Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Reportage and Sports

Reportage and Sports Photojournalistic, Reportage, Events Coverage, Sports Illustrated.

Old 22nd October 2003   #1
iamasaint

Default Rach & LS...

For your comments...thanks in advance!

Old 23rd October 2003   #2
di0nysus

Great work, how do you make the roses stand out the way they are? looks rather tedious work, if it's lasso tool + manual erasing etc etc..
Old 23rd October 2003   #3
SianZronG

Originally Posted by di0nysus
Great work, how do you make the roses stand out the way they are? looks rather tedious work, if it's lasso tool + manual erasing etc etc..

magnetic lasso?
Old 23rd October 2003   #4
iamasaint

neither actually. =)

Duplicate layer and then convert the duplicate layer to B+W and then use history brush and brush over the roses. The layer beneath is colored. Hence you get this effect. Cheers!
Old 23rd October 2003   #5
StreetShooter

Must say you're a really dedicated photographer, and your work improves daily. I like your weddings and your Tuas.
Old 23rd October 2003   #6
SianZronG

Originally Posted by iamasaint
neither actually. =)

Duplicate layer and then convert the duplicate layer to B+W and then use history brush and brush over the roses. The layer beneath is colored. Hence you get this effect. Cheers!
isn't the history brush the same as lasso? hm... i feel it's about the same...
Old 23rd October 2003   #7
SniperD

history brush is not like the lasso.. itz more of the creative tool for colour in desaturated pics...

nice work Saint... enjoying your shots
Old 23rd October 2003   #8
pkj

Question

Nice!

When also to your portfolio, wah!! u very into photography huh? Are you a pro or serious free lance?
Old 23rd October 2003   #9
bja

wow this is a SMALL world man.... I know the bride and groom but lost contact with them for some time liao...

This world is indeed small man..... It's really quite cool to find out news abt people that you know thru other people in this forum.... this is actually not the first couple

Anyway nice take! and glad that they finally got married

Great series of their wedding too!!!
Old 23rd October 2003   #10
AReality

Sorry leh...
But I dun really like the way you highlight the roses in the photo...
The subject seems to be the bride+groom. The flower is just a decoration.
Looks like the flower is more important than them...
Old 23rd October 2003   #11
henavs

An interesting technique...

Went to ur gallery and discover a lot of nice photos...

Nice series of weddings as well...I should learn more from u ppl...
Old 23rd October 2003   #12
iamasaint

Hi guys!

thanks for the kind comments. I've come to realised that I need affirmation on whether I'm doing things right or wrong. Some live by the principal that as long as they like their own pic then it will do. Dun have to bother so much.

I have nothing against that but that is not what I dig. If that was the case, I wouldn't even bother posting here. Anywaysss....thing is i believe you improve more when you lay your works for all to critic. While it is true that not all critics are useful, it is better than none at all, especially if you're still honing your skills. So...here I am laying my best works for you guys to tear apart or praise.

Actually, there were many instances, when there are pictures I like but others do not and sometimes, clubsnappers have even pointed out flaws or aspects of the pics which i didn't even realised! Thanks! =)

henavs: It was not too long ago that I was pm-ing people like megaweb and tomshen for their advise =) Actually I still do! But I'm reading more too...

AReality: An example of something which I didn't even consider. Thanks for pointing it out, sincerely. I think I was careless with the title more than anything else. This pic was never intended to be abt the couple but more on the entire scene, actually. The flowers however played the main part here cos it was very red (plus I tweaked summore...reallly shouldn't have on hindsight..like abit too fake) plus the flowers were in nice rows and angled nicely.

bja: You know them too?! Rachel's a dear friend. She was my NUS classmate. I got to know my wife thru her! Yes. I'm glad they're married too. 7 years of courtship! Phew!
Thanks for the kind comments.

pkj: Thanks. Neither. Not a pro nor a serious freelance. Just an artist. LIKE REAL! No la, just kidding, just an enthusiast like most of you!

SniperD: Thanks! I enjoyed your portfolio (while at BK) alot too.

SianZrong: A bit different la. But you kept me up last night wondering if we can use both tools. Haven'y figured out yet.

StreetShooter: You don't say. Actually, I really quite deicated ya? My whole collection on the gallery (Ok..abt 85%) were done in the last 3 months! Hahahahha!!! I still haven't decided what I would like to concentrate on. Its a whole mumbo jumbo now. I'm shooting streets, studios, animals, landscapes....except macro. I find macro really really tedious! I must speak to megaweb someday for advise. I
Old 23rd October 2003   #13
Falcon

Cool. Got to try out this technique one day. If you keep going at this shooting rate, you can be first to reach 10,000 shutter count mark for 10D. Or has streetshooter already reached that mark... Doesn't the weight of the cam slow you down at times? Care to share why u got so much energy?
Old 23rd October 2003   #14
iamasaint

Streetshooter reached that mark already la...=)

I actually prefer a heavier cam. I started with Minolta's Dynax 5 and X-300, then moved on to Dynax 7. The 7 was the turning point. With the vertical grip, i realised i liked heavier cams! The 10D with the grip is one heavy mama too! Plus the 70-200 f2.8, its as punishing as my gym sessions!

I tell you.... its my child-like passion over the hobby thats keeping me going. There's just so much to learn and discover and so many photo opportunities to realise. Besides that, its also the joy of taking loved ones, cute kids, pretty gals, hunky guys, adorable kittens, beautiful birds (the feathered kind), close friends, candid moments, things I owned...these will all serve as great memories for me. The joy of someone else enjoying my work, the teasing and laughing over pictures taken with close friends. The "suaning" of fellow photographers, the bonding and making of friends. These are some of the more significant reasons why I'm steaming ahead in photography.
Old 23rd October 2003   #15
iamasaint

Guess what? Just showed the wife the pic! And she doesn't like it!

Wife: "Color and black & white don't cut for me leh..."
Me: "Why?"
Wife: "Never liked pics like these.."
Me: "Really ah? But most of the guys here thinks its nice. See see see."
Wife: "Not nice la..."
Me: "Quite arty farty what..."
Wife: "Closer to farty"
Old 23rd October 2003   #16
SianZronG

Guess what? Just showed the wife the pic! And she doesn't like it!

Wife: "Color and black & white don't cut for me leh..."
Me: "Why?"
Wife: "Never liked pics like these.."
Me: "Really ah? But most of the guys here thinks its nice. See see see."
Wife: "Not nice la..."
Me: "Quite arty farty what..."
Wife: "Closer to farty"

art a really tough subject
Old 23rd October 2003   #17
Azure

Personally, I'd like the bringing out the roses' colour. It makes me feel the couple's love for each other. Yet somehow, I find this somewhat "too much of a good thing"...?
Art is subjective. Some may let it, some may not. What's important is that the client or friend you are doing it for loves it and you enjoy it.
Old 23rd October 2003   #18
pkj

Unhappy

on further evaluation of your pic, i got some comments:

Was it possible to move to the left so that we can see some of the groom. The couple holding hands is really nice but since I don't really see the groom, it appears that a hand is just sticking out of nowhere.

Depending on you, I think capturing the couple holdinng hand is the "subject" of this composition, not the roses. so when you add colour to the roses, as an interpretator, my attention is divided between the 2.

If I want to focus on the roses as subject. I would take a separate photo of the row of beautiful roses but to focus on one. Then colour only that 1 rose and b/w the rest.
Old 27th October 2003   #19
bja

Hi guys!
bja: You know them too?! Rachel's a dear friend. She was my NUS classmate. I got to know my wife thru her! Yes. I'm glad they're married too. 7 years of courtship! Phew!
Thanks for the kind comments.
OT: hee yea.... in fact if i count the years... we've known each other for more than 10 years.... we lost touch after some time... then met her again in NUS
we were both in crusade.. so I knew who lye sheng is too coz he was from crusade too he probably doesn't remember me lah...
cool man... and yea i remember that they together for long time liao.. *faint* who knows ur wife might be my long lost friend too
Closed Thread