Thread: Newbie in photography needs help

Default Newbie in photography needs help

Hi , i am relatively new to photography so i do not really know much . I own a Olympus FE-360 which i do not really like as the battery life is crap and the peformance is not really good.

I have a budget of $500 . Im planning on getting Nikon products as i think they are the best compared to other brands.My friend told me to get a D40 second hand but my dad may not agree to it as I am still quite young and I may get scammed as I am relatively new to this hobby.So can somebody help me on choosing a new camera?
    (and oh yes i have a Lens Scope Converter and a 28-200mm lens from my dad's old flim DSLR)

Some stuff im looking for

1) Good battery life , i dont know if possible , 500 non-flash shots per battery?
    2)Good anti-blurring because my Olympus takes shaky images at night without flash(but with lighting) .And its not my hands
    3)Possibly have bigger lens diameter and the right hand pop-up thingy like most DSLRs do as it is easier to hold.

Being a budding school photographer I am taking pictures of all school events so i guess you guys have a rough idea of what i am taking.I average about 500 shots per event so ya ~

Any help is greatly appreciated !

Default Re: Newbie in photography needs help

Quote Originally Posted by shadowpartner View Post
    Hi , i am relatively new to photography so i do not really know much . I own a Olympus FE-360 which i do not really like as the battery life is crap and the peformance is not really good.

I have a budget of $500 . Im planning on getting Nikon products as i think they are the best compared to other brands.My friend told me to get a D40 second hand but my dad may not agree to it as I am still quite young and I may get scammed as I am relatively new to this hobby.So can somebody help me on choosing a new camera?
    (and oh yes i have a Lens Scope Converter and a 28-200mm lens from my dad's old flim DSLR)