Thread: D60 worth it?

Default D60 worth it?

I'm a tight budget as I'm saving my own money for my DSLR.
    I was wondering if the Nikon D60 is worth it for me as I'm just starting out.
    Thinking about upgrading to D90 in the future if there are no better models.
    Yay or nay?

Default Re: D60 worth it?

Get a D60!!! Its a good camera for its price. U can consider the D5000 if u are willing to wait.

Imho, the 3 focal points aren't enough for me

Otherwise, it's a great/light body

Quote Originally Posted by tsuperman-ed View Post
    Yay or nay?
    There are a lot of good entry-level DSLRs that are even cheaper than the D60 and more full-featured. I suggest you look around a bit more.
    Alpha

The Nikon D60 is definitely a fine camera. But since you mentioned that you are on a tight budget, isn't that incentive for you to research more to understand what exactly you need and which camera can fulfill that?

Do you choose Nikon over the other brands? In my opinion, I think beginners should just jump to D90 level... unless you think size is very important, then go for D60. My reasoning is that D60 has very basic functions which I will outgrow pretty soon. For me, my first dSLR was a D300, because I want to use old lenses and have metering with them. I agree with Rashkae that there are many other entry-level cameras from other brands that are more full-featured than the D60. If you haven't decided on Nikon, then do have a look-around. But if you've decided that you die die also must have Nikon and you can live with the D60 for a couple of years, haha! Go for it! =)
    incywincyspider climbup the waterspout...

Talking Re: D60 worth it?

if you're on a budget, check CS buy/sell and see if you can pick up a d40/x instead...similar features...then use the money saved on a better lens...

just my tots
    OM-D 12.4.12 / 8.1.11-18.3.12 - gf1 -RIP / 24.1.9 - dec.10 d90 - RIP / 5.6.7-24.1.9 - d40 - RIP

Thanks all for the opinions so far, keep 'em coming!