Thread: Pls guide me

Default Pls guide me

Hi Guys,

I'm very new to DSLR photography, the one im holding on now is a canon 350D. It belongs to my brother, i just borrowed it and wanted to learn more abt it.

Can any bros here teach me how to take photos in low like, i.e normal room lights during the night. The problems i encountered are:

-I set to 1/30 shutter speed, f5.0, ISO200 but couldnt get a decent pics. Pics are either too dark or blurry.

The lowest aperture of the lens (EF-S 17-85mm) is f4.0? can i go lower than that? Kindly advise me how to shoot in a low light environment without flash. Thank you in advance.
    Last edited by tiffanydunk; 5th June 2009 at 09:59 PM.
    500D, 50mm F1.8II

Default Re: Pls guide me

Quote Originally Posted by tiffanydunk View Post
    Hi Guys,

I'm very new to DSLR photography, the one im holding on now is a canon 350D. It belongs to my brother, i just borrowed it and wanted to learn more abt it.

Can any bros here teach me how to take photos in low like, i.e normal room lights during the night. The problems i encountered are:

-I set to 1/30 shutter speed, 5.0aperture, ISO200 but couldnt get a decent pics. Pics are either too dark or blurry.

The lowest aperture of the lens im using is 4.0. Kindly advise me how to shoot in a low light environment without flash. Thank you in advance.
    Tripod, find a support, push up ISO. Get a faster lens. Turn on more room lights, lol.

Hi Guys,

-I set to 1/30 shutter speed, 5.0aperture, ISO200 but couldnt get a decent pics. Pics are either too dark or blurry.

The lowest aperture of the lens im using is 4.0. Kindly advise me how to shoot in a low light environment without flash. Thank you in advance.
    ISO 200 is low. Try switching your cam to Auto and see what settings the camera tries to use. You can copy from there.

if you want to go manual, push the aperture to 4.0 and bump up ISO.
    Alpha

Hi Guys,