Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Anyone here can recommend something which I can get locally? Nothing too fancy or expensive would be great. Thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    Anyone here can recommend something which I can get locally? Nothing too fancy or expensive would be great. Thanks!
    Raid? u wan 2hdd or 5hdd enclosure?
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    Raid? u wan 2hdd or 5hdd enclosure?
    Just 2 HDD Bay...

  4. #4
    vince123123
    Guests

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    I thought the Buffalo series does that. I would recommend you go to Storage STudio at SLS - they are the leaders in storage products.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    dlink 323 should be not bad. HTH

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by longkangman View Post
    dlink 323 should be not bad. HTH
    no esata for that...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    no esata for that...
    oh... tio I forgotten.

    Memoryworld may have those... but I not sure since I switch vendor...

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by longkangman View Post
    oh... tio I forgotten.

    Memoryworld may have those... but I not sure since I switch vendor...
    most have... depends on budget... for more wide range of brands, then go Storage Studios, but price not really fantastic, often a slight premium compared outside, but they're more knowledgeable and friendly compared to others. If really know nuts, go there best... at least they got more exotic stuff and got price list so not kena chopped carrot head straight in the face like some shops which don't have a price list.

    memoryworld, some of the ppl there dunno anything, you have to know what you want, and they only carry their own items since they're like distributors instead of retailers.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Thanks for the info man! Will check out Storage Studios. They are on the 4th floor correct?

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    Thanks for the info man! Will check out Storage Studios. They are on the 4th floor correct?
    moved to lvl 5 or 6 liao... iirc should be around the lift there or the side infront got space for 'mini pasar malam'

    no more at the back alley
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Wah... so long neber been into to SLS liao. Tks boss!
    Last edited by hazmee; 14th April 2009 at 01:56 PM.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    memoryworld, some of the ppl there dunno anything, you have to know what you want, and they only carry their own items since they're like distributors instead of retailers.
    Yeah got to know what one want else 100% hit the wall.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by longkangman View Post
    Yeah got to know what one want else 100% hit the wall.
    ya... longpiakman...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Adoi... after looking at Storage Studios prices......

  15. #15

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by longkangman View Post
    oh... tio I forgotten.

    Memoryworld may have those... but I not sure since I switch vendor...
    MemoryWorld is very ex lei.......no one goes there unless they have deep pockets.

    Anyway, try this.

    http://www.vantecusa.com/front/product/view_detail/277

    Chamoxa is selling this at i think $140....

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godzilla Invades View Post
    MemoryWorld is very ex lei.......no one goes there unless they have deep pockets.

    Anyway, try this.

    http://www.vantecusa.com/front/product/view_detail/277

    Chamoxa is selling this at i think $140....
    THANKSS!!!! Exactly what I was looking for!

  17. #17

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    THANKSS!!!! Exactly what I was looking for!
    You are welcome.

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND you using JBOD (Just a bunch of disc) mode. RAID will be ideal.

    If you are solely using it for storage purpose, I would recommend you go with Western Digital Green 1TB (low electricity consumption and drives are relatively cool) and cheap drives ($155 per HDD).

    If you are going to slightly faster performance, Western Digital Black Caviar 1TB would be an ideal pairing. (I am using this). $200 per HDD.

    Any IT gurus know if XP/Vista only supports/recognize up to 2TB for external HDD?

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by Godzilla Invades View Post
    You are welcome.

    I DO NOT RECOMMEND you using JBOD (Just a bunch of disc) mode. RAID will be ideal.

    If you are solely using it for storage purpose, I would recommend you go with Western Digital Green 1TB (low electricity consumption and drives are relatively cool) and cheap drives ($155 per HDD).

    If you are going to slightly faster performance, Western Digital Black Caviar 1TB would be an ideal pairing. (I am using this). $200 per HDD.

    Any IT gurus know if XP/Vista only supports/recognize up to 2TB for external HDD?
    Dun think so... should be able to go more than that... its normally the driver and the firmware fault... but have to check if the filesystem support...

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS

    In theory, the maximum NTFS volume size is 264-1 clusters. However, the maximum NTFS volume size as implemented in Windows XP Professional is 232-1 clusters. For example, using 64 KiB clusters, the maximum NTFS volume size is 256 TiB minus 64 KiB. Using the default cluster size of 4 KiB, the maximum NTFS volume size is 16 TiB minus 4 KiB. (Both of these are vastly higher than the 137GB limit in unpatched Windows XP due to lack of 48-bit LBA hard drive addressing support) Because partition tables on master boot record (MBR) disks only support partition sizes up to 2 TiB, dynamic or GPT volumes must be used to create bootable NTFS volumes over 2 TiB.

    but it never say you cannot create multiple partitions... so if u have 10tb, u just create 5 2tb partition.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Errr... I have a couple of WD 1TB Green and I am using a Mac... should i be concerned about this?

  20. #20

    Default Re: HDD enclosures with RAID and eSata?

    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    Dun think so... should be able to go more than that... its normally the driver and the firmware fault... but have to check if the filesystem support...

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/NTFS

    In theory, the maximum NTFS volume size is 264-1 clusters. However, the maximum NTFS volume size as implemented in Windows XP Professional is 232-1 clusters. For example, using 64 KiB clusters, the maximum NTFS volume size is 256 TiB minus 64 KiB. Using the default cluster size of 4 KiB, the maximum NTFS volume size is 16 TiB minus 4 KiB. (Both of these are vastly higher than the 137GB limit in unpatched Windows XP due to lack of 48-bit LBA hard drive addressing support) Because partition tables on master boot record (MBR) disks only support partition sizes up to 2 TiB, dynamic or GPT volumes must be used to create bootable NTFS volumes over 2 TiB.

    but it never say you cannot create multiple partitions... so if u have 10tb, u just create 5 2tb partition.
    GURU DCA,

    Thanks for the clarification. As I thought, even XP 64bit does not support it at all.........only can do an array of 2TB HDD......but must total up to 2TB max.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •