Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

  1. #1

    Default Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    please advise.. jzu bought a new dry cabinet.. but can't get stable humidity.

  2. #2
    Member deathstar's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    West End Boy
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Give it a few days, it should stabilise.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Under the Stars
    Posts
    2,122

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Let it run for a few days and wait for it to stabilize before putting your equipment in.

    Mine is constant at 49 deg. But do take note that when you open and put your equipment in, the reading will go up. After a while, will go back to normal again.

    I stabilize mine within a day. Bought new, turn knob all the way clockwise then turn to around 1 o'clock to bring it to 49 deg.

  4. #4

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Quote Originally Posted by RyanG View Post
    Let it run for a few days and wait for it to stabilize before putting your equipment in.

    Mine is constant at 49 deg. But do take note that when you open and put your equipment in, the reading will go up. After a while, will go back to normal again.

    I stabilize mine within a day. Bought new, turn knob all the way clockwise then turn to around 1 o'clock to bring it to 49 deg.
    49 deg? or u mean 49%?

  5. #5

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    i turn clockwise all the way for 1-2 days already but it still show around 25% humidity with around 30 deg... is it normal... now come my humidity so low

  6. #6
    Senior Member TheChef's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Where the action is
    Posts
    2,304

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Quote Originally Posted by williamchew85 View Post
    i turn clockwise all the way for 1-2 days already but it still show around 25% humidity with around 30 deg... is it normal... now come my humidity so low
    Are you using an analogue or digital dry cab? 25% humidity is way too low and you may need to buy new equipment soon if this continues. Open the cab door to let the humid air flow in. Close the door after 30 seconds. It should read 55% now. Depending on whether it is an analogue or digital cab, read the instructions on how to set it to between 45% and 50%.
    S5Pro|S3Pro|D50|16-85VR2|70-200VR|80-400VR|S50f1.4|105f2|135f2|SB900|SB80DX

  7. #7

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheChef View Post
    Are you using an analogue or digital dry cab? 25% humidity is way too low and you may need to buy new equipment soon if this continues. Open the cab door to let the humid air flow in. Close the door after 30 seconds. It should read 55% now. Depending on whether it is an analogue or digital cab, read the instructions on how to set it to between 45% and 50%.
    mine is the DB-036

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    You shouldn't be turning the knob all the way to the end. Leave about one third of the way to go, should get you around the recommended range. Then from there do adjustments. The more to the right it is, the lower the humidity will become.
    incywincyspider climbup the waterspout...

  9. #9

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Quote Originally Posted by williamchew85 View Post
    please advise.. jzu bought a new dry cabinet.. but can't get stable humidity.
    Mine is in an aircon room, although not directly under aircon draft.

    Managed to get it stabilised after one day, it's between 40 and 50 daily.

  10. #10

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Wasn't this just asked on here about a month ago? A SEARCH will give you your answer.
    Alpha

  11. #11

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Quote Originally Posted by karnage View Post
    You shouldn't be turning the knob all the way to the end. Leave about one third of the way to go, should get you around the recommended range. Then from there do adjustments. The more to the right it is, the lower the humidity will become.
    one third? mean supposed to be more to the left?

    how come pple say turn to 1or 2 o'clock

  12. #12

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    ohh i think i figure it out.... thanks guys

  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Somewhere in little red dot
    Posts
    538

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Do you turn ON your aircon 24 hrs? If yes, you don't need a dry cabi. If no, do note that when temp goes down, RH% will go up and vice versa. So, when you turn on your aircon (temp drop), the RH% will go up, the cabi will take a while to bring it down again. When you turn off you aircon, the RH% will drop and take sometime before the RH% will go up again. If I remember correctly, 1degC change will cause 2~3%RH change.

    This may be a reason why you think that the cabi can't be stable.

    Anyway, just maintain around 45%RH, it depends on the size of the cabi and power as well as the stuffs you put inside. For me, to bring the RH% down, I need to turn to 2 o'clock and when it reach around 45%RH, I will turn it to 10 o'clock. You have to try to find out what setting is best for you. You setting should be for the longer period between your aircon ON or OFF

    Good luck.
    D300 & P5100 :bsmilie:

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Pasir Ris, Singapore
    Posts
    14,002

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Quote Originally Posted by williamchew85 View Post
    please advise.. jzu bought a new dry cabinet.. but can't get stable humidity.
    If u're using the analogue type, u won't get stable RH immediately. Mine took over 2 weeks (dunno why so long) and now is ok, though RH sometimes go below 40% still and i turn on my aircon every night when sleeping.

    If u want to get stable RH instantly, then go for those which can set the RH itself digitally, but pay more of cos.
    Canon EOS 5D, 24-70 f/4 L IS, 50 f/1.2 L, 70-300 f/4-5.6 L IS, 600EX-RT. Sigma 12-24 f/4.5-5.6 EX.

  15. #15

    Default Re: Is it advisable to place dry cabinet in air-conditioned room?

    Quote Originally Posted by TheChef View Post
    Open the cab door to let the humid air flow in. Close the door after 30 seconds. It should read 55% now. Depending on whether it is an analogue or digital cab, read the instructions on how to set it to between 45% and 50%.
    Agree. This will let you check is the hygrometer functioning.

    Quote Originally Posted by Rashkae View Post
    Wasn't this just asked on here about a month ago? A SEARCH will give you your answer.
    There is always new comer willing to answer.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •