Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Nikon

Nikon At the heart of the image

Old 15th February 2009   #1
entitybeing

Default Nikon 24-70 f2.8 vs tamron 28-75 f2.8

hi to all out there, ive a couple of questions in mind.
how is the image quality of tamron 28-75 f2.8 when it stands on its own?
how is the image quality of TAMRON 28-75 F2.8 against nikon's 24-70 f2.8?
and is it worth paying that extra 2k+ more? thanks
Old 15th February 2009   #2
alexyap1205

Smile Re: Nikon 24-70 f2.8 vs tamron 28-75 f2.8

I have a Tamron 28-75 F2.8. And I should say it is quite sharp and I am very impressed on what what it could give me for the price. I don't have image to share though as the lens is not with me as of the moment. One thing is that it's quite slow and noisy when focusing. I am sure the Nikkor one would be better, but it is like S$2000.00 more expensive.

Hope this helps.
Old 15th February 2009   #3
catchlights

Default Re: Nikon 24-70 f2.8 vs tamron 28-75 f2.8

Originally Posted by entitybeing View Post
this is very subjective. only you yourself can have the answer you want.

suggest you rent these two lenses do a side by side comparision.

if you are very happy what Tamron 28-75 f2.8 can give you, take the Tamron.

and looking for something better, can tahan the weight, have 2K to spare, go for the Nikon.
Sponsored Link
Old 15th February 2009   #4
tanandrew

How abt Sigma 24-70mm f2.8 i'm using it so far so good of couse if have budget go for Nikon
Old 15th February 2009   #5
Stress

Usually this equation holds.....Price = Quality
Both with high corelation!
Go rent a 24-70 f2.8 or borrow from fellow CSer (if he/she willing to lend) and you'll understand my equation. Tamron will give good pictures too if taken with the right composition.....
Old 15th February 2009   #6
cjdwaja

Myself is satisfied with tamron 28-75 f2.8, the picture is sharp enough, even quite noisy and a bit slow to get focus.

So, It depend on your budget. If you have bugdet to buy around 2K for Nikon, just buy it.
I believe the quality much better lah....
Old 15th February 2009   #7
Squid

Originally Posted by entitybeing View Post

Tamron 28-75mm F2.8 lens, on its own, is a good lens. It works well in stationary or near staionary situation with adequate to good sharpeness at aperture F4.0 till F11 and adequate lighting situations. Generally, it is a value-for-money lens that rivals the original camera makers' lens like Canon, Minolta, Nikon or Pentax. It is also known to be significantly lighter than its Nikon counter-part.

More information with technical measurement or users review or both and located outside Clubsnap are at :
SLR Gear
Photozone
Fred Miranda
Popular Photography
The Digital Picture
photo.net

More information inside Clubsnap at these threads via its own search function
Thread 1
Thread 2
Thread 3
Thread 4
Thread 5
Thread 6

I opted for Nikon as it is able to take pictures wide open at F2.8 aperture and it is able to focus faster due to AF-S capability against AF capability for Tamron lens.
Old 15th February 2009   #8
cichlid

You can try the Nikon 24-70mm lens at the Nikon showroom...it will sure have you addicted, heehe
Old 16th February 2009   #9
soeypixels

today i just rent the 24-70 on the D700
SHIOK

but it does hunt a little during low light
and i shot the whole wedding w/o a flash at 3200ISO
Double SHIOK

the price is kind of killer but theres afew 2nd hand on the BnS
and is quite heavy considering i do not have a grip and flash
Old 16th February 2009   #10
Lord Soth

I've come across some side by side review of these 2 lenses sometime back.

Here's the main gist of the comparison :-

At f/2.8, the Nikon lens is slightly sharper at the edges and has better contrast throughout. A good Tamron lens should still be sharp wide open though.

At f/4 onwards, there is no significant optical difference. The Tamron peaks here in optical performance.

So if you absolutely want the "BEST", and are willing to pay the extra $$$ and carry the 1 kilo lens around, get the Nikkor lens.

On the other hand, if you are looking for a compact and lightweight lens which is value for money and can rival the Nikkor lens at f/4 onwards, get the Tamron.

There are satisfied customers from both camps. BTW, so far, I have not come across any reviews of people returning their Tamron 28-75 for the Nikkor 24-70 or vice versa. Be sure to get the "Made in Japan" version of the Tamron if you are interested.

Last edited by Lord Soth; 16th February 2009 at 08:21 AM.
Old 16th February 2009   #11
deklan

Originally Posted by Lord Soth View Post
I've come across some side by side review of these 2 lenses sometime back.

Here's the main gist of the comparison :-

At f/2.8, the Nikon lens is slightly sharper at the edges and has better contrast throughout. A good Tamron lens should still be sharp wide open though.

At f/4 onwards, there is no significant optical difference. The Tamron peaks here in optical performance.
can link this comparison? cause i seriously doubt the standard of the test...
if the results of the test is true, it must be a miracle tamron piece...
Old 16th February 2009   #12
earthling82

Tamron 17-50mm
Weight: 430g
Filter Attachment Size: 67mm
Lens Construction: 16 elements in 13 group
Diaphragm Blade: 7 pcs

Nikon 17-55mm
Weight: 755g
Filter Attachment Size: 77mm
Lens Construction: 14 elements in 10 group
Diaphragm Blade: ?

The Tamron is smaller in diameter and lighter - though it has more glass. I'm going for my Tamron 28-75mm next pay day . No money for nikkor

Last edited by earthling82; 16th February 2009 at 09:29 AM.
Old 16th February 2009   #13
earthling82

Originally Posted by soeypixels View Post
today i just rent the 24-70 on the D700
SHIOK

but it does hunt a little during low light
and i shot the whole wedding w/o a flash at 3200ISO
Double SHIOK

the price is kind of killer but theres afew 2nd hand on the BnS
and is quite heavy considering i do not have a grip and flash
mind if I ask you! Is this the nikkor one? HOw do you find the zooming - is it adequate for the event shooting? thanx
Old 16th February 2009   #14
Daedalus Trent

Originally Posted by earthling82 View Post
Tamron 17-50mm
Weight: 430g
Lens Construction: 16 elements in 13 group

Nikon 17-55mm
Weight: 755g
Lens Construction: 14 elements in 10 group

The Tamron is smaller in diameter and lighter - though it has more glass. I'm going for my Tamron 28-75mm next pay day . No money for nikkor
huh? Why are you comparing the Tamron 17-50 and the Nikkor 17-55??
Old 16th February 2009   #15
Lord Soth

Originally Posted by deklan View Post
can link this comparison? cause i seriously doubt the standard of the test...
if the results of the test is true, it must be a miracle tamron piece...
Sorry it was some time ago.

I think it was one of the threads on the DPreview forum.

As for the standard of the test, the owner of both lenses took pictures using a tripod etc and posted the results side by side. It's good enough for me.

Even the Canon users are praising their purchase of the Tamron 28-75 lens so I'm not surprised at the results.

Last edited by Lord Soth; 16th February 2009 at 09:54 AM.
Old 16th February 2009   #16
deklan

Originally Posted by Lord Soth View Post
Sorry it was some time ago.

Even the Canon users are praising their purchase of the Tamron 28-75 lens so I'm not surprised at the results.
thats because canon users dont have our 24-70
Old 16th February 2009   #17
earthling82

Originally Posted by Daedalus Trent View Post
huh? Why are you comparing the Tamron 17-50 and the Nikkor 17-55??
oops repost

Tamron 28-75mm
Weight: 510g
Lens Construction: 16 elements in 14 group

Nikon 24-70mm
Weight: 900g
Lens Construction: 15 elements in 11 group
Old 16th February 2009   #18
Daedalus Trent

Originally Posted by earthling82 View Post
oops repost

Tamron 28-75mm
Weight: 510g
Lens Construction: 16 elements in 14 group

Nikon 24-70mm
Weight: 900g
Lens Construction: 15 elements in 11 group
yea, 900g

indeed
Old 16th February 2009   #19
Lord Soth

Whoa!!!

That statement will start off World War 3

But I'm glad that Tamron is able to bridge the gap between Nikon and Canon. At long last, Nikon and Canon users can agree on something, which is the fact that the Tamron 28-75 is a very good piece of glass for both systems.
Old 16th February 2009   #20
catchlights

you better read up properly and write carefully.

Canon introduce Canon EF 24 - 70 mm F2.8 L USM lens in 2002. long before the Nikon 24~70 f2.8