Thread: Vibrant Singapore

Default Vibrant Singapore

Hello,
    This photo was taken on a sunny thursday afternoon, though the whole CBD area was a bit hazy at that point of time. This is my 1st attempt in doing a HDR photo, i wanted to show through this photo, a vibrant and prosperous Singapore.

Camera used : Nikon D90
    ISO: 200
    EV: +2/0/-2

Started with Photomatix to generate HDR then edited the saturation more in Photoshop.

I would like to receive comments on the following aspects:
    1) Composition
    2) Post Production
    Most importantly, i would like to know whether do you like the photo?

Any other comments/criticisms are gladly welcomed..I am still a amateur photographer and wish to improve my skills and techniques in digital photography.

Hope to learn more from all of you here.

Thanks.

Default Re: Vibrant Singapore

seriously. i think there isnt egh contrast on that day to simulate HDR effects. either that 3 shots is insufficient. i could probably take this with just 1 shot and tweak up the saturation of the sky to look like urs

My aim whenever shooting HDR is to achieve a natural as possible look, assimilating what the eye sees. I recently shot this area, but from further away. Your version has a bit of extended dynamic range, but not a lot. IMHO, aim for natural before going for exaggerated stuff. If not, you're bound to make it look overdone, like it is here. It really looks oversaturated; the blues look way too unnaturally blue.

Here's my version of the scene. Let me know if you want it taken down. By the way, this was shot with 7 exposures, each a stop apart.

Quote Originally Posted by wildsoyabean View Post
    seriously. i think there isnt egh contrast on that day to simulate HDR effects. either that 3 shots is insufficient. i could probably take this with just 1 shot and tweak up the saturation of the sky to look like urs
    ok..noted...thanks for the comments..

Quote Originally Posted by calebk View Post