Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Canon

Canon Exhilaration Of Sight

Old 22nd November 2003   #1
icyflame

Default S**T! My 300D just died

I took out the battery and put it in my dry cabinet which i just bought 1-2weeks ago and it's now dead!

not really dead but the LCD when i put in the batt was real bright then after awhile become awfully dark!!

any advise?
Old 22nd November 2003   #2
espn

Might be battery problem, try with another battery?

If all else fails, just send in to Canon, don't worry, it's still under warranty.
Old 22nd November 2003   #3
icyflame

1st thing i did was to change the batt
it wa functioning well all this time

things i did differently this time:
1) took out the batt for 2-3 days
2) store it in the dry cabinet for 2-3days

still can take but the lcd super super dark!!

how come the canon service centres close on weekends?
Sponsored Link
Old 22nd November 2003   #4
espn

The same reason why you're at home now surfing the net

Try putting the camera out in the open for a while, 1-2 hours, then try with the battery again, what was the settings for your dry cabinet?
Old 22nd November 2003   #5
icyflame

yap but they shd be opened on sat mornings

i even took out the other batt but also the same

my settings was around 45-50
the manual recommended 45-55

is it too low?
Old 22nd November 2003   #6
Garion

Might be a problem with the LCD monitor? (I presume you're referring to this?) Does other camera functions work? Perhaps you can try setting the brightness levels of the LCD screen? Original battery will seldom be spoilt one...unless you drop it or immerse it in water etc.

If all else fails, you will have to wait till Monday morning to send your camera to Canon Service Center...they're closed on Saturdays. I'm not too happy about this myself...once had to send my cam in for testing, wanted to collect it on Sat coz got an event that weekend...but they r closed...had to collect next Monday instead...damn pissed but no choice lor.
Old 22nd November 2003   #7
icyflame

yap the only prob is with the lcd
but without the lcd
it takes out the joy of seeing the pics immediately

anything i done wrong to cause this?
my 300d has always been in the bag
now that i put it in dry cabinet it died?

anyone else store it in dry cabinet?
or maybe because i did not put in the batt?

arrrh
wanted to go take some pics tomolo when i go to johor
now cannot!!!
Old 22nd November 2003   #8
loupgarou

take it for servicing.

alternatively, try reset all camera settings.

power on. wait 10 seconds
Menu
right arrow 3 times
down 4 times
SET
Right arrow one time
SET
Old 22nd November 2003   #9
Bobo

Mine all the while in dry cabi also. And the battary also in the cam, I don't take it out .
Old 22nd November 2003   #10
Nemo2003

Originally Posted by icyflame
yap the only prob is with the lcd
but without the lcd
it takes out the joy of seeing the pics immediately

anything i done wrong to cause this?
my 300d has always been in the bag
now that i put it in dry cabinet it died?

anyone else store it in dry cabinet?
or maybe because i did not put in the batt?

arrrh
wanted to go take some pics tomolo when i go to johor
now cannot!!!
Bring your 300D to Funan Centre there's a Canon Customer Service Centre which open on Sat and Sun until 7pm. Let them check and see what's the problem.
Old 22nd November 2003   #11
icyflame

thx to all who replied

i tried taking out the other batt to do a "hard reset"
it got brighter but only because the lcd brightness is reset to 3 instead of my own setting of 1
i then maxed out the brightness, now can read the words but only barely

it's 7.35pm now and it's still the same
tot of sending it down to funan but i just came back from work
maybe will send tomolo

thx and will keep u all updated on the problems so that it will not happen to u too
Old 22nd November 2003   #12
ydanz

Default Call First

Sorry to hear about your sorrows ....

Think its better to call them first before you go down, that shop is supposed to be from Marketing side and tech knowledge MAY be limited, I last remember that they don't even have the 300D nor any of the higher end digicam bodies there at the SHOWROOM.

Otherwise if you bring all your barang barang there then kenna squeeze B@LLs, can be berri TL. Hope that helps ...

Originally Posted by icyflame
thx to all who replied

i tried taking out the other batt to do a "hard reset"
it got brighter but only because the lcd brightness is reset to 3 instead of my own setting of 1
i then maxed out the brightness, now can read the words but only barely

it's 7.35pm now and it's still the same
tot of sending it down to funan but i just came back from work
maybe will send tomolo

thx and will keep u all updated on the problems so that it will not happen to u too
Old 22nd November 2003   #13
icyflame

hey thx for ur advise

i will call them first
if they can help me send the faulty set for repair i will be happy liao
for i am not able to make it on week days
working leh
Old 22nd November 2003   #14
plinius

they do have 300D but not on display, got to ask them to bring out from 'storeroom' to let me try.....

Originally Posted by ydanz
Sorry to hear about your sorrows ....

Think its better to call them first before you go down, that shop is supposed to be from Marketing side and tech knowledge MAY be limited, I last remember that they don't even have the 300D nor any of the higher end digicam bodies there at the SHOWROOM.

Otherwise if you bring all your barang barang there then kenna squeeze B@LLs, can be berri TL. Hope that helps ...
Old 22nd November 2003   #15
pit

Sounds like your LCD backlight burned out.
Old 22nd November 2003   #16
icyflame

burn out?
how?

only thing i recall was i took the batt from my g1 and put it in my 300d then when i switch on
the lcd was real bright (not supposed to light up)

i off it and on
same thing

i then off it took out the batt
put it back in and ..... it became very dim!!
Closed Thread