Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Usergroup Discussions > Night Photography

Night Photography For those that like to expose in the dark of the night.

Old 18th April 2009   #1
crapex

Default Star Trails 170409

hihi i'm new to night photography.. tried a couple of shots (2 only actually) ytd.. feel free to comment/critic/suggest ways to improve

Facing south, 1hr 25min.
Didnt expect the moon to creep into frame on the left and my batt went dead oso.. grrx!

Facing south, 1hr 40min. First attempt

hmmph. feel free to teach me how to improve! very open to feedbaq.

Cheers.
shin.
Old 18th April 2009   #2
Francis247

Default Re: Star Trails 170409

The first one is good. I presume you use a really wide angle because of the distortion. The second one is blow out already. The light pollution in Singapore is really bad as you can see.
Old 18th April 2009   #3
Zeddy

Wow. Did you have ND filter on? How did you manage to take 1hr+ exposure?
Sponsored Link
Old 18th April 2009   #4
crapex

yuppyupp it was shot wif a siggy 10-20 at 10..

its multiple exposures combined for first pic.. the foreground, the trail (vry long), and the final burst 2 stops overexposed
Old 19th April 2009   #5
Learnphotography

Try using DeepSkyStacker to improve your starry sky. Good luck.
Old 19th April 2009   #6
crapex

thanks for the tip!
Old 19th April 2009   #7
Francis247

Originally Posted by Learnphotography View Post
Try using DeepSkyStacker to improve your starry sky. Good luck.
What the TS wanted is star trails, using DeepSkyStacker has no use.

DeepSkyStacker is use more if you wanted bright stars WITHOUT trails.
Old 19th April 2009   #8
crapex

its okay! i'll try and see wad it does! at least i learnt smth new haha
Old 19th April 2009   #9
plasma

did u use a digital camera or film camera? will opening at long exposures (> 1 hour) cause a burnt out in the sensor?
Old 19th April 2009   #10
vince

Originally Posted by crapex View Post
hihi i'm new to night photography.. tried a couple of shots (2 only actually) ytd.. feel free to comment/critic/suggest ways to improve

Facing south, 1hr 25min.
Didnt expect the moon to creep into frame on the left and my batt went dead oso.. grrx!

Facing south, 1hr 40min. First attempt

hmmph. feel free to teach me how to improve! very open to feedbaq.

Cheers.
shin.
You live NEAR my BLOCK!?!?!?!?!?!?!

I can see my windows!!!!!!!!

Last edited by vince; 19th April 2009 at 01:49 PM.
Old 19th April 2009   #11
Francis247

Originally Posted by plasma View Post
did u use a digital camera or film camera? will opening at long exposures (> 1 hour) cause a burnt out in the sensor?
I believe he took multiple shots can stack then using software.
Old 19th April 2009   #12
vince

Originally Posted by Francis247 View Post
I believe he took multiple shots can stack then using software.
He explained that he took 1hr 40 minutes for his first attempt and 1hr 25 minuts for the second before his battery died.

The sensor will not get burnt out cause it's multiple shots stacked, you might end up with heaps of hot pixels (depending on the camera) in which case, the noise reduction feature in newer DSLRs can help. If not then you'll have to take a dark frame and do DF subtraction.

Cheers.

Last edited by vince; 19th April 2009 at 01:04 PM.
Old 19th April 2009   #13
Sispecho

maybe go Away from Singapore to an ULU place so u can shoot the stars without City lights.....
Old 19th April 2009   #14
Francis247

Originally Posted by vince View Post
He explained that he took 1hr 40 minutes for his first attempt and 1hr 25 minuts for the second before his battery died.

The sensor will not get burnt out cause it's multiple shots stacked, you might end up with heaps of hot pixels (depending on the camera) in which case, the noise reduction feature in newer DSLRs can help. If not then you'll have to take a dark frame and do DF subtraction.

Cheers.
I think that it was mentioned in the software here. http://www.startrails.de/html/software.html
Old 19th April 2009   #15
vince

Originally Posted by Sispecho View Post
maybe go Away from Singapore to an ULU place so u can shoot the stars without City lights.....
Ulu place also got lights lei....I was in Bintan...can "see" the skyglow of Singapore from there even (cause I attempted a startrail photo pointing to the west).

General direction of Singapore ended up glowing in my shot.
Old 19th April 2009   #16
crapex

lol vince you stay ard bukit gombak too!? awesome! glad to know another photographer that stays ard haha!

havent tried the software but am going to!
i did a couple of exposures, mainly the foreground, the trail and the final overexposed burst (the brighter end point of the trail) den photoshopped it a lil to get rid of the noise and stuff
Old 19th April 2009   #17
vince

Crapex : My place is near enough to spot my window from your first shot...Just next to 350
Old 20th April 2009   #18
crapex

Originally Posted by vince View Post
Crapex : My place is near enough to spot my window from your first shot...Just next to 350
lol! jialat.. invade ppl privacy liao still let them know! nxt time see my lens popping out of the window keep your curtains closed ahhax!
Old 20th April 2009   #19
vince

Originally Posted by crapex View Post
lol! jialat.. invade ppl privacy liao still let them know! nxt time see my lens popping out of the window keep your curtains closed ahhax!
Nah...wideangle lens I dun care...next time I point my telescope in your direction you better close curtain kekeke
Old 20th April 2009   #20
fz30_user

Hi guys,

at 1hr ++ exposure the lights at the hdb flats on pic 1 should be totally blown out already right?