Thread: New here! =)

Default New here! =)

Hi everyone! I'm a newbie here!! I'm planning to buy a DSLR, any recommendations? Not planning to buy a huge range of lens though, advice please! Thank you!

Default Re: New here! =)

Hello...welcome.

As I have mentioned before in this forum, all entry level DSLRs are able to produce decent pictures if you use them within their limits. There are great photos produced by Nikon, Canon, Sony, Pentax, Olympus, Samsung & Panasonic cams, what matters is YOU, the person behind the camera and not the camera brand.

I would suggest that you try out the cams from different brands and get the one that you feel most comfortable with.
    Minolta. Konica Minolta. Sony

Hi! Welcome to CS!

Hey, Welcome to CS!!!

Would suggest u try the different camera brand and their grip and weight. Lastly, ur budget...

Happy Shopping :P
    Nikon D90|N35mm f1.8G
    N12-24 f4|T90mm f2.8|T180mm f3.5

It's hard to pick a lemon in the entry level group. Go with what feels good to use.

Hi yumisama,

welcome to CS.

Look around and see which you prefer more. Most of the entry level cameras with the dual lens setup would be sufficient for most of the newbiess. That is UNTIL the BBB syndrome hits...
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

well.. most entry level DSLR kit comes with a very basic zoom lens.. u could trade that in and get a 18-200mm lens. that should be a good enough walk about lens.
    Firstly, read the reviews online or from magazines about the different models and brands.
    2nd, Go to a larger departmental store to try out all the different entry level DSLRs without the pressure of over-zealous saleman trying to sell u something that they have cannot sell!!
    Most new models can take pretty decent pics.