Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: Using Speedlite 580EX II

  1. #1

    Default Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Hi, I am a newbie to flash, I am using a speedlite 580 EX II for awhile, and was wondering if I can use one of them separately off the camera to shoot the flash from another angle itself, like the flash nikon offers remotely (note, its one flash, not a few to have master and slaves). Is it possible?

  2. #2

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    radio trigger, canon trigger or offshoe cord. pick ur poison.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    East
    Posts
    609

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Suggest you start off with mount flash instead of off flash, understand how your body operates flash, methodology of flash and light management before strobing.

  4. #4
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    ST-E2, Pocket Wizard (illegal in sgp), radio triggers (PT-04 or similar) are what you need.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Quote Originally Posted by flipfreak View Post
    radio trigger, canon trigger or offshoe cord. pick ur poison.
    There is one optical slave that is reported to work well with the 580 series.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Quote Originally Posted by Dream Merchant View Post
    There is one optical slave that is reported to work well with the 580 series.
    oh yeah. forgot abt optical slaves. i assumed he does not have onboard flash or doesnt want light from the camera.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Quote Originally Posted by +evenstar View Post
    ST-E2, Pocket Wizard (illegal in sgp), radio triggers (PT-04 or similar) are what you need.
    pocket wizards are illegal?

  8. #8
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Quote Originally Posted by wootnick View Post
    pocket wizards are illegal?
    frequency range used by them are not approved by IDA and hence are not allowed to be used in sgp. last i heard, CP only sells to foreigners

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Farrer Park
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    not approved radio frequencies mah.

    I'd go for the optical trigger as it works across the board, only problem would be using it where light cant reach far far away

  10. #10

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Hehehe...today I triggered SB units from my EX units. No external triggers or stuff.

  11. #11

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Quote Originally Posted by Dream Merchant View Post
    Hehehe...today I triggered SB units from my EX units. No external triggers or stuff.
    yea, damn Canon for not including built in optical slave for their flashes..

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Farrer Park
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Quote Originally Posted by Dream Merchant View Post
    Hehehe...today I triggered SB units from my EX units. No external triggers or stuff.
    u got both EX & SB? i hates u.

  13. #13

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Quote Originally Posted by tSkye View Post
    u got both EX & SB? i hates u.
    No lah. Where got such $$$.

    It was a friend's SB and a super small EX I got 2nd hand.

    For REAL power I rely on my Metz Hammerheads.

  14. #14

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    Hmmmm, so there's now way I can do remotely alone with the body only? Not like Nikon is it? Oh geezz, how much would it cost me to get one of those? I am quite use to using EX on the body now, want to try shooting better macro pictures for now, so was thinking if Canon would be able to work like Nikon's flashes.

  15. #15
    Member Paiman74's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    152

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    What body are you using? If it has pc cord input, you can use PC to connect to 580 EXII. No need hot shoe.

    But hassle of having cords running ard is too much.

  16. #16

    Default Re: Using Speedlite 580EX II

    using either of these, 400D/50D. So I still need to purchase a remote trigger to sync the triggering separately I guess.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •