Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: KINGSTON 512mb CF

  1. #1

    Default KINGSTON 512mb CF

    anyone has experienced this CF card ?

    I know of them only as SDRAM but first time to hear of them for
    CF...whats the feedback ??

    Unfortunately it has no speed rating

  2. #2

    Default

    yeah, i would like to know too. anyone using the kingston brand ?

    just a contribution - went SLS last week, a shop quote $195 for the 512mb


  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    43

    Default

    I bought the 256MB one at $95 a couple of weeks ago. I read somewhere that the write speed is somewhat 16x but don't quote me, though. I use it on a A70 so I don't need a high speed card. So far the performance of the card in terms of reliablity and speed (relative to my cam's write speed) is good. Cheap and good card if you don't use DSLR and stuff.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    In this small world
    Posts
    3,142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Palmer
    I bought the 256MB one at $95 a couple of weeks ago. I read somewhere that the write speed is somewhat 16x but don't quote me, though. I use it on a A70 so I don't need a high speed card. So far the performance of the card in terms of reliablity and speed (relative to my cam's write speed) is good. Cheap and good card if you don't use DSLR and stuff.

    Cheers

    Glad that you are sharing info. It is quite subjective to talk about speed without numbers. Have you got a card reader to write the files from a computer to estimate its writing speed? It can give us a better idea on the performance of the card itself on other camera so long as it does not crash with the hardware.

  5. #5

    Default oops, bought it with the 300D

    why did you say " as long as you dont use it with DSLR " ?

    I got it with canon 300D , all for $2000.
    seems like the market price now for the 300D ( 1800 )
    so about $200 for the 512MB.

    so far the speed wise no complaints
    comparable to TRANSCEND 30x.

    strangely enough the card says " made in japan".....
    kingston is usa brand , right ?

    as far as SDRAM is concerned the KINGSTON brand is well received
    as some consider it as high speed ram. Wonder if they too make
    something special with this..........

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by maxim
    anyone has experienced this CF card ?

    I know of them only as SDRAM but first time to hear of them for
    CF...whats the feedback ??

    Unfortunately it has no speed rating
    Bought 1 1GB begining of the year @$375.00 recently had some problem with it
    send back to dealer and get a 1 to1 exchange.

  7. #7

    Default

    all the while tot kingston only good in the ram for pc, never expect it can have cf memory as well.


  8. #8

    Default

    here's some data about the kingston CF... seems like they got 2 types.

    http://www.kingston.com/products/MKF...mpactFlash.pdf

  9. #9

    Default

    Thread moved to General, Reviews/Previews, Technical Discussions.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2003
    Location
    In this small world
    Posts
    3,142

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by karwing
    here's some data about the kingston CF... seems like they got 2 types.

    http://www.kingston.com/products/MKF...mpactFlash.pdf

    Those selling in Singapore are mostly the Standard version. Kingston are good for digicams than DSLR (too fast for the CF card). Good 5 years warranty.

  11. #11
    ClubSNAP Idol Adam Goi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    5,682

    Default

    Have been using the 1 GB version since April this year. It may not be the fastest but it's been pretty reliable for me.

    Personally I won't mind getting another one!

  12. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamGoi
    Have been using the 1 GB version since April this year. It may not be the fastest but it's been pretty reliable for me.

    Personally I won't mind getting another one!
    You shld get a faster card lah...
    Serious... you miss a lot of shot that day at the zoo. The writing speed of the 1GB is too slow for you.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Siglap
    Posts
    1,828

    Default

    Using one now, about the same speed as the 1Gb Microdrive. Fast enough for normal DSLRs, unless you're talking D1H or 1D territory.

  14. #14

    Default

    wat make of CF card would be good for the 300D then? any recommendations and facts to substantiate?

    the closest i could find is this. however, they dun have comparison on a 300D

  15. #15

  16. #16

    Default

    Thanks adamadam!


    Quote Originally Posted by adamadam

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •