Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > News, Gatherings, Outings and Events > Exhibitions and Events

Exhibitions and Events Information on exhibitions and events

Old 21st March 2009   #1
weekh

Default Canon Photographer of the Year

Kudos to Canon for organising this event. However, it is rather low profile despite all the ads in the Clubsnap. Only get to know about it on the closing date of the Mar submission.

http://www.digitaldreams.com.sg/poty/

After going through the pics and looking at the votes, I have to conclude that the judging system is rather kelong. It is not the best picture wins. But rather, the one who creates the most accounts, wins.
Old 23rd March 2009   #2
Neo

Default Re: Canon Photographer of the Year

Hi Keng Hor,

Not true lah... you did pretty well too. I saw your macro close-up of your flower... voted for you as well! You got 29 votes... that's pretty good!
Old 23rd March 2009   #3
lightning

Just like Singapore Idol and American Idol.....there is never a far way to judge. Why not submit a crap photo and ask 100 people to vote. So end of the day Canon will know what is the problem. Their Photographer of the year produce crap photo.
Sponsored Link
Old 23rd March 2009   #4
weekh

Originally Posted by lightning View Post
Just like Singapore Idol and American Idol.....there is never a far way to judge. Why not submit a crap photo and ask 100 people to vote. So end of the day Canon will know what is the problem. Their Photographer of the year produce crap photo.
No need to ask people to vote for u.
Keep creating accounts and vote for yourself. U'll be rewarded with an ixus camera every month and a 5d2 with L lens at the end of the year.
Old 23rd March 2009   #5
weekh

Originally Posted by Neo View Post
Hi Keng Hor,

Not true lah... you did pretty well too. I saw your macro close-up of your flower... voted for you as well! You got 29 votes... that's pretty good!

Thanks.
I've to confess that 1 vote is from myself. Another from my wife.

Last edited by weekh; 23rd March 2009 at 07:14 PM.
Old 23rd March 2009   #6
Rubber_Duck

Just notice the first prize is a
EOS 5D Mk II with EF 28-105mm f/4 L IS USM

But What I know this lens is Canon EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM no IS and not f/4.....

is that a mistake or what???!?!?!!?
Old 23rd March 2009   #7
Kit

Originally Posted by weekh View Post
Keep creating accounts and vote for yourself. U'll be rewarded with an ixus camera every month and a 5d2 with L lens at the end of the year.
For every account you register, it has to be accompanied with an I.C. no. How many I.C.s do you carry?
Old 23rd March 2009   #8
erictan8888

It is not the best picture wins. But rather, the one who creates the most accounts, wins.

ha ha... a very funny joke...
really had a nice laugh...

will create an account and vote for you...
Old 23rd March 2009   #9
NemesisBlade

Originally Posted by Rubber_Duck View Post
Just notice the first prize is a
EOS 5D Mk II with EF 28-105mm f/4 L IS USM

But What I know this lens is Canon EF 28-105mm f/3.5-4.5 USM no IS and not f/4.....

is that a mistake or what???!?!?!!?
hmm. think they meant the 5DII kit thus shld be 24-105mm f/4 L IS USM bah..
Old 23rd March 2009   #10
weekh

Originally Posted by erictan8888 View Post
will create an account and vote for you...
Please don't give me your vote cos we are from CS.
Vote for the pic u think is worthy.

Else another type of kelong...
Old 23rd March 2009   #11
wranger

Please don't give me your vote cos we are from CS.
Vote for the pic u think is worthy.

Else another type of kelong...
Truly agreed
Old 24th March 2009   #12
cmeptb72

Thanks.
I've to confess that 1 vote is from myself. Another from my wife.
We can vote for our own photos?

The brains behind the judging process must be one sick dude - (no offense to self voters ah)
Old 24th March 2009   #13
lightning

Err...let me create the NRIC generator... where is my source code during my Uni-days? Anyone some nos.?
Old 24th March 2009   #14
chiif
Advertiser

Wee... I'm your long time fan... continue to post every theme... if u win at the end of the year... don't forget to pass me your used 5D MkII after you get the new one...
Old 24th March 2009   #15
Neo

Originally Posted by cmeptb72 View Post
We can vote for our own photos?

The brains behind the judging process must be one sick dude - (no offense to self voters ah)
Hmmm... food for thought... would we prefer someone to judge the photos submitted, or go for the current voting system? Or perhaps 50/50 system of judging and voting?
Old 24th March 2009   #16
kingfishers

I post picture but no vote leh so die lor no present
Old 24th March 2009   #17
GavinTing

Originally Posted by Kit View Post
For every account you register, it has to be accompanied with an I.C. no. How many I.C.s do you carry?
IC Generator? Google
Old 24th March 2009   #18
cmeptb72

Originally Posted by Neo View Post
Hmmm... food for thought... would we prefer someone to judge the photos submitted, or go for the current voting system? Or perhaps 50/50 system of judging and voting?
maybe 50/50 would be as it would probably add some impartiality to the judging process?
Old 25th March 2009   #19
GavinTing

Judges to shortlist 10 best or something, public voting and panel of judges to decide?
Old 25th March 2009   #20
thengz

Originally Posted by GavinTing View Post
Judges to shortlist 10 best or something, public voting and panel of judges to decide?
Yeah, there should be a shortlist. Its nuts man. There is something like 13 pages of 8 pictures each. Which makes it about 100 pages to look through before voting (for serious voters). Its no wonder that this becomes a popularity contest.

They should shortlist it to 10 or something. Only then should they let the public to vote.
Closed Thread