Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: advice on hardware for photoshop

  1. #1

    Default advice on hardware for photoshop

    hi, i need some advice on hardware for photoshop.

    is it better to get core 2 duo or quad core CPU? will quad core have a major improvement for photoshop?

    what about graphics card? which series is good? radeon 4890 or GTX?

    appreciate the help.

  2. #2
    Member tainted's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    in Critterdom
    Posts
    453

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    depends on which version of photoshop you would be using first.
    I think core 2 duo should be enough.
    depends on the ram and gfx card if I'm right.
    So,
    which version of photoshop are you gonna be installing?

  3. #3

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    going to use CS4.

    not sure if quad core will be utilized fully.

    4GB RAM (normal) non-overclocked.

    I'm thinking of using the HIS Radeon 4890 1GB.

    not sure if it's overkill. dont wanna spend too much on it also.

  4. #4

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by happyfrog View Post
    going to use CS4.

    not sure if quad core will be utilized fully.

    4GB RAM (normal) non-overclocked.

    I'm thinking of using the HIS Radeon 4890 1GB.

    not sure if it's overkill. dont wanna spend too much on it also.
    Photoshop is not going to take advantage of the 4890 at all. But then again, you'll have a good gaming system too.
    Alpha

  5. #5

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    Photoshop is not going to take advantage of the 4890 at all. But then again, you'll have a good gaming system too.
    yes, for gaming too . but what i heard is graphics card do play a major role in overall improvement too. so, what will benefit photoshop the most? more RAM? i think windows XP can't benefit more than 3GB, vista, probably more.... still will not use more than 3GB.

    anyone knows if Photoshop CS4 is written to utilize Quad Core? or only dual core?

  6. #6
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,060

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Photoshop can utilize only certain types of GPU, not all. And certainly it's not the major factor. Read more here: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/404/kb404898.html
    If you want to use 4GB RAM (or more) than the questions is not whether to use XP or Vista but rather 64bit instead of 32bit OS.
    Since LR2 can utilize 4 cores my guess is that CS4 can to the same.

  7. #7

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Photoshop can utilize only certain types of GPU, not all. And certainly it's not the major factor. Read more here: http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/404/kb404898.html
    If you want to use 4GB RAM (or more) than the questions is not whether to use XP or Vista but rather 64bit instead of 32bit OS.
    Since LR2 can utilize 4 cores my guess is that CS4 can to the same.
    thanks for the help.

    guess will just get a 4 core then.

    have any of you compare between a CS run on a 64 bit and 32 bit OS before?

  8. #8

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    I myself have not tried CS4 but here's a quick review from someone else writing about their experience running 32-bit and 64-bit.

    http://www.earthboundlight.com/photo...bit-32bit.html

  9. #9
    Member kkleong's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    In The Wilderness
    Posts
    190

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    For data, application and Photoshop - Quad CPU is definitely faster than Duo for the same CPU speed. Unless it's for gaming, Intel is better than AMD. Overall, i7 is currently the best

    Here is a benchmark from Anantech:
    http://www.anandtech.com/cpuchipsets...spx?i=3551&p=9

    ATI 4890 should be more than sufficient for CS4 (even 4850 is okay)

    List of tested graphic cards for CS4 in Win & Mac:
    http://kb2.adobe.com/cps/405/kb405711.html

    As above posts had mentioned, 64-bit OS is able to run/optimize if memory >>4G ram.

    Unless you do not have legacy hardware, drivers for 64-bit may have compatibility issues
    Last edited by kkleong; 18th May 2009 at 06:22 PM.

  10. #10
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,060

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by 2evans View Post
    I myself have not tried CS4 but here's a quick review from someone else writing about their experience running 32-bit and 64-bit.

    http://www.earthboundlight.com/photo...bit-32bit.html
    Lightroom comes with 64bit installation as well. Works great on a Vista Ultimate 64bit, including all plugins that I use. No issues.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    As long as the graphic card support openGL it should work and go for max RAM if possible. HTH

  12. #12

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by happyfrog View Post
    thanks for the help.

    guess will just get a 4 core then.

    have any of you compare between a CS run on a 64 bit and 32 bit OS before?
    Hi,

    Last year I upgraded from a dual core PC w/4GB DRAM running 32-bit XP Pro to a quad core with 8GB RAM running on 64-bit Vista. The main advantage her is when you are post processing multiple files, especially those with multi-layers. The quad core w/64-bit Vista performs effortlessly, but the dual core with 4GB slows down. But the downside is many plug-ins are not available in 64-bit versions. I am using CS4.

