Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

  1. #1
    Member tecko75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    37

    Question Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Hi,

    Was chatting with one friend and discussed about using Mirror-Lock feature on Canon DSLR to eliminate microvibration caused by flipping of mirror in the body that may cause blurr images, esp during night shoot.

    Anyone got experience to share? I tried a couple of times and doesn't seems to get the hang on how to correctly use it.

    Hope that bros/sistas out there can share.

  2. #2
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Found your manual? What is stated there?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,209

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    It is used to reduce vibration & "noise" (good for macro shooting).

  4. #4

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    I usually use this function with 2 seconds timer at night shoot. if you don't use cable release you should use with timer.Do correct if i was worng?[/I]

  5. #5

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Guess you have to put your cam into manual focus, flip the mirror, either use the timer or a cable release to shoot. Then release the mirror.

    If you have a very firm tripod, the vibration should be minimal.

  6. #6
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Quote Originally Posted by epalite View Post
    Guess you have to put your cam into manual focus, [...]
    Not necessary. AF will work es well.

  7. #7
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Quote Originally Posted by tecko75 View Post
    Anyone got experience to share? I tried a couple of times and doesn't seems to get the hang on how to correctly use it.
    i dont understand what do u mean.

    1) r u saying u dont know how to activate the MLU function in ur camera, if this is the case, pls rtfm.

    2) if it is not (1), than pls elaborate on the problem u faced, best with photos to show us what u mean.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  8. #8
    Member tecko75's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Woodlands, Singapore
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Thanks for all the replies and advise.

    Sorry to those who feels that my qn sounds too shallow. I am a new user DSLR so still trying out many stuff.

    To dennis,

    Specifics to my problem is more of ur point 2: I know how to activate MLU, but not sure how it will react. Cos seems like need to depress twice so that mirror will flip back. If I just depress once, mirror will remain flipped up, and shutter will expose (with a little delay). but will it remain exposed for as long as the mirror is flipped (i.e. if I do not depress a 2nd time to flip mirror down)?

    As for more elaboration, attached 2 sample image taken without ML and with ML (but not familiar with it tat's Y blurred the whole image).

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_g...n/photostream/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_g...n/photostream/

    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_gump_dinner/3413060923/" title="IMG_1796 by 阿勇舅舅, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3310/3413060923_b10784559e.jpg" width="500" height="333" alt="IMG_1796" /></a>

    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_gump_dinner/3413062213/" title="IMG_1799 by 阿勇舅舅, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3313/3413062213_684f582d51.jpg" width="500" height="333" alt="IMG_1799" /></a>

  9. #9
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,390

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Quote Originally Posted by tecko75 View Post
    Specifics to my problem is more of ur point 2: I know how to activate MLU, but not sure how it will react. Cos seems like need to depress twice so that mirror will flip back. If I just depress once, mirror will remain flipped up, and shutter will expose (with a little delay). but will it remain exposed for as long as the mirror is flipped (i.e. if I do not depress a 2nd time to flip mirror down)?
    Again: what is stated in your manual? We can guess till the cow comes home but first: which camera are you using? Which point of the explanation in the manual you don't understand?
    Example for Canon 450D (manual, page 94): Enable MLU feature in CFn, press shutter once to flip up the mirror. Then press a second time to expose. Exposure time depends on camera settings. After the exposure is finished the mirror flips down again.
    It is highly recommended to use remote shutter triggers (wired, Infrared) since your pressing on the shutter button will cause camera movement. And tripod is compulsory. No point discussing vibrations from a flip up mirror if the camera is not mounted on a tripod.
    Last edited by Octarine; 5th April 2009 at 01:47 PM.

  10. #10
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: Anyone got advise on how to use "Mirror-lock" feature in Canon DSLR?

    Quote Originally Posted by tecko75 View Post
    Thanks for all the replies and advise.

    Sorry to those who feels that my qn sounds too shallow. I am a new user DSLR so still trying out many stuff.

    To dennis,

    Specifics to my problem is more of ur point 2: I know how to activate MLU, but not sure how it will react. Cos seems like need to depress twice so that mirror will flip back. If I just depress once, mirror will remain flipped up, and shutter will expose (with a little delay). but will it remain exposed for as long as the mirror is flipped (i.e. if I do not depress a 2nd time to flip mirror down)?

    As for more elaboration, attached 2 sample image taken without ML and with ML (but not familiar with it tat's Y blurred the whole image).

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_g...n/photostream/
    http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_g...n/photostream/

    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_gump_dinner/3413060923/" title="IMG_1796 by 阿勇舅舅, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3310/3413060923_b10784559e.jpg" width="500" height="333" alt="IMG_1796" /></a>

    <a href="http://www.flickr.com/photos/bubba_gump_dinner/3413062213/" title="IMG_1799 by 阿勇舅舅, on Flickr"><img src="http://farm4.static.flickr.com/3313/3413062213_684f582d51.jpg" width="500" height="333" alt="IMG_1799" /></a>
    using MLU with timer
    1) set drive mode to timer mode
    2) activate MLU
    3) fire the shutter
    4) MLU
    5) after pre-set timer (some camera can set 2sec or 10sec iirc, some fix 2sec), shutter curtain opens
    6) after the set shutter speed, curtain auto closes, mirror returns and shot taken

    using MLU w/o timer, best use with cable release or wireless remote
    1) activate MLU
    2) press shutter button once, MLU
    3) press button 2nd time, curtain opens
    4) after the set shutter speed, curtain auto closes, mirror returns and shot taken.

    for above 2 cases, best gear mounted on tripod (correctly sized tripod and correct use of it is very important) and the view finder capped with the cap supplied on ur camera sling.
    Last edited by denniskee; 5th April 2009 at 02:47 PM.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •