Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 21 to 29 of 29

Thread: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

  1. #21

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    Buy the cam that you will take always. A heavy FF cam in the drybox is much worse than a PnS in hand.

  2. #22

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    I'm not a nikon user; but for me... i'll still keep my crop DSLR as a backup/2nd camera even when i got my FF...
    Playing with M43.

  3. #23
    Senior Member Pablo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Blue/Green Planet
    Posts
    1,854

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    Quote Originally Posted by night86mare View Post
    my take is that you think too much.

    if you can afford it, there is nothing wrong with having a camera that is unused sitting around, it is your money after all, why care what other people think?

    that said, if you don't know how to utilise both properly, you get fx, dx, or both, also frankly speaking, useless. and therein lies the point.

    both have strengths, both have compromises, nothing wrong with getting both. a camera, whether dx or fx, is after all, a means to an end. all that matters is the result, not what you have, and if you need more than one type of body to achieve what you want.. then go for it. of course, if it is just bbb telling you "hey, get two bodies so that i can say that i have two bodies and drool over them".. then only you would know.

    there are d40 users who put d3 users to shame, just this fact alone speaks volumes.
    I agree,

    There is a dude that won a photography contest up against all types of cameras, using a Canon Ixus.

    AS SAID MANY TIMES: It is not the camera, but the eye behind it !!!!!!!!!!!
    Time, is an effortless construction :)

  4. #24
    Senior Member TheChef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Where the action is
    Posts
    2,304

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    As a DX camera owner, I will get the FX camera and fit it with prime lenses like 50mm f/1.4 and 85mm f/1.4 for a start. As I already own the former, I just need to invest in a 85mm f/1.4 and I am done. I will continue to use my DX camera for general photography.
    Last edited by TheChef; 11th April 2009 at 11:37 PM.
    S5Pro|S3Pro|D50|16-85VR2|70-200VR|80-400VR|S50f1.4|105f2|135f2|SB900|SB80DX

  5. #25

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    tried too.. but when I got my FX.. the DX stayed in the box all the time, under utilised and in the end at the though of space.. sold off all DX equipment.
    Nikon D90

  6. #26
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    My FX cameras are my film ones! Woohoo! =) My lenses (except my Sigma 10-20mm) can be interchanged between film & digital... That's why I love Nikon. =)
    incywincyspider climbup the waterspout...

  7. #27
    Member rajahchindian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore, Jurong West
    Posts
    179

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    If i am not wrong Nikon's FX bodies like D3 and D700 can change between FX and DX mode right?
    if that's true, then that's really very handy.
    and i would probably sell off the DX and use the $$$$ to invest on lens!
    otherwise i guess DX camera would probably be lying in dry cab like what the others said.
    EOS 7D | EOS 50D | EF50f/1.4 | Flickr | www.krjefferson.com

  8. #28

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    this 1 i dunno. I only know that if use DX lense, it will be cropped and only have 5MP. D700 users please correct me if i am wrong.

  9. #29

    Default Re: Will you own a FX and DX body at the same time?

    Quote Originally Posted by Richter View Post
    this 1 i dunno. I only know that if use DX lense, it will be cropped and only have 5MP. D700 users please correct me if i am wrong.
    Normally the default setting is DX mode for DX lenses but you can override it and use FX lenses with a DX crop and DX lenses in FX mode.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •