Thread: Suitable lens for Jalan Besar Stadium

Default Suitable lens for Jalan Besar Stadium

Will be heading down to JBS for the AFC Champions League clash. As I will be heading from work, I am unable to carry much gear.

Hence, would like to know if a 28-105mm is adequate for capturing action on the pitch if I am seated at the lower grandstand? Or would it better to bring my 70-200mm. It's my first time at this stadium and I'm unsure of the distance between the seating area and the pitch.

Thanks in advance.

Default Re: Suitable lens for Jalan Besar Stadium

70-200mm would be a better choice.
    Minolta. Konica Minolta. Sony

Definitely 70-200. You would get better shots with a 300mm.
    Pop your shutter speed above 1/500 which is easy to do at Jalan Besar. Aperture at around f/2.8-f/4 using ISO 1600.

Just have a little play around really
    Good luck.

Thanks fellas.

I'd go with the 70-200mm really. The reach is quite essential.

hi there, any idea where to get the pass to get down beside the field ? or do i need to be a official photographer from some news service ?

coz, i went to watch a soccer match there using a normal ticket entry....during half time, went near the bench..and this one guy from AFC asked me where i was from ? who's camera is this ? and he called security to confiscate my camera...there are few SLRSs on the tribune...so yeah...@_@

Quote Originally Posted by gharrylabs View Post
    hi there, any idea where to get the pass to get down beside the field ? or do i need to be a official photographer from some news service ?

coz, i went to watch a soccer match there using a normal ticket entry....during half time, went near the bench..and this one guy from AFC asked me where i was from ? who's camera is this ? and he called security to confiscate my camera...there are few SLRSs on the tribune...so yeah...@_@