Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 24

Thread: Dry Cabinet

  1. #1

    Default Dry Cabinet

    Hi Bros.

    Juz wanna know how effective is the dry cabinet in preventing fungus?
    Are there any incidents where Fungus 'attack' even when lens are stored in the dry cabinet?

    Thanks!

  2. #2

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    when the dry cabinet old enough to have problems. 5 years for digicabi warranty is pretty worth the pricing.
    You wont see me much less remember me but i am the guy who makes you look good.

  3. #3

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Its only effective if you store it at recommended humidity level.
    Looking for Photographers? | My Portfolio
    http://www.photoera.uni.cc/ | http://folio.navlem.com/

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    358

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    well a dry cabi prevents it, but of course it can't guarantee anything. your lenses may already have fungus growth without you knowing. but more than often it should be fine.

  5. #5

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by kentjr View Post
    Hi Bros.

    Juz wanna know how effective is the dry cabinet in preventing fungus?
    Are there any incidents where Fungus 'attack' even when lens are stored in the dry cabinet?

    Thanks!
    it is effective, when humidity levels are not high enough for a conducive environment for fungus to grow, they will not grow.

    that said, you have to maintain the humidity at the recommended levels.

  6. #6

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by kentjr View Post
    Hi Bros.

    Juz wanna know how effective is the dry cabinet in preventing fungus?
    Are there any incidents where Fungus 'attack' even when lens are stored in the dry cabinet?

    Thanks!
    in this kind of weather we're living? yes fur sure..

    that is when the cabinet go kaput and with you not even realising it.

  7. #7

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Thanks for all the comments bros. anyway, i set my dry cabinet between 45 to 55 as what the sales guy at cathay said.
    And my dry cabinet does not come with digital meter. I brought the non-digital one. Was afraid that the digital type might not
    last and might die on me any time....

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Somewhere in little red dot
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    If you equipment has condensation, dry it first before you put into the cabi. If the condense area is not expose to the dry environment in the cabi, fungus might grow. It happened to me once I didn't dry my telescope before putting into the cabi, with the front glass cover tighten, after about month, a little fungus grow on the front glass.
    D300 & P5100 :bsmilie:

  9. #9

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by rvxing View Post
    If you equipment has condensation, dry it first before you put into the cabi. If the condense area is not expose to the dry environment in the cabi, fungus might grow. It happened to me once I didn't dry my telescope before putting into the cabi, with the front glass cover tighten, after about month, a little fungus grow on the front glass.
    You mean air it outside first?

  10. #10
    Senior Member giantcanopy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    SG
    Posts
    6,232

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by rvxing View Post
    If you equipment has condensation, dry it first before you put into the cabi. If the condense area is not expose to the dry environment in the cabi, fungus might grow. It happened to me once I didn't dry my telescope before putting into the cabi, with the front glass cover tighten, after about month, a little fungus grow on the front glass.
    Why would u not want to put the lens with condensation into the dry cabinet ?
    The dehumidifier will dry it quicker by creating a gradient from its lowered vapor pressure.

    Ryan

  11. #11
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by kentjr View Post
    Thanks for all the comments bros. anyway, i set my dry cabinet between 45 to 55 as what the sales guy at cathay said.
    And my dry cabinet does not come with digital meter. I brought the non-digital one. Was afraid that the digital type might not
    last and might die on me any time....
    Digital or non-digital... up to you.

    But I've been using my digital one for about 3 years now.. no issues and no trouble setting up at all...
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  12. #12

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Digital or non-digital... up to you.

    But I've been using my digital one for about 3 years now.. no issues and no trouble setting up at all...
    Hi zac08,

    Any idea how long can the battery for the digital display last ? Just bought one few weeks back. There is nothing mentioned in the manual about the battery life.

    Thanks.

  13. #13
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by romeo tango View Post
    Hi zac08,

    Any idea how long can the battery for the digital display last ? Just bought one few weeks back. There is nothing mentioned in the manual about the battery life.

    Thanks.
    Eh... mine is the DHC model, no batteries. The display is powered by the AC power.

    I believe you're talking about the AD models, that you'd have to check back with the company.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  14. #14

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    Eh... mine is the DHC model, no batteries. The display is powered by the AC power.

    I believe you're talking about the AD models, that you'd have to check back with the company.
    Roger that. Thanks.

  15. #15
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Somewhere in little red dot
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by kentjr View Post
    You mean air it outside first?
    Yes, make sure there is NO condensation before putting it in the cabi. Most of the time, after our ob session, typically condensation will happen, we leave all optics outside to air till the next morning, clean it before putting it in.


    Quote Originally Posted by giantcanopy View Post
    Why would u not want to put the lens with condensation into the dry cabinet ?
    The dehumidifier will dry it quicker by creating a gradient from its lowered vapor pressure.

    Ryan
    In my case, the front cover was screw tighten, moisture trapped on the front glass didn't dry soon. Dark, moist and warm (20+degC) is best for fungus to grow. If there is gap or I'd not tighten the front cover, I guess the problem will not happen, luckily it was a very small fungus growth.
    D300 & P5100 :bsmilie:

  16. #16
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,388

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by kentjr View Post
    Thanks for all the comments bros. anyway, i set my dry cabinet between 45 to 55 as what the sales guy at cathay said.
    And my dry cabinet does not come with digital meter. I brought the non-digital one. Was afraid that the digital type might not last and might die on me any time....
    Check the manual of your camera about the RH for storage. These are the recommendations to use, not what a sales person tells you.
    The difference between digital and analog is only the way of displaying information. It has nothing to do with the actual metering. Both can be right or wrong. Digital RH meter in some models have a battery to replace (e.g. in Digicab AD series), the meter in the DHC series doesn't need. It's powered from the main plug.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    275

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    mine around 49% wif a body 1 lense 1 flash in side the camera body is attach wif a battery grip too is the RH% ok ?
    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Check the manual of your camera about the RH for storage. These are the recommendations to use, not what a sales person tells you.
    The difference between digital and analog is only the way of displaying information. It has nothing to do with the actual metering. Both can be right or wrong. Digital RH meter in some models have a battery to replace (e.g. in Digicab AD series), the meter in the DHC series doesn't need. It's powered from the main plug.

  18. #18

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by marcusy View Post
    mine around 49% wif a body 1 lense 1 flash in side the camera body is attach wif a battery grip too is the RH% ok ?
    you mean lens attach to a gripped body and a flash? it doesnt really matter how much you have inside the cabinet and yes 49 is a healthy range.

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
    Posts
    275

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    the body it self is attach wif lense and the grip but the flash is ont the top shelf?
    just to check do ur put the camera batter and the flash battery in the cabinet too?
    Quote Originally Posted by Octarine View Post
    Check the manual of your camera about the RH for storage. These are the recommendations to use, not what a sales person tells you.
    The difference between digital and analog is only the way of displaying information. It has nothing to do with the actual metering. Both can be right or wrong. Digital RH meter in some models have a battery to replace (e.g. in Digicab AD series), the meter in the DHC series doesn't need. It's powered from the main plug.
    Quote Originally Posted by shunzi View Post
    you mean lens attach to a gripped body and a flash? it doesnt really matter how much you have inside the cabinet and yes 49 is a healthy range.

  20. #20

    Default Re: Dry Cabinet

    Quote Originally Posted by marcusy View Post
    the body it self is attach wif lense and the grip but the flash is ont the top shelf?
    just to check do ur put the camera batter and the flash battery in the cabinet too?
    if you are using your gear regularly, then it shouldn't be a problem.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •