Thread: Need help on compact digital camera (SONY dsc-h20)

Default Need help on compact digital camera (SONY dsc-h20)

Hi guys, im a newbie in photography and im currently looking for a compact camera.

came across sony dsc-h20 (an upgraded version of h10) n i need u guys opinions on this camera or any other suggestions for other compact camera?

and wats the effect called when u get a clear person's shot while the background is soft n blurry kind of effect? can it be done on this camera?

many thx!!

Default Re: Need help on compact digital camera (SONY dsc-h20)

U mean bokeh? Like this

pic shot yesterday. Any cam can do it within range. Just the intensity of bokeh is different. Hard to explain, I'm not a tech person haha
    Last edited by dennisc; 7th May 2009 at 03:25 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by bernard-neo View Post
    Hi guys, im a newbie in photography and im currently looking for a compact camera.

came across sony dsc-h20 (an upgraded version of h10) n i need u guys opinions on this camera or any other suggestions for other compact camera?

and wats the effect called when u get a clear person's shot while the background is soft n blurry kind of effect? can it be done on this camera?

many thx!!
    Hello...welcome.

The H20 is a very decent cam with good zoom range. I'm considering getting that cam too.

The effect is called bokeh. Quite difficult to achieve that with a PnS cam.
    Minolta. Konica Minolta. Sony

Quote Originally Posted by dennisc View Post
    U mean bokeh? Like this

pic shot yesterday. Any cam can do it within range. Just the intensity of bokeh is different. Hard to explain, I'm not a tech person haha
    Quote Originally Posted by Galdor View Post
    Hello...welcome.

The H20 is a very decent cam with good zoom range. I'm considering getting that cam too.

The effect is called bokeh. Quite difficult to achieve that with a PnS cam.