Thread: Len For 500D

Default Len For 500D

Hi All,

I am very new to DSLR. Just purchase a 500D Kit1. I am thinking to get one more Len for long zoom. I have a few question below need help.

1. Should I get a 2nd hand Len or 1st Hand?
    2. Where can i find cheap 2nd hand or 1st hand len?
    3. Which Len will you advice? (The long zoom is for concert or some sport.)

Default Re: Len For 500D

"Len" is not a word. It's "lens" or, if plural, "lenses".

1. Up to you lah. Do you need full warranty? Do you have money?
    2. 1st hand, the shops. Check the priceguide forum section. Second hand, clubsnap has a Marketplace section. Go look there.
    3. There are too many factors to consider, such as available lighting, your budget, etc. You might be happy witha 70-200, or maybe you want a 300mm, or a 600mm!

Know what you need first. Don't let others tell you what to get.
    Alpha

Quote Originally Posted by charlie82 View Post
    I am very new to DSLR. Just purchase a 500D Kit1. I am thinking to get one more Len for long zoom. I have a few question below need help.

Being new and running for equipment is a sure thing for getting chopped in shops or buying things that you don't need but somebody told you it's a nice thing ...
    Apart from the spelling you need to know about the parameter of a lens (maximum aperture, focal length) and how they influence the usage. The less light is available (e.g. in concerts) the better the lens must be which will definitely drive up the price.
    1) Depends on you. Properly stored lenses don't deteriorate and can be used for long time. But some people must have sparkling new things, can't accept other people's finger prints.
    2) Don't look for cheap but rather reasonable prices that are in line with your budget. Have you defined it?