Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: Joining Time Lapse

  1. #1

    Default Joining Time Lapse

    Hi everyone...

    can anyone tell me how to join time lapse photos together..
    i'm trying to get it done like those flash kind of thing..
    not taking the pictures and forming a video..
    i have already tried searching but i cant seem to find any clues..
    thanks..
    Huh? What Goes Here..?

  2. #2
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    a sample image would be good

    but normally it is done in photoshop, via layers

    thread moved to digital darkroom

  3. #3

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    sample images?

    hmmmz.. its just the sun setting.. taken at 1m30sec intervals

    wouldnt photoshop layers just make one picture.. i'm sorry i'm a total photoshop noob.. i use lightroom.. hehe..
    Huh? What Goes Here..?

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Singapore, River Valley area
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    You need a piece of software to convert a series of images to a video file of some kind. Photoshop is not that. You said flash below, but maybe just start with turning jpgs into an avi or mov, and then look for a flash video encoder / converter (there are lots of freeware ones I suppose).

    Search google for time lapse jpg to movie or jpg to avi or something. There are some freeware and shareware programs. I've never tried them. I suppose many are focused on automatically CAPTURING images, not necessarily converting them to video, so look carefully.

    Alternative, if you have a video editor of some kind, then you can create your own time lapse movies. I use Sony Vegas to edit video, and you can easily create time lapse videos with it. To do so, you do this:

    1. Order your files into one folder (if you're using lightroom, just setup the order you want in a collection, and then export to a folder using "index" for filename option). You'll be left with a folder of files like this - 0001.jpg through 9999.jpg or whatever you chose for the index number.

    2. Open vegas

    3. Import the folder full of index images. There are a couple of ways to do it, but I usually just import all the images individually.

    4. In Options->Preferences->Editing, set the default still image length to the number of frames / amount of time you want for each image.

    5. Select all the images and drag them into the timeline.

    6. Render the movie in your preferred format (Vegas doesn't support FLV as far as I can tell, though maybe there is a plugin or something, and certainly once you have a mov or an AVI you can encode it to FLV later).

    Good luck.
    Eric

  5. #5
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    you need to shoot with a tripod

    then load all the images together all on different layers
    delete the parts you dont want
    then flatten the file

    so the final is one image file or a video?
    Last edited by ortega; 17th June 2009 at 07:39 PM.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by ortega View Post
    you need to shoot with a tripod

    then load all the images together all on different layers
    delete the parts you dont want
    then flatten the file

    so the final is one image file or a video?
    That sound more like HDR. Think TS is asking about time lapse.

    I.e. converting a series of picture into video.
    Please Don't Report This Post To A Moderator

  7. #7
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

  8. #8

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Google for jpg to video software.
    Please Don't Report This Post To A Moderator

  9. #9

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Pinnacle Studio can do it.
    Piecing several photos into 1 video file and has timing control.
    It also have a feature called Smart Movie, whereby you just dump your photos in and a song in. It will do up the whole video for you within the song.

    Its quite a good software which can edit video, input photos, text, etc.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,984

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    I use this free software called PhotoLapse. Quite hassle-free and does the job alright for me. No audio though.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Are you talking about time lapse or stop-motion??

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    125'10.16"N 10350'11.01"E
    Posts
    1,052

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Paste each of your photograph on each layer. Then delete the delete the background, remaining the differences.

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Singapore, River Valley area
    Posts
    82

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    This thread is confusing. After seeing that half of the posters are talking about one thing, and the other half about something else, I re-read the TS's original post.

    I guess maybe he's talking about "stop motion animation", though I can't tell for sure.

    If you're looking to make a "time lapse" movie, then you have a couple of suggestions above. If you're looking for "stop motion animation", then maybe PS is what you want (sounds really really hard, but if that's what you're into . . .). I've never tried that sort of thing.

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    1,984

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by Tzzw86 View Post
    sample images?

    hmmmz.. its just the sun setting.. taken at 1m30sec intervals

    wouldnt photoshop layers just make one picture.. i'm sorry i'm a total photoshop noob.. i use lightroom.. hehe..
    Based on this post by TS, I'm guessing he does want to make a time lapse video. Setting sun taken at 1.5min intervals?

  15. #15

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by Gengh View Post
    I use this free software called PhotoLapse. Quite hassle-free and does the job alright for me. No audio though.
    i tried to use photolapse.. i keep getting an error saying it cant open the file to convert.. =(
    Huh? What Goes Here..?

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    http://360.itcow.com
    Posts
    2,363

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by Tzzw86 View Post
    i tried to use photolapse.. i keep getting an error saying it cant open the file to convert.. =(
    i use aftereffects. Try reading up here. http://www.timescapes.org/phpBB3/viewforum.php?f=14

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Try VirtualDub
    http://www.virtualdub.org. Very fast and easy way to make both timelapse and stopmotion videos.
    Last edited by Variodical; 20th June 2009 at 09:16 PM.

  18. #18
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Joining Time Lapse

    Quote Originally Posted by Tzzw86 View Post
    Hi everyone...

    can anyone tell me how to join time lapse photos together..
    i'm trying to get it done like those flash kind of thing..
    not taking the pictures and forming a video..
    i have already tried searching but i cant seem to find any clues..
    thanks..
    why not just use flash?

    or imovie
    or quicktime
    or animated gif
    or keynote

    just as long as you can do some kind of slideshow and export it to a video file

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •