Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast
Results 101 to 120 of 160

Thread: Self-Assembled PC

  1. #101

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    The intel Xeon processors are used more for servers, NAS, search engines and stuff. have yet to come across a home pc using a Xeon processor yet. price wise i'm not really sure..
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  2. #102

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    I prefer to buy bundled PC as it leaves me the trouble of researching whether the components are compatible with each other. Some prefer to tinker onto something coz' it gives them joy once the outcome comes out. Don't get me wrong, I used to DIY PC but later I found myself studying softwares and spend more time making the most out of my camera.

  3. #103
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by raptor1988 View Post
    The intel Xeon processors are used more for servers, NAS, search engines and stuff. have yet to come across a home pc using a Xeon processor yet. price wise i'm not really sure..
    lol... NAS... u mean those home one uses Xeon?

    technically, just generally... Xeon = for Servers or Workstation... done...

    but Xeon not as expensive as you think... only thing is, when you get Xeon Processors, you need to buy special mobo, which is not cheap and not really good for home usage due to its purpose. And like using Workstation graphics card, you don't really get much additional perk or rather it might even be slower using these for gaming.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  4. #104

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    saw from the intel website.

    don't really think its suitable for gaming. for eg a Xeon processor with a 3.2Ghz core speed has only 1Mb of L2 Cache and 800Mhz of external bus speed (FSB)?
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  5. #105

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    tmw going to get some parts.. 2X2GB 800Mhz Ram, 320 WD 7,200 RPM HDD and Internal sata DVD writer.
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  6. #106

    Smile Re: Self-Assembled PC

    so, it is a dinosaur? get another pc. will consider a mac. big decision!

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    Can... Its written in the documentation. But the PSU 305W only ley!! LOL! How like that??

    I wouldn't recommended mixing different RAMs together so if you plan to get more RAM, your current RAM will just be another white elephant.

    BTW, reachme2003, I think its EOL for you.

    Psst... Have you considered buying a Mac instead?

  7. #107

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    i'm back.. 2X2GB 800Mhz Kingston ram $70, LG Sata DVD Writer $37, WD 320GB 3.5" Int SATA $77. looking forward to next week..
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  8. #108
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by raptor1988 View Post
    i'm back.. 2X2GB 800Mhz Kingston ram $70, LG Sata DVD Writer $37, WD 320GB 3.5" Int SATA $77. looking forward to next week..
    y? buy this week, next week install?

    price increased for rams, last week is 30-32, checked this week prices, all up to 35 liao...
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

  9. #109

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    bought some parts today to reduce the amt we have to buy next week ma. but looks like my buddy cant join me. so may delay getting the rest. My left arm is in a cast after i broke my wrist 1 mth ago. Next wed then removing. so in the meantime cannot carry heavy stuff.
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  10. #110
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    Google Project OS X86, wake in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe.
    Quote Originally Posted by Del_CtrlnoAlt View Post
    hmm can i format my tabletpc to OSX?
    Hmm... Not sure what you are trying to implicate here.

    In my tech forum, we have successfully run OSX even on an AMD system. The only problem is some driver issue. I will not pry into what's what but do bear in mind that Intel is already driving MAC desktops now.

  11. #111

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    sort of decided on remaining components. Coolermaster ATX chasis , $66, Gigabyte Superb 550W, $98 Asus P5Q and Intel Q9550 (ard $606). Left ard $346 for a ATI 4870 card. ok?
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  12. #112
    Senior Member jnet6's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    not here often anymore
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by raptor1988 View Post
    sort of decided on remaining components. Coolermaster ATX chasis , $66, Gigabyte Superb 550W, $98 Asus P5Q and Intel Q9550 (ard $606). Left ard $346 for a ATI 4870 card. ok?
    I would suggest you can skip the asus P5Q series and go for gigabyte Mobo.

  13. #113

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    reasons? and any models to recommend?
    Kodak Easyshare C875
    flickr

  14. #114
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Still sticking to quad core? Why not dual core? What are the chances of you making used of all 4 cores?

