Thread: Good day to all, I'm new to ClubSnap

Default Good day to all, I'm new to ClubSnap

Good Day,

I am very new to ClubSnap.
    I have been roaming the forums and discussions for the past week and have been enlightened in many ways by the much more experienced members of the club.
    I have been taking photos since I was a teenager on a very old Olympus SLR, reading old Michael Freeman books. But I never dived further until I got a Canon 350D years ago, subsequently upgrading to a 400D with a kit lens.
    Digital photography intrigued me, but I had difficulties taking sharp and adequately exposed pictures indoors without flash (e.g. when I was Tibet shooting the interior of the very dark monasteries back in 2007).
    Recently, my camera man recommended a 5DMkII with a 24-70 f2.8L. So far I found it far exceeds my older bodies in terms of speed and light sensitivity.

I would like to ask all the experienced members for your advice in taking indoor pictures under dim light (candle light, but sometimes with sunlight shining through) wihtout flash, of say, the monks chanting in the monasteries.

Once again, my sincere thanks in advance.

Default Re: Good day to all, I'm new to ClubSnap

Hi limwhow,

welcome to CS.

In such a case, you'd need high ISO capable camera with a fast lens (look at the primes) they are much faster than the zoom lenses. I.e. f1.4 prime vs a f2.8 zoom

Practise a lil at night and you'll understand better.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

Hello...welcome.
    Minolta. Konica Minolta. Sony

Welcome limwhow,

Do consider a full frame camera, eg 5DMkI, D700 for high ISO capable shooting w/ minimum noise

Also, prime lens w/ big aperture f1.2 or 1.4

Lastly, a good tripod is the best solution for indoor shoot w/o flash,
    if the above two options are not available

Hope it helps !

Welcome to CS family!

Thank you all for your advice!

I do find my 5DMkII a much more sensitive camera than the 400D I was using.