Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Grainy pic taken....

  1. #1

    Default Grainy pic taken....

    Hi all

    I have a 4 years old Nikon D70....seldom used....
    I realised alot of pics I have taken since last year are very grainy....I have upgrade the firmware byself by the way
    I set the mode to auto...so i presume the iso also in auto mode? Or i have to change in the setup?

    Can i send the body back to Nikon to check? I have purchased a extended warranty from Harvey Norman so most probably should be free...

    Anyway to change the setting in the setup mode back to factory setting?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    Have you tried checking what ISO the pics were shot at? Can you post a sample pic with EXIF data?

    Also, the Harvey Norman warranty only applies to Harvey Norman. It's not an extended Nikon Warranty.
    Alpha

  3. #3

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    How about a photo?

  4. #4
    Moderator ortega's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    23,686
    Blog Entries
    7

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    if i remember correctly the D70 will display noise when the iso is too high eg. ISO800
    so try to set your iso to ISO 200 and take a picture in nice daylight
    and another one with ISO 400 and another with ISO 800

    i think it is the ISO and not the camera

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Tampines
    Posts
    1,117

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    For D70s, once your ISO goes to 800 the grains become obvious. In auto mode, yes, your ISO is set by the camera. I presume, a lot of your shots were in low light, hence the camera increases the ISO to get the correct exposure.

  6. #6
    Deregistered marieloves-'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Orchard
    Posts
    94

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    I think according to my papa if you require to shoot at night yet don't want to compromise on ISO,
    the only way is to decrease your shutter speed.
    Auto may set it at 1/2000 in the day but at night you may have to set it on 1/4 of a second.


    Marie

  7. #7
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    Quote Originally Posted by petshopboys View Post
    I set the mode to auto...so i presume the iso also in auto mode? Or i have to change in the setup?
    Search for your manual or download the pdf from Nikon. It's described there.

    Quote Originally Posted by petshopboys View Post
    Can i send the body back to Nikon to check? I have purchased a extended warranty from Harvey Norman so most probably should be free... Anyway to change the setting in the setup mode back to factory setting?
    Send to Nikon for checking your settings? No comment.
    It seems you have limited knowledge about the very basics of photography and also about how to set your camera. For the basics pf photography you can read the Photography Notes for Newbies here, your camera manual tells you how to adjust the camera. In addition you can attend photography workshops or one of the many gatherings, outings and kopi sessions of CS members.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    Astin Studio
    Posts
    4,736

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    Yr grainy pic is most probably digital noise, common for the older DSLR technology (D70 is 5 years old technology?) Digital noise can be caused by high ISO or long exposure time. To make yrself more comfortable that yr camera is still working fine, u can try to set ISO to 200, set to A (aperture priority) mode not P (program mode), go out on a sunny day and take a few test shots on nearby buildings and trees and sky, u should not see digital noise.

  9. #9

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    thanks for all the reply.....I will try out those advise.....
    Bought the DSLR on impulse last time......when my relative saw the body last month, ask me how come so new when it is already 4 years old

  10. #10

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    Quote Originally Posted by petshopboys View Post
    thanks for all the reply.....I will try out those advise.....
    Bought the DSLR on impulse last time......when my relative saw the body last month, ask me how come so new when it is already 4 years old
    The BBB virus is powerful...
    Alpha

  11. #11

    Default Re: Grainy pic taken....

    Quote Originally Posted by petshopboys View Post
    Hi all

    I have a 4 years old Nikon D70....seldom used....
    I realised alot of pics I have taken since last year are very grainy....I have upgrade the firmware byself by the way
    I set the mode to auto...so i presume the iso also in auto mode? Or i have to change in the setup?

    Can i send the body back to Nikon to check? I have purchased a extended warranty from Harvey Norman so most probably should be free...

    Anyway to change the setting in the setup mode back to factory setting?
    Did you check the ISO? Read the user manual on the different settings like aperture priority, shutter priority etc..

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •