Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Taking pics in low light conditions

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Bukit Timah
    Posts
    711

    Default Taking pics in low light conditions

    Would having a high ISO and a larger aperture(small f-stop) give better results for taking pictures in low light? Just wondering as I can't try it out on my cam.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    453

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tmc17479
    Would having a high ISO and a larger aperture(small f-stop) give better results for taking pictures in low light? Just wondering as I can't try it out on my cam.
    A tripod And ISO 100 and small aperture will give you the best result,...If your subject don't move

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore, East
    Posts
    371

    Default

    if trying to capture subjects that is moving andunder low light conditions... i think using higher ISO and bigger aperture will help!

    If still cannot, then maybe can try to use flash to compensate for the low light condition.

    cheers

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singaporean in Shanghai
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Has anyone tried taking pictures at those awards ceremony? Recently went to one and was sitting near the front so brought my S50 to try to capture snapshots of the stars. A larger aperture will capture the colours but also will make a blurred picture as the lighting was poor and my already-not-so-strong flash could not cover enough ground and plus the subjects kept moving. In the end I gave up on the lighting and switched to faster shutter speed. The subjects were focused but lighting was horrible, like in a dark room when it was actually pink/orange on stage.

    Any tips/suggestions? A tripod will help much but hard to set it up when i'm sitting down. Also there were many photographers sitting down on the floor in front of the stage but they didnt' use their tripods as well. Wonder what did they do to capture the stars in poor lighting conditions...can anyone help? thanks !

    Cheers,
    Nightstar

  5. #5

    Default

    The simplest solution is to up the ISO to around 400 or 800 (depending on lighting condition).

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Here
    Posts
    3,779

    Default

    Hi Nightstar,

    If you can afford to buy a higher guide number flash(example:40 & above), might give the power you want. Providing using higher ISO film(example:400) to freeze certain movement. Remember when human move(not so fast), 1/60 sec should get a decent picture.
    Anyway, this are just to my knowledge only. Anything wrong, don't blame me,OK? Enjoy shooting...

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    In the void.
    Posts
    1,323

    Default

    Nightstar, maybe you would like to post a few shots so we can see what's wrong with the pictures? Then we can suggest a solution.....

  8. #8
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    6,601

    Default

    Nightstar, that's why you're called Night-Star, aren't you?

    frankly, it really depends. for smaller digi compacts, if you up the ISO, the noise will increase practically exponentially. of course that's the "film sensitivity" or thereabouts in relation to film - but another problem you have is the aperture. i'm not sure if the s50 allows you to manually control the aperture, but since the DOF for smaller lenses is much deeper, you can definitely open your aperture wide open without worrying much. and also, important to remove motion blur, you'd need to use a fairly "fast" shutter speed, like 1/50s or even faster... in the direction of 1/60, 1/100 or even more - but the faster you go, the less ambient light will go into the camera. that will create more of the "deer in the dark" syndrome you can see for some many beginning photographers' works. you'd need to half-shutter and lock the focus before you shoot. try out your techniques first, to make sure you can do it when you HAVE to.

  9. #9
    louis
    Guests

    Default

    my opinion would be in the case of S50
    high iso,AP mode at f2.8,set the white balance,lock the focus,support the cam on a seat in front(if have) and shoot.
    flash?should be no need.

    correct me as sure to have wrong somewhere since i so newbie....

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singaporean in Shanghai
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Hi all,

    Thanks for your tips and helpful suggestions. Unfortunately I don't have a chance to go to an award ceremony in the near future (noted pun on night-star ) but I will practice what have been shared.

    Actually I would like to share what I took that nite for more comments but not sure how too...my pictures are rather big about 1 - 2mb per picture. I searched CS forums but getting no where. Any idea?

    I tried opening up my aperture in the Av mode but discovered that it won't let me go to f2.8 ...the max was about f4 something. Also, does pressing the shutter halfway = locking the focus?

    Sorry for my newbie questions . Though the pictures didn't turn out satisfactorily, I was glad I brought my camera along to fumble further along the path of digital photography.

    Thanks in advance!

    Cheers,
    Nightstar

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    you could resize your pics using an image editor (but don't overwrite the original files if you intend to keep them) and post them one some other sites like www.pbase.com .

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    984

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SuRfTeC
    if trying to capture subjects that is moving andunder low light conditions... i think using higher ISO and bigger aperture will help!

    If still cannot, then maybe can try to use flash to compensate for the low light condition.

    cheers
    not if you are shooting landscapes... always bear in mind the power of the flash denoted by the guide number.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Location
    Bedok Reservoir
    Posts
    395

    Default

    i think for yr cam..f2.8 only available for wide..
    n i guess u r at full tele..aperature values drops when u zoom in

    Quote Originally Posted by Nightstar
    Hi all,

    Thanks for your tips and helpful suggestions. Unfortunately I don't have a chance to go to an award ceremony in the near future (noted pun on night-star ) but I will practice what have been shared.

    Actually I would like to share what I took that nite for more comments but not sure how too...my pictures are rather big about 1 - 2mb per picture. I searched CS forums but getting no where. Any idea?

    I tried opening up my aperture in the Av mode but discovered that it won't let me go to f2.8 ...the max was about f4 something. Also, does pressing the shutter halfway = locking the focus?

    Sorry for my newbie questions . Though the pictures didn't turn out satisfactorily, I was glad I brought my camera along to fumble further along the path of digital photography.

    Thanks in advance!

    Cheers,
    Nightstar

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore, East
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by showtime
    not if you are shooting landscapes... always bear in mind the power of the flash denoted by the guide number.

    thanks for correcting me...!

    yup... will bear that in mind now...

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    Singapore, East
    Posts
    371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nightstar

    I tried opening up my aperture in the Av mode but discovered that it won't let me go to f2.8 ...the max was about f4 something. Also, does pressing the shutter halfway = locking the focus?

    Thanks in advance!

    Cheers,
    Nightstar
    like what sunnyday has posted... this usually is the case for normal prosumer DC...or maybe most DC.

    cheers

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Singaporean in Shanghai
    Posts
    80

    Default

    Thanks sunny and surftec...was really scratching my head over why I can't drop it to f2.8

    quite busy with work so will update with pictures when free-er...but really appreciate the tips/suggestions

    cheers,
    nightstar

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •