Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Fujifilm

Old 18th February 2009   #1
spyke

Default S5pro

I am contemplating between getting a S5pro, been doing a lot of review searching etc and S5pro seems to come out tops in terms of imaging though the features on the camera is somewhat lacking or so they say. In which I dun think I am so pro to be affected by it i suppose. I would be converting from a D80, which I hope will not be a wrong choice. As many great reviews point out the S5pro to be good in low light conditions.

Just a few questions;

1. Are CF cards expensive?
2. What is the best or fastest card I can use?
3. What brands are recommended?
4. What is the biggest size I can use?
5. Are all accessories for a D200 compatible for this camera? (they say the batt need to get from Fuji due to some chip thingy)
6. any issues in terms of support?

Apologies for the many questions, but I am keen to know more about the camera. I thank you all for your kind contributions to my questions in advance.
Old 18th February 2009   #2
jacob

Default Re: S5pro

allow me to half-spoon-fed you.

1. Are CF cards expensive?
nope 8GB around $30++

2. What is the best or fastest card I can use?
please check some thread in this fuji section. there's been some discussion that might benefit you.

3. What brands are recommended?
lexar or sandisk

4. What is the biggest size I can use?
16gb but may be more

5. Are all accessories for a D200 compatible for this camera? (they say the batt need to get from Fuji due to some chip thingy)
nikon battery cannot be used in S5pro. tried and tested.

6. any issues in terms of support?
same issues if you buy from any other brands since warranty 1 yr
Old 18th February 2009   #3
ip0176

hi, where can we buy a CF card 8GB for 30SGD ++? thanks
Sponsored Link
Old 18th February 2009   #4
spyke

hehehe. . Thanks alot for the info.. Really appreciate it.. looking forward to getting my hands on one.
Old 18th February 2009   #5
wheresmycheese

s5pro will be 2x slower than your d80 haha.. i was a d80 user before switching to s5pro. you'll get use to it when i say slow it means the time from the moment you release the shutter to when the image is displayed on screen. reviewing photos are a pain too. just FYI
Old 18th February 2009   #6
KopiOkaya

Originally Posted by ip0176 View Post
hi, where can we buy a CF card 8GB for 30SGD ++?
The price of a 133X 8GB CF card now is between S$35 and S$40. You can purchase it from any reputable stores such as MemoryWorld at Sim Lim Square.
Old 18th February 2009   #7
KopiOkaya

Originally Posted by jacob View Post
nikon battery cannot be used in S5pro. tried and tested.
However, one can use the NP-150 with a D200 battery charger.
Old 18th February 2009   #8
SVG84R

Originally Posted by wheresmycheese View Post
s5pro will be 2x slower than your d80 haha.. i was a d80 user before switching to s5pro. you'll get use to it when i say slow it means the time from the moment you release the shutter to when the image is displayed on screen. reviewing photos are a pain too. just FYI
i thought from dp...the time for photos to be viewed on the screen is roughly 1 sec? well not instant though
Old 18th February 2009   #9
KopiOkaya

Originally Posted by SVG84R View Post
i thought from dp...the time for photos to be viewed on the screen is roughly 1 sec? well not instant though
About a second. That is why most S5 Pro users are 'uncles'.

We take things sloowwly.....
Old 18th February 2009   #10
spyke

wow issit really dat slow? even with a fast cf card? and if I dun save as raw file will it be faster? well i guess good pics must wait eh.. hmmm... wondering about the settings also..
Old 18th February 2009   #11
jacob

Originally Posted by spyke View Post
wow issit really dat slow? even with a fast cf card? and if I dun save as raw file will it be faster? well i guess good pics must wait eh.. hmmm... wondering about the settings also..
slow and steady

Last edited by jacob; 18th February 2009 at 08:45 PM.
Old 18th February 2009   #12
SVG84R

can i just ask how long it takes for one to view picture to picture after they are taken?
i used to use the old nikon d100, doubt it will be slower than the d100 right
Old 18th February 2009   #13
Oldox

hehehe. . Thanks alot for the info.. Really appreciate it.. looking forward to getting my hands on one.
U better act fast. HEard the shipment will arrive this Friday. I believe many/ almost all has been reserved.

U may only get one if some1 give up theirs. I got it in last shipment when some1 gave up his.

Hope to hear good news from u.

cheers
Old 18th February 2009   #14
Koelsch

Originally Posted by KopiOkaya View Post
About a second. That is why most S5 Pro users are 'uncles'.

We take things sloowwly.....
but wait, my girlfriend isn't an uncle

but i know of an uncle who has s5pro and d3. does that make uncle slow?
Old 18th February 2009   #15
wheresmycheese

Originally Posted by SVG84R View Post
can i just ask how long it takes for one to view picture to picture after they are taken?
i used to use the old nikon d100, doubt it will be slower than the d100 right
its really slow. where got oen sec u take then see your D80 screen. s5pro i think like 2secs or 1.5sec used to it le.. not for the impatient.

builds a character
Old 18th February 2009   #16
spyke

its really slow. where got oen sec u take then see your D80 screen. s5pro i think like 2secs or 1.5sec used to it le.. not for the impatient.

builds a character
well I guess it will train me to be patient.. hehehe I guess the image is more important.. its the final image that I am more interested in. though the speed would help.. If only we can mod the firmware to speed things up. hehehhe well I guess its some inbuilt thingy within the camera. pardon me for being the noob in here. still learning from all you pros out there...
Old 19th February 2009   #17
wheresmycheese

well I guess it will train me to be patient.. hehehe I guess the image is more important.. its the final image that I am more interested in. though the speed would help.. If only we can mod the firmware to speed things up. hehehhe well I guess its some inbuilt thingy within the camera. pardon me for being the noob in here. still learning from all you pros out there...
i not pro.. quite a new user too. ask kopiOkaya and Jacob and madmacs they are old birds

u get use to it lah
Old 19th February 2009   #18
jacob

S5pro comes as in nikon D200 body. imagine if i've 5 frames per second and read the image just like nikon D200. do you think nikon D200 still can sell?

how about this, S5pro sensor performance better than nikon D300(one of the speed demon) and this S5pro has 5 frames per second and read image as fast as nikon. do you think nikon D300 still can sell apart from faster AF?

Old 19th February 2009   #19
wheresmycheese

S5pro comes as in nikon D200 body. imagine if i've 5 frames per second and read the image just like nikon D200. do you think nikon D200 still can sell?

how about this, S5pro sensor performance better than nikon D300(one of the speed demon) and this S5pro has 5 frames per second and read image as fast as nikon. do you think nikon D300 still can sell apart from faster AF?

reasoning like that also can ah?

you the man !!
yeah wad jacob say is 99% true 1% reserve for myself. colors are pleasing!
Old 19th February 2009   #20
spyke

wah... din see it from dat point of view... Interesting.. but maybe still can sell due to heavy marketing from nikon... hehhehe no offense hor just being cheeky.. Thanks for your advise, I really appreciate it. Me on the waiting list to get one of this babies.. I really hope to get it soon.. can't wait to play around with it.