Results 1 to 18 of 18

Thread: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,436

    Default How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Hi, i tried to look for the information on seagate. Its not very useful and i cant find anything. Even their knowledge base content is EMPTY!!!

    Can someone share with me how do i reset the harddisk? I changed my computer and hence want to use it with my new computer. Thanks alot.
    Don't brag about your accomplishments; Show us your future works.

  2. #2

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    You should just be able to plug it in... It's just a USB drive, right? So I don't see what's so hard.
    Alpha

  3. #3

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    what do you mean? Resetting harddisk?

  4. #4

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by mtunlinn View Post
    what do you mean? Resetting harddisk?
    I know... I'm a bit confused by that as well. The only exception I could think of is if the harddrive is encryption-locked to a specific PC, but I've not heard of anyone outside of government doing something like that.
    Alpha

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    1,478

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    or how about right click at the drive, then select quick format ?
    Last edited by Simon_84; 15th March 2009 at 12:33 PM.

  6. #6

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by Simon_84 View Post
    or how about right click at the drive, then select quick format ?
    That'll wipe out the data... I don't think he wants to do that.
    Alpha

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,436

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    I used to sync it to a previous computer. Now that computer is obselete and i have changed to a new one. Previously when a new Maxtor One Touch 4 syncs, it is able to detect a new drive/ computer after 3-5 mins. Now, i cant do it at all. It as a hard disk is working fine, just that the new computer or any other computer cant detect it as a new hard drive.

    I am trying to reset it to factory default setting for the hard drive.

    Thanks in advanced.
    Don't brag about your accomplishments; Show us your future works.

  8. #8

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    What do you mean by resetting? Formatting?

    If you want to change ur com and the new com does not have the program to open the disk, you have to remove ur passwords, so that u can read it on the other com.
    Passion for Photography

  9. #9
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Haha, i having same problem with u , i bought it last year IT fair. But than , i dont know how to use , and its collecting dust on my shelves. its not like a normal USB storage. Need Sync this and that. so mafan.

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    1,799

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by JacePhoto View Post
    I used to sync it to a previous computer. Now that computer is obselete and i have changed to a new one. Previously when a new Maxtor One Touch 4 syncs, it is able to detect a new drive/ computer after 3-5 mins. Now, i cant do it at all. It as a hard disk is working fine, just that the new computer or any other computer cant detect it as a new hard drive.

    I am trying to reset it to factory default setting for the hard drive.

    Thanks in advanced.
    I think you need to ask Maxtor leh, not Seagate or has they merged?
    Call their help line, or post a question at hardwarezone.com?

    Or pretend to go to Simlim to buy and ask the sales person. May be like I want to backup my old system before I upgrade OS, but my friend tell me cannot reuse this after OS upgrade. How?

  11. #11
    Deregistered
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Beside Fernando Torress
    Posts
    427

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by aryanto View Post
    I think you need to ask Maxtor leh, not Seagate or has they merged?
    Call their help line, or post a question at hardwarezone.com?

    Or pretend to go to Simlim to buy and ask the sales person. May be like I want to backup my old system before I upgrade OS, but my friend tell me cannot reuse this after OS upgrade. How?
    maxtor and seagate are merged.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,436

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    I finally managed to get the problem solved. Because Seagate experienced excessive spamming, the shut off the way where people could email them. Every one needs to register.

    Anyway, i had to reset the hard disk using a special method. Because the One Touch 4 mini had special encryption, no other computer can detect it. It took me one day of work just to get back the hard disk.
    Don't brag about your accomplishments; Show us your future works.

  13. #13

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Meaning the folks at seagate helped u reset or they teach u then u DIY?

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    New York City
    Posts
    6,436

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by evo-lution View Post
    Meaning the folks at seagate helped u reset or they teach u then u DIY?
    They teach me to DIY...
    Don't brag about your accomplishments; Show us your future works.

  15. #15

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by JacePhoto View Post
    They teach me to DIY...
    Very complicated proccess?

  16. #16

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by JacePhoto View Post
    They teach me to DIY...
    DIY

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    singapore
    Posts
    1,799

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by JacePhoto View Post
    I used to sync it to a previous computer. Now that computer is obselete and i have changed to a new one. Previously when a new Maxtor One Touch 4 syncs, it is able to detect a new drive/ computer after 3-5 mins. Now, i cant do it at all. It as a hard disk is working fine, just that the new computer or any other computer cant detect it as a new hard drive.

    I am trying to reset it to factory default setting for the hard drive.

    Thanks in advanced.
    Care to share here?

  18. #18

    Default Re: How do you reset a Maxtor OneTouch 4 mini Harddisk?

    Quote Originally Posted by JacePhoto View Post
    They teach me to DIY...
    Care to share how it is done?

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •