Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

  1. #1
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    I'm still a greenhorn in the field of digital photography, and would like to seek some clarifications from the lao jiaos in clubsnap.

    I realised that if i would to take a long exposure on a tripod, with the IS enabled, there will be a certain degree of camera shake in the image. Is there any reason that the lens should moved on a stable platform? If not, should i send the lens in for servicing? Please advice.

    Images taken at a shuttle speed of 30 seconds (ISO-100), with mirror lock-up enabled, and no PP (other than WB adjustment).


    Shuttle Speed: 30 Seconds (ISO-100).
    IS: Disabled, Mirror Lock-Up: Enabled.


    Shuttle Speed: 30 Seconds (ISO-100).
    IS: Enabled, Mirror Lock-Up: Enabled.

  2. #2
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    u r suppose to turn off IS when mounted on tripod.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  3. #3
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    u r suppose to turn off IS when mounted on tripod.
    Thanks for your quick reply.

    Is there any reason for this? Just curious, i read the manual and they did mentioned that IS should be turned off, but the reason given was to conserve the juice from the battery.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Farrer Park
    Posts
    989

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    The IS is to correct any handshake movement you might make by moving internally in the counter direction.

    If you mount on tripod, turn it off as the IS will move around trying to counter nothing.

  5. #5
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    feedback. just like when u hold a mic near a speaker, than u get those squick noise and echoing stuff.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  6. #6
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by tSkye View Post
    The IS is to correct any handshake movement you might make by moving internally in the counter direction.

    If you mount on tripod, turn it off as the IS will move around trying to counter nothing.
    Hmm, i see. Is there any other situations where it is also advisable to turn off the IS? Once again, thanks for helping.

  7. #7

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    On a side note, it's "shutter". A "shuttle" is owned by NASA and goes into space. :P
    Alpha

  8. #8
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by 9V-Orion Images View Post
    Hmm, i see. Is there any other situations where it is also advisable to turn off the IS? Once again, thanks for helping.
    depending on the lens, some IS has 2 mode, one for handheld, one for mounted on mono-pod and off when on tripod.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  9. #9
    Moderator ziploc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Snoopyland
    Posts
    4,577

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Beside the IS which should be off, how about the trigger? Was it timer, shutter string, or remote control?

  10. #10
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by ziploc View Post
    Beside the IS which should be off, how about the trigger? Was it timer, shutter string, or remote control?
    I was using a trigger + 2 second timer, FYI. You guys have been really helpful in answering mine enquiries even after midnight, really appreciate it.

  11. #11
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    hi ts

    when using MLU, as in ur 1st photo, use it with cable release or wireless remote, else, at min. use with timer. not point u use MLU but still use ur finger to press the shutter button.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  12. #12
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    there are lots of info on night photography in the Night Photography Sub-Forum

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=85

    also, this thread may give u some suggestion on using tripod

    Basic guidelines on selection of tripod and tripod head
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=384016
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  13. #13
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    hi ts

    when using MLU, as in ur 1st photo, use it with cable release or wireless remote, else, at min. use with timer. not point u use MLU but still use ur finger to press the shutter button.
    That's what i did, using both a remote shutter trigger and the timer.

  14. #14
    Moderator ziploc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Snoopyland
    Posts
    4,577

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by 9V-Orion Images View Post
    That's what i did, using both a remote shutter trigger and the timer.
    In that case it is quite clear that the issue comes from the IS, as you have already taken care of the rest of the variables with MLU, remote trigger and timer.

  15. #15
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    there are lots of info on night photography in the Night Photography Sub-Forum

    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=85

    also, this thread may give u some suggestion on using tripod

    Basic guidelines on selection of tripod and tripod head
    http://www.clubsnap.com/forums/showthread.php?t=384016
    Thanks for the links, you must have spent quite some time in writing those guides. Will read it ASAP the next morning, after i zzz.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    358

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    the IS function works in a way by it detects slight shake and movement and realigns. so when your camera is suddenly stable on a tripod, it somewhat 'confuses' the IS function and works against your favour by re-aligning something which is already aligned. hope you get what i mean.

    one other scenario where you shud off IS would be panning shots. some lenses with IS 1 and 2 could let you switch for panning shots, but for those with just IS on and off, you should off it for panning shots as similarly the IS function could work against your favour again, thinking that your panning movement is a shake movement.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    Serangoon
    Posts
    545

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    On a side note, it's "shutter". A "shuttle" is owned by NASA and goes into space. :P
    SBS also has many that goes aroumd HDB estates.

  18. #18
    Senior Member +evenstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Singapore / United Kingdom
    Posts
    5,655

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by Stoppable View Post
    SBS also has many that goes aroumd HDB estates.
    those are called buses which are providing shuttle service
    eat. drink. shoot

  19. #19
    Member 9V-Orion Images's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Autenticate ALGRN @ 7987.8270
    Posts
    1,760

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by jeremyteocx View Post
    the IS function works in a way by it detects slight shake and movement and realigns. so when your camera is suddenly stable on a tripod, it somewhat 'confuses' the IS function and works against your favour by re-aligning something which is already aligned. hope you get what i mean.

    one other scenario where you shud off IS would be panning shots. some lenses with IS 1 and 2 could let you switch for panning shots, but for those with just IS on and off, you should off it for panning shots as similarly the IS function could work against your favour again, thinking that your panning movement is a shake movement.
    Got it, thanks.


    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    On a side note, it's "shutter". A "shuttle" is owned by NASA and goes into space. :P
    Spellcheck dosen't correct words that are spelled correctly.

  20. #20

    Default Re: IS On + Long Exposure On A Stable Tripod = Camera Shake?

    Quote Originally Posted by 9V-Orion Images View Post
    Thanks for your quick reply.

    Is there any reason for this?
    yes, the camera is compensating for something that isn't there, i.e. shake.

    you are effectively telling it "hey, there will be shake", but there isn't, so it is happily trying to compensate for shake that isn't there.

    just think of this way, if the bus driver of the bus you are in shouts, "we are going to take a hard turn right now", and you compensate by throwing yourself to the left, you will effectively fall down if he doesn't turn. simple as that.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •