Results 1 to 19 of 19

Thread: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

  1. #1

    Default Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...kInfoContainer

    Overview
    Service Pack 2 for Windows Server 2008 and Windows Vista (SP2) is an update to Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 that supports new kinds of hardware and emerging hardware standards, and includes all updates delivered since SP1. SP2 simplifies administration by enabling IT administrators to deploy and support a single service pack for clients and servers. Please see the Windows Server SP2/Windows Vista SP2 page on TechNet/MSDN for additional details and documentation.

    Windows Vista SP2 TechNet
    Windows Server 2008 SP2 TechNet

    SP2 is an update to Windows Server 2008 and Windows Vista that incorporates improvements discovered through automated feedback, as well as updates that have been delivered since SP1. By providing these fixes integrated into a single service pack for both client and server, Microsoft provides a single high-quality update that minimizes deployment and testing complexity for customers.

    Service Pack 1 is a prerequisite for installing Service Pack 2. Please make sure that your system is running Service Pack 1 before you install Service Pack 2.

    Note: Windows Server 2008 released with Service Pack 1 included. Windows Vista SP1 information and downloads can be found on the Windows Vista SP1 TechNet page.

    Windows Server 2008 SP2 and Windows Vista Service Pack 2 - Five Language Standalone version can be installed on systems with any of the following language versions: English, French, German, Japanese, or Spanish.

    If your system has additional languages please use the All Language Standalone to install SP2.
    You wont see me much less remember me but i am the guy who makes you look good.

  2. #2
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Er.....SP2 is meant for all vistas or some????
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  3. #3
    Member thenomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    448

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    Er.....SP2 is meant for all vistas or some????
    some vistas?? how many vistas are there?

    you need to have SP1 installed before installing SP2

  4. #4
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by thenomad View Post
    some vistas?? how many vistas are there?

    you need to have SP1 installed before installing SP2
    I have business and home premium. I think they are SP1???
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Northern California
    Posts
    1,644

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by thenomad View Post
    some vistas?? how many vistas are there?

    you need to have SP1 installed before installing SP2
    Five, is it, from Home Basic to Ultimate?

  6. #6
    Member thenomad's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    448

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by bousozoku View Post
    Five, is it, from Home Basic to Ultimate?
    oh! that one ah

    it applies to all vistas then; they didn't specify, as long as you have SP1 installed

    meaning if you have not installed a service pack before, install the first SP first, then the second SP

  7. #7
    Deregistered shaoken's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Clementi/West Coast
    Posts
    2,115

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Wah! Got service pack means that Vista have detected more faults..

    I thought they had "given up" on Vista and went on to focus on Windows 7?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by shaoken View Post
    I thought they had "given up" on Vista and went on to focus on Windows 7?
    Who told you that?

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    basically windows 7 is using the same base as vista... probably they found some issues addressed in win7 that is addressable in vista.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  10. #10
    Senior Member phoakm's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    7,385

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    My vista was auto updated with SP2. Currently, working well ans sense a bit faster.
    The only thing I have to reinstall the window live messenger.
    I AM BORNFIRE!
    My Flickr/TFCD Service

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by phoakm View Post
    My vista was auto updated with SP2. Currently, working well ans sense a bit faster.
    The only thing I have to reinstall the window live messenger.
    That's what I noticed too. Booting time also felt a little bit faster.

  12. #12

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by shaoken View Post
    Wah! Got service pack means that Vista have detected more faults..

    I thought they had "given up" on Vista and went on to focus on Windows 7?
    There is no such things as "bugless" in IT, be it Operating Systems, firmwares or applications, it is a matter of addressing the "bugs" and fine-tuning it for your need.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Hmmm... Since they are almost the same. I wonder if they can make vista less resource hungry like W7 with SP3.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  14. #14
    Senior Member Canew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    2,229

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Will the PC automatically upgrade itself to SP 2? My machine still running on SP 1. (checked from Control Panel > System)

  15. #15

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by Canew View Post
    Will the PC automatically upgrade itself to SP 2? My machine still running on SP 1. (checked from Control Panel > System)
    depends on your setting mah.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  16. #16
    Senior Member Canew's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    2,229

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by CYRN View Post
    depends on your setting mah.
    How to check the settings, CYRN? TIA.

  17. #17

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    It also depends on whether you have bluetooth dongle connected to your system. If you have that, SP2 is not for you as there is a current bug with that. They are "working" on it from what I heard. This is why I don't get SP2 on my system.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Location
    Western Singapore
    Posts
    432

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    SP2 doesn't make booting up faster, infact I have tested the booting time with sp1 and after upgrading to sp2. It is 5 sec slower in booting up with SP2 installed.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: Vista Service Pack 2 out liao.

    Quote Originally Posted by lsl03 View Post
    SP2 doesn't make booting up faster, infact I have tested the booting time with sp1 and after upgrading to sp2. It is 5 sec slower in booting up with SP2 installed.
    YMMV. Different hardware will give different results.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •