Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie for portraits lens

Default Newbie for portraits lens

hi all! am a newbie here that is interested to explore more into portraits shots. currently using a 450D with kit lens 18-55mm and a 55-250mm lens. read a lot about the 50mm f1.8, seems like its a pretty decent portrait lens to have as its pretty cheap. just wana ask the bros here whether with the 18-55mm, would i still need the 50mm f1.8 if i wana explore more into portraits shot?

Default Re: Newbie for portraits lens

If you're gonna be shooting in low light then get the 50mm f/1.4

theres a lot of difference between that and the 50mm f/1.8
    Pentax K-x

Quote Originally Posted by MitColt78 View Post
    hi all! am a newbie here that is interested to explore more into portraits shots. currently using a 450D with kit lens 18-55mm and a 55-250mm lens. read a lot about the 50mm f1.8, seems like its a pretty decent portrait lens to have as its pretty cheap. just wana ask the bros here whether with the 18-55mm, would i still need the 50mm f1.8 if i wana explore more into portraits shot?
    The 50 f/1.4 is preferred over f/1.8 II in terms of pic quality, built and incorporation of USM.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

hey guys , i also have a question abt the above mentioned lens. is it worth buying it?

and a total newbie question, is the zoom fixed or i 'll be able to zoom in and out?

A 50mm 1.8 is a PRIME lens, which means you cannot zoom.
    A 18-55mm is a ZOOM lens, because you can "zoom" to any focal length between 18-55mm.

The 50mm 1.4 or 1.8 is a decent portrait lens on a DX Camera (Crop body), like the 450D, 1000D, D90 and D5000.
    The 1.4 has a wider aperture, allowing you to have a shorter depth of field which means creamy smooth backgrounds. Cost is another thing though.

I think the 55-250mm can cover portraits well enough (At the tele end).