Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 42

Thread: Poor close-up focusing for Canon A40?

  1. #1
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default Poor close-up focusing for Canon A40?

    Hi all,

    I am a newbie who have very little camera experience and I just got my first DC camera Canon A40.

    However, I discovered that I always faced difficulties trying to focus on close-up subjects using the A40. The object almost always come out blur. However, the background do look sharp. See below pcitures. Am I getting too close to my objects? If not, I must say the focusing of A40 is very bad, although I have never used any other DC before.

    Any comments is welcome, thanks.







    Last edited by Eddy777; 10th April 2002 at 11:23 PM.

  2. #2
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default

    Well

    I have attached 2 of the better ones....but very difficult to get them lah......




    Last edited by Eddy777; 10th April 2002 at 11:24 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    can't see your pics but there's a minimum focussing distance for most cameras even under the macro mode (check your manual for the distance). you're using the macro mode right?
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  4. #4
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default

    oops.....you all can't see?? how come???

    The photos are in webshots.....and I can see them.....

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Originally posted by Eddy777
    oops.....you all can't see?? how come???

    The photos are in webshots.....and I can see them.....
    you can see them cos they're in your browser's cache. webshots doesn't allow direct linking of pics.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  6. #6
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default

    I see... I just changed to homex.coolconnect.com.....so you all should be able to see now... so sorry....

  7. #7
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default

    And yes.... I am using macro mode ...

  8. #8

    Default

    I think A40 is the same as A20 right? 16cm?

    Are you moving too close, say less than 16cm? Every cam got it's own macro range limit.

  9. #9

    Default

    This has been mentioned in many review sites. A40 macro is below average. Not to worry, just buy the lens adapter and a +4 close-up filter.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Second posting pictures improved!

  11. #11
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default

    Hi, the specs for camera says that I can get only as close as 16cm....

    Maybe can anyone share any tips on getting good macro shots?? Any thing I should take note?

    Should I go further away from my objects and zoom in 3x or do I get closer but without zoom? Which is better?

    Just curious, how much will a lens adapter and macro lens for my camera cost?? And can improve the distance by how much?? Just want to know roughly what are the costs involved .

    However, for the time being, I think I will practise more with my new camera as I hardly used a camera before. Hope that I can improve....

    Thanks. Regards.

  12. #12

    Default

    Does aperture settings have to do with macro mode?

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,292

    Default

    Originally posted by Eddy777
    Hi, the specs for camera says that I can get only as close as 16cm....

    Maybe can anyone share any tips on getting good macro shots?? Any thing I should take note?

    Should I go further away from my objects and zoom in 3x or do I get closer but without zoom? Which is better?

    Just curious, how much will a lens adapter and macro lens for my camera cost?? And can improve the distance by how much?? Just want to know roughly what are the costs involved .

    However, for the time being, I think I will practise more with my new camera as I hardly used a camera before. Hope that I can improve....

    Thanks. Regards.
    You can also buy a A40 teleconvertor TC-DC52 (2.4x) which is a 52mm thread lens. You will need to have the 52mm adaptor to fix it to your A40 before mounting the teleconvertor.

    This option will be an expensive option. By the way, just called AP, the above teleconvertor lens will only be available next month.

  14. #14
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default

    Wow..expensive? In what price range? $100 - $200????

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Got pic and states on it?

  16. #16
    Eddy777
    Guests

    Default

    I got this from a user in another forum. He is using A40 in Automatic and Macro mode.... how did he do that??



  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    1,292

    Default

    Originally posted by Eddy777
    Wow..expensive? In what price range? $100 - $200????
    Powershot / Bebit website listed as US$129 for the convertor lens. That is about S$230.

    Alternatively, you still need to get the adaptor (52mm or 58mm) and buy the close up filters +4, +2. How much for the filters, I have forgotten already.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    12,938

    Default

    Originally posted by Goondu


    You can also buy a A40 teleconvertor TC-DC52 (2.4x) which is a 52mm thread lens. You will need to have the 52mm adaptor to fix it to your A40 before mounting the teleconvertor.
    it won't help with close-up pics though. cos the focussing distance will be further away with the teleconverter.
    Check out my wildlife pics at www.instagram.com/conrad_nature

  19. #19

    Default

    Originally posted by revenant
    Does aperture settings have to do with macro mode?
    Nope.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Location
    somewhere near...
    Posts
    2,114

    Default

    Originally posted by Jango


    Nope.
    DOF will loh..somehow abit .

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •