Thread: Newbie questions on buying lens

Default Newbie questions on buying lens

Hi Seniors,

I am still very new to DSLR and I am planning to go for a short holiday to Hong Kong this July and I had read in this forum that HK lens are actually cheaper. Is this true?

Currently, I am using using the D90 kit lens 18-105mm and I am looking for some cheap lens to buy. If the lens in HK is really cheap then I would like to consider a lens that is suitable of taking nice pictures there (such as scenery, people, building). But seems like the 18-105mm is capable of taking all these things...

What would be a recommended buy? Prime or zoom lens? And preferably something less than $500 SGD.

Thanks in advance

Default Re: Newbie questions on buying lens

Your kit lens has a great range and it can produce decent pictures when used correctly, so stick to it first.

Like I've mentioned before, if you do not know what to get then most probably you do not need to get anything.

Enjoy your trip.
    Minolta. Konica Minolta. Sony

Yes true, but if its cheap....then

Quote Originally Posted by DonnyKoh View Post
    Yes true, but if its cheap....then
    It becomes a cheap item that you realise you got for a great bargain but have no use for...

If you don't know what you need, don't buy anything, no matter how cheap it is.

If you like to take half body portraits or just head shots.
    Go for the prime lens Nikkor AF 85mm f/1.8 D. It's really neat for portraits and it's pretty sharp.
    While, I'm not sure of the price in HK now. But shd still be slightly cheaper than SG.

The price ard HKD $2900 or slightly more. If taking the rate to be 1:5.2
    Then it'll cost ard $560, whereas SG is selling ard $650.
    Last edited by Shin Howard; 7th May 2009 at 03:09 PM.
    I'm looking at a different perpective of life.