Thread: First light

Default First light

Went to Changi boardwalk this morning for sunrise. I am new to HDR, I acquired 7 images with diff exposures, Merged them with PS (don't have photomatix).
    Criticisms and helps needed in:
    1. Is this HDR overly done? Does it look natural to u?
    2. Any suggestion for the wooden pillar at the front left, thinking to crop it off, but doing thatwill lost most of the reflection in the water.
    3. Anyway to further improve this image?

Thanks for your time.

For other images, please click here

Default Re: First light

You do have a nice image here and if you had not mentioned, I would not had known it was HDR generated. Kudo on that.
    I like the serenity that this photo exudes and also like how the
    lamp post anchored the left of the frame with the walkway leading the eyes nicely into the scene.

However, I find that saturation is a tad overdone and if you had waited a bit longer for the lights to come up over the horizon, it would had made for a more dramatic sunrise.

Quote Originally Posted by Bcool View Post
    I would not had known it was HDR generated. Kudo on that.
    agree on that. (:

it made me have the feeling of calm.
    PortFolio
    the best camera is the camera that is with you; A200/500/33 (:

1. overall fine, the only problem is haloing on the frontmost pole, it is faint but there, and will stand out if you print the picture

2. nothing you can do, but next time go forward and compose without

3. correct the vertical distortion here, and it will be better. i would also lose the mass of trees on the right

[QUOTE=jtsky;5120981]Went to Changi boardwalk this morning for sunrise. I am new to HDR, I acquired 7 images with diff exposures, Merged them with PS (don't have photomatix).
    Criticisms and helps needed in:

1. Is this HDR overly done? Does it look natural to u?

None of the cartoonish colours usually found in HDR images which is good. Watch out for the halo around the lamp though.