    N.S. Ng

    http://nns555.zenfolio.com/

  13. #13

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by nsng View Post
    Hi,

    Last year I upgraded from a dual core PC w/4GB DRAM running 32-bit XP Pro to a quad core with 8GB RAM running on 64-bit Vista. The main advantage her is when you are post processing multiple files, especially those with multi-layers. The quad core w/64-bit Vista performs effortlessly, but the dual core with 4GB slows down. But the downside is many plug-ins are not available in 64-bit versions. I am using CS4.

    N.S. Ng

    http://nns555.zenfolio.com/
    what about dual graphics card in Crossfire or SLI? Will it be a major boost? Also, may I know the speed of your Quad-core processors? I'm thinking of an E8400 only.

  14. #14

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    you can check out these 2 websites

    1) www.barefeats.com
    2) www.macperformanceguide.com

    they mac based tests but should give you enough insights into quad vs octo processors.

    It seems that PS is still very much clock based and not very multiprocessor aware. The worst is when it is opening a file, it seems to be just single threaded. There is alot of technical info from those 2 websites, go check them out.

    cheers
    36frames Wedding Photography - http://www.36frames.com
    rueyloon - http://www.rueyloon.com

  15. #15

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Thinking of changing from dual core to quad core too.

    Using CS3 and NX2. Any improvements on the performance if I changed?
    Please Don't Report This Post To A Moderator

  16. #16

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by happyfrog View Post
    what about dual graphics card in Crossfire or SLI? Will it be a major boost? Also, may I know the speed of your Quad-core processors? I'm thinking of an E8400 only.
    Hi,

    I am using an ATI 4850 card which is an overkill for CS3/CS4. The processor is Q9450 @2.66 GHz. I have overclocked this to3.55 GHz and it is still stable.

    My tiff files after conversion from RAW is about 59MB and if I have several layers these could go up to 200+ MB per file! Depending on the files, I might carry out quite a bit of post processing.


    N.S. Ng
    http://nns555.zenfolio.com/

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,374

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by Xiao_shin View Post
    Thinking of changing from dual core to quad core too.

    Using CS3 and NX2. Any improvements on the performance if I changed?
    mod reading...

    depends... if u change from a 3.2ghz duo core to 2.4ghz quad core... its a downgrade... lol...

    anyway, like previously said, i7 is good. but only if you know how to maximize it.

    i'm running my i7 with 4ghz clock, with ddr3 ram running at 1600mhz (original speed). its hell lot faster than previously, either in single threaded or multi threaded stuff.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  18. #18

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    mod reading...

    depends... if u change from a 3.2ghz duo core to 2.4ghz quad core... its a downgrade... lol...

    anyway, like previously said, i7 is good. but only if you know how to maximize it.

    i'm running my i7 with 4ghz clock, with ddr3 ram running at 1600mhz (original speed). its hell lot faster than previously, either in single threaded or multi threaded stuff.
    Thanks for the reply.

    I have the opportunity to change my duo core to quad core. However, I have to keep the rest of the system.

    Say, a 3.0ghz DC to 3.0 QC, for PS and NX2. Any major improvement?
    Please Don't Report This Post To A Moderator

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,374

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by Xiao_shin View Post
    Thanks for the reply.

    I have the opportunity to change my duo core to quad core. However, I have to keep the rest of the system.

    Say, a 3.0ghz DC to 3.0 QC, for PS and NX2. Any major improvement?
    got, improvement in heat... you'll feel the system hotter.

    but if running single threaded items, or even booting up, no diff.

    if you are doing rendering, or programs that will confirm use all 4 cores, then it will be faster.

    if you notice, even if you run basic stuff on Windows, its only using 1 core, no matter how many cores there are.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  20. #20

    Default Re: advice on hardware for photoshop

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    got, improvement in heat... you'll feel the system hotter.

    but if running single threaded items, or even booting up, no diff.

    if you are doing rendering, or programs that will confirm use all 4 cores, then it will be faster.

    if you notice, even if you run basic stuff on Windows, its only using 1 core, no matter how many cores there are.
    Got heat and electricity improvement.. I know.

    Will be using CS3 (Perhaps CS4 later) and NX2. 2 core definately will help for my case as I listen to music on my PC while processing. But quad core.. hmm mmm..

    Maybe will just upgraded to a faster dual core.
    Please Don't Report This Post To A Moderator

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •