Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: problem with my tamron

  1. #1
    Member RAGE77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    north side
    Posts
    30

    Default problem with my tamron

    im using canon 40d..need some help people..my tamron 17-50 suddenly stop functioning theres a error code appear on my lcd screen communication between camera and lens is faulty clean the lens contact..(error code 1)
    so i did some cleaning and follow the instruction manual but nothing happen...then i fix my back my canon 18-55 thing get back to normal...error only occur whenever i fix back my tamron..plus the viewfinder become dark..i also notice tat my appreture blade not functioning when i try to view thru the lens as well...it remain the same appreture when i zoomin and zoomout manualy...is there anyway to troubleshoot this..thx..

  2. #2
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    Check the aperture blade on the mount. It may be stuck.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  3. #3
    Member RAGE77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    north side
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    which one is the plate boss?

  4. #4

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    Quote Originally Posted by RAGE77 View Post
    im using canon 40d..need some help people..my tamron 17-50 suddenly stop functioning theres a error code appear on my lcd screen communication between camera and lens is faulty clean the lens contact..(error code 1)
    so i did some cleaning and follow the instruction manual but nothing happen...then i fix my back my canon 18-55 thing get back to normal...error only occur whenever i fix back my tamron..plus the viewfinder become dark..i also notice tat my appreture blade not functioning when i try to view thru the lens as well...it remain the same appreture when i zoomin and zoomout manualy...is there anyway to troubleshoot this..thx..
    can u try lock ur apecture to the smallest one (F22)?

  5. #5
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    Sorry my bad. Mistook it for the Nikon type.

    The Canon EF mount should be all electronic contact. Check if the contacts are all clean.

    PS : I dun really know canon tat well, but is there any way for you to control the aperture on the lens itself and see if it can be adjusted?
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  6. #6
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    Quote Originally Posted by RAGE77 View Post
    which one is the plate boss?
    Erm.. aperture blades - this circular thingy near the back element. Check here, upper right hand you'll see aperture blades in normal position (1 - maximum) and when closed down (2). Your aperture will probably look like example (2).
    If you can't solve it by contact cleaning it's time to search for warranty card, receipt and the address of the Tamrom Service Center. The latter you can find here in the Equipment section.

  7. #7
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    PS : I dun really know canon tat well, but is there any way for you to control the aperture on the lens itself and see if it can be adjusted?
    Yep, can be done. Adjust aperture to f/22, press and hold the DOF preview button at the body and remove the lens. It's a bit tricky to press two buttons (DOF preview and lens release) at once but it works. Apart from that there is no manual control for the Tamron 17-50 ... and all other EF lenses (exceptions may exist).
    Last edited by Octarine; 9th May 2009 at 02:22 AM.

  8. #8
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    Quote Originally Posted by acerpic View Post
    can u try lock ur apecture to the smallest one (F22)?
    Dun think there is an aperture ring for this lens.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  9. #9
    Member RAGE77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    north side
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    thx people alredy troubleshoot...what i did is i zoom out(extend the lens) without fixing to the camera body..and then attach it to the body and focus...YEZZZ ah it no more stuck...Zac08 is right the blade stuck is this always happen and common error?....now very happy aledy cannot sleep anymore ..haha

  10. #10
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    Quote Originally Posted by RAGE77 View Post
    thx people alredy troubleshoot...what i did is i zoom out(extend the lens) without fixing to the camera body..and then attach it to the body and focus...YEZZZ ah it no more stuck...Zac08 is right the blade stuck is this always happen and common error?....now very happy aledy cannot sleep anymore ..haha
    If the blades get stuck, it could mean that there is oil on it and caused it to stick occasionally. Cleaning by technicians should resolve this if this keeps reccurring.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  11. #11
    Member RAGE77's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    north side
    Posts
    30

    Default Re: problem with my tamron

    tHx for the tips dudes.. ..u people always sleep late ah? juz like me ah...haha

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •