting - f16, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Thanks for clarifying.
    1/60 is not the sync speed.. it's more like 1/250, not sure what it is exactly for your d200

    anyway yes the TTL will vary the flash power level to expose the foreground subject properly regardless of your aperture setting.

    what i suggest is put your camera to Manual mode so that you can also vary the shutter speed. dragging the shutter (setting a longer shutter speed) will allow for ambient light to be captured, thus resulting in better foreground-background balance. this will help to avoid the deer-in-headlights look where the background is pitch-black.

    hope this helps!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Upper Thomson
    Posts
    133

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    darrrrrr... Thank you very much for your valuable tips... I will try it out.

    Cheers.
    "Glory in his holy name, let the hearts that seek Yahweh rejoice!"

  7. #7
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,902

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rejoice View Post
    Does it means that what ever aperture that I choose (the sync speed is 1/60 sec), the flash will give me the correct exposure. For example:

    Scenario 1:
    Aperture setting - f5.6, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Scenaro 2:
    Aperture setting - f2.8, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Scenario 3:
    Aperture setting - f16, Camera Sync speed - 1/60sec, flash - TTL : result is correct exposure without any other setting?

    Thanks for clarifying.
    you can override the default lowest flash sync speed by set to slow sync mode, read you camera user manual.
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  8. #8
    Senior Member azul123's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Eastern Bloc
    Posts
    2,776

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rejoice View Post
    Hi, I can seems to have correct exposure using flash and setting using aperture priority. The When using flash the speed automatically set to 1/60 sec. But I do want to be able to dictate my apeture setting. How then to get the correct exposure.

    When using program mode exposure is correct.

    I am using SB800 and Nikon D200 body.

    Thanks for sharing.
    Read up on Sync Speed, if you desire the flash to follow your aperture. Look at the flash icon on the top LCD press flash button and rear dials to switch between the settings.

    ../azul123
    Last edited by azul123; 8th July 2009 at 09:30 PM.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Paris (FRANCE)
    Posts
    138

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Quote Originally Posted by catchlights View Post
    you can override the default lowest flash sync speed by set to slow sync mode, read you camera user manual.
    +1 with catchlights and azul123.

    In Aperture Mode with Nikon D200 camera, the lowest flash sync speed is set on 1/60 s par default because they suppose you are newbie and have not good points of support when taking your picture. This limitation is to prevent from blurred results. To overide this limitation, see your instruction manual , at custom settings e2 , page 161 : http://www.nikonusa.com/pdf/manuals/...en_noprint.pdf

    Hope this help,
    Last edited by YoungPictoraider; 8th July 2009 at 06:46 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Using Flash and Aperture Priority - how?

    Read D200 manual page 161.

    Custom setting e2 : Slowest Speed When Using Flash. You can reduce this and you'll see that it can vary according to the scene.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •