![]() |
|
|
#1 |
|
|
Haiz....ever since i sold off my 3 weeks old 450D. Hands very itchcy...the 450 was a good beginner cam for me and i wanted to upgrade. Nearly bought the 50D with 17-85mm kit, but put it on hold due to release of 500D(then).
Yes, 500D maybe in in May but wanting to shoot now. ![]() So, pls poll.....50D or 500D? Tell me your views...on the selection of the camera, your personal views - dun worry what other's think or what i want. I'm a generalist and this is a new hobby, shooting anything i see. Price ain't an issue. Of course, some will say go 1D and whatnot, but i'll limit my choice to 5DII max. I prefer these camera's sizes. How ah?? ![]() ![]() |
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
|
5D MkII then. It will serve you well for years to come. Since you say price is not an issue. the 5D Mk II will serve as a excellent starter's kit for you to explore. Enough on the wide and telephoto.
The 5D model line doesn't get upgraded annually, saving you the headache to upgrade yearly. Meanwhile, you'll save the $$ to spend on quality lens and save time to shoot more. Bigger viewfinder, much better noise control, excellent HD video recording, fast enough FPS for general photography, smaller than the 1Ds and easier to learn and use. Just get it! Even if you pay by a 2 year installment, it still make very good sense. Last edited by davsmiths; 28th March 2009 at 05:15 PM. |
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
|
wah u used 450D for 3 weeks and want to upgrade already... it depends on what u did not like about the 450D, and see if the 500D addresses those issues. If they did not, then consider upgrading to 50D so you wun sell camera again after 3 weeks... For us hobbyist i think 50D is more than enough already, I definitely wun advise the 5DMKII, rather spend money on lense which will benefit your photography much more significantly than the choice of body. my humble opinion...
| Sponsored Link |
|
|
#4 | |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
|
go 50D is a hobby not a profession
said that money is not an issue so buy high end lense an cause evrybody sayin that it is the lense who deliver a good picture. go for 50D![]() |
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
|
Buy 50D, use for 1-2 months, then sell and get 500D, use for 2-6 months, then buy 60D etc etc.
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
|
Thanks Guys!! The replies are fast & furious : )
Appreciate the various opinion. Though i did mentioned price ain't an issue, that doesn't mean that i'll just throw it away - buying without thinking. I love a good bargain, just for the fun of it. But I'm a sucker for tech, early adopter and consumerism...thus this thread. For someone to provide an unbias, mature and technical views on the purchase. Hopefully, this will knock some sense into my buying spirit!! cheers |
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
|
well, since u mentioned early adopter, then isn't the answer obvious?
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#9 | |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
|
50D..... Doesn't need the 500D HD Video.
![]() |
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
|
Buy the 50D first and when 500D is launched, buy it as a backup body cum holiday cam (video).
|
|
#12 | |
|
|
I am also in same kind of dilema..asked for suggestions here and also got furious replies ... ![]() (I sold of 1000D, at virtually no loss )Anyway...i cant wait till may and soon going for a 40D (dont want to spend that much on 50D )..just trying to find best price for the 40D. 500D's movie mode is attractive but 3.4 fps is something I dont want..also i thought 1000D was too small a cam for me..
|
|
|
#13 | |
|
|
I am looking from the positive angle:
sucker for tech -> you will always upgrade. this is good for people who buy in b&s early adopter -> this is good as you will become the "guinea pig", if the product is bad, a lot of people won't waste their money buying it. consumerism -> this is good to help spinning the economy ![]()
|
|
|
#14 | |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
#15 |
|
|
I will try to plot an upgrade plan for you:
- itchy hands to get a 2nd hand 40D until May - get the new 500D and sell your 40D. - 60D will be announce in Q3, - get the 60D before the year end and sell the 500D - by this time 550D will be announce in Q1 2010 - wait for it to be available in Q2, get it and sell the 60D - 70D will be on the horizon. Wait for it to be announce - buy 70D when it is available and sell your 550D Keep repeating the above (add 50 to the xxxD series and add 10 to the xxD series)... |
|
|
|
|
#16 | |
|
|
![]()
|
|
|
#17 |
|
|
From here we can see how many people were indecisive when purchasing an item.
Before buying anything, it's best to ask some questions about the product to yourself. And if you owned a 450D and later got a 500D. It seems impractical. The body is exactly the same. Just a 15mp sensor and video function. A Camcorder will take better videos at higher resolution. Somethings should be as they are. It's alright for those things to incorporate a little from each other. Example a handphone can have a 3.2mp camera which is good enough, to capture clear pictures. But when it starts going about to 8mp, it's totally not worth it. If a handphone can do it all, then why Camera manufacturers make cameras anymore? Certain things were designed for it's sole purpose and functions well for its own purpose. And getting a gadget because it's latest is an expensive hobby and it will never give peace. GMAN |
|
|
|
|
#18 |
|
|
I think people tends not only to listen to what they want to listen, but also see what they wanted to see only(missing the Big picture). Pls read my post in full context and not in part/parts, as i sense sarcasm and cynical views are better left unsaid.
darshan - Thanks. Indeed the movie mode does not interest me too. BTW, i've sold my 450D with a lost of $50 only : ) ninja - fully agree. a camera should be a camera. i buy pen only from montblanc, watch from BALL, and also never really like a 2 or 3 in 1 concept. I've a HD 3 CCD pana video cam too. The reason why 500D & 50D is the similarities in DIGIC 4 sensor, 15+ MP & etc. But i reckoned 50D is a better cam than 500D in certain ways, but the marginal performance(assumed) worth the price difference?? Guess i'll have to wait & see..... Thanks Guys....for the comments. |
|
|
|
|
#19 |
|
|
if like that keep chasing for new stuff DSLR.... that will be never end lor.....
Ask yourself you want new tech or camera able to give u good pix.... why not save some $$$ to invest into good lens leh... ![]()
|
|
#20 |
|
|
collect all of the bodies.
open shop! |
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|