    I think the difference in pricing is a good $200 plus which you can use for other better hardware.

  15. #115
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Location
    Sengkang
    Posts
    2,922

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by reachme2003 View Post
    so, it is a dinosaur? get another pc. will consider a mac. big decision!
    When you buy a Mac, you don't have much room to 'upgrade' which is good. Less money spent and more time making the best out of your Mac. Resale value is also higher. LOL!

  16. #116

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by NovJoe View Post
    Still sticking to quad core? Why not dual core? What are the chances of you making used of all 4 cores?
    .
    What about running a batch processing in PS CS4 and using Lightroom concurrently?

  17. #117

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by cy_j View Post
    What about running a batch processing in PS CS4 and using Lightroom concurrently?
    that may use up all the cores, but the question is, os there enough RAM for it to do all the processing? is the hard disk fast enough with the read/write of those swap files etc?

    I still think a fast dual core beat a quad for things like gaming, processing etc. The saving might go to say better hardware. After all the fastest CPU is still limited by how much the hard disk can pump it with data. and the hard disk being the slowest.. well unless you do a 4xHDD in RAID 0 etc. *well SSD sound good dun they...*

  18. #118
    Senior Member NovJoe's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    ~Sunny Little Island~
    Posts
    5,651

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by cy_j View Post
    What about running a batch processing in PS CS4 and using Lightroom concurrently?
    In alot of cases, all 4 cores will be used but under-utilised. For example, you see activity in a 4 cores, however, you will noticed that some are running 40% and some are running 5%.

    If you are doing photoediting + video rendering + graphics design all at the same time, then you should go for quad but what are the chances that all rendering process will start at the same time thus utilising all 4 cores?

    I'm not against Quads and would like to have one if I have the $$$ to spare but for me, I can have better price vs performance with a Dual Core.

    In my previous company, only servers which are doing clustering, multi-thread data mining 24/7, handling data transfers over 2TB per day are using Quads or Xeons.

  19. #119
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by hazmee View Post
    Google Project OS X86
    thanks finally testing on old board, just for fun.

    Hardware Overview:

    Model Name: Mac
    Model Identifier: EP45-DS3P
    Processor Speed: 3.00 GHz
    Number Of Processors: 1
    Total Number Of Cores: 4
    L2 Cache: 12 MB
    Memory: 8 GB
    Bus Speed: 1.33 GHz

    Sorry for OT.

  20. #120
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2003
    Location
    Outside the Dry Box.
    Posts
    16,268

    Default Re: Self-Assembled PC

    Quote Originally Posted by NovJoe View Post
    In alot of cases, all 4 cores will be used but under-utilised. For example, you see activity in a 4 cores, however, you will noticed that some are running 40% and some are running 5%.

    If you are doing photoediting + video rendering + graphics design all at the same time, then you should go for quad but what are the chances that all rendering process will start at the same time thus utilising all 4 cores?

    I'm not against Quads and would like to have one if I have the $$$ to spare but for me, I can have better price vs performance with a Dual Core.

    In my previous company, only servers which are doing clustering, multi-thread data mining 24/7, handling data transfers over 2TB per day are using Quads or Xeons.
    its about utilisation... in theory all should run... but problem still lies with the OS and the software you are using. Even for dual cores, not all programs utilise both. like for eg, u run a spreadsheet or word processor, u expect it to run the 2 cores? and even for the OS, most likely they'll max out 1 core and the other one is idle.

    rendering are software which makes full use of every core, hence it will have each and every cores running at max. even for games, only some really utilise 2 cores, even how much 'intel' advertise its running quad and say 1 processor for physx, 1 for algo, 1 for sound, 1 for the game engine... etc... when you run a monitor on the cores, you can sometimes see only 1 core doing 100% and the rest idle.
    Logging Off. "You have 2,631 messages stored, of a total 400 allowed." don't PM me.

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •