Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Photo Galleries > Macros and Close-ups

Macros and Close-ups The small world brought large. Photos of tiny things, from critters to exotic items.

Old 11th February 2009   #1
jungsangchoe

Default Another shot at Admiralty park

This time i met up with Teebs and we went to shoot at Admiralty Park.
He took me further than i usually go with my girl and boy oh boy did we see more...

nways i didnt get much so ill just post wad i managed to get.

had to rush off to work so didnt get much

Thanks to Teebs for showing me the paths..

First up i found this nice black spider. love the colours.Hope you do too.

2nd spider was the white fella (sorry i duno ID)

Then we saw some bees

and another (i know this is not v clear)

and another
Old 11th February 2009   #2
jungsangchoe

Default Re: Another shot at Admiralty park

Then we found the Big one! (ok this is not the big one but the baby of the big one

This is the big one!

hope u like it..

thanks for viewing

Last edited by jungsangchoe; 11th February 2009 at 11:04 AM.
Old 11th February 2009   #3
teebs

Hi Jung,

Nice meeting you tat day also...

Basically I would say that your focusing is still slightly off. For spiders behind the web like the big one we took, it is best to use manual focusing for fine adjustment. If you take a look at the big spider eating the bee, you will find that the focus is more on the web then the spider.

Anyway, shoot more and you will improve...You gal seems to have improved quite a bit recently... Time for you to do some catching up...

Maybe next week, we can catch up again? Can check out the Republic poly trail Loboclerk always goes to.

Last edited by teebs; 11th February 2009 at 11:47 AM.
Sponsored Link
Old 11th February 2009   #4
jungsangchoe

argh! jung no good! jung lost to ki... sniff
Old 11th February 2009   #5
teebs

Originally Posted by jungsangchoe View Post
Ki improve, then u must catch up and win her, then she will improve and win you later...That's how u improve...

Okie, give you some motivation.

Two bee pics I took at the Sentosa flower fest quite a while back. Tell yourself by next week you will be able to take pics are much better than the two pics below.

Last edited by teebs; 11th February 2009 at 05:14 PM.
Old 11th February 2009   #6
kihunho

Originally Posted by jungsangchoe View Post
argh... dun say tat.. i'm not as good as you in terms of focusing.. i have many disadvantages ya know.. hahah..

but keep it up tho.. u're improving as we speak..

gd job.. nice spidey..
Old 11th February 2009   #7
wheresmycheese

i like this one. YES, wonderful colors! like others, its abit soft. maybe try shooing at f8 for macro?
Old 11th February 2009   #8
loboclerk

Good attempts! What was your setup like? Remember to take many many photos with different settings with each subject u find! From many misses, u learn from them and get the good hits!

teebs if u all are keen to explore the trail, maybe we could do it on Sunday morning. All stay Woodlands ah? I walk there from home leh.
Old 11th February 2009   #9
teebs

Originally Posted by loboclerk View Post
Good attempts! What was your setup like? Remember to take many many photos with different settings with each subject u find! From many misses, u learn from them and get the good hits!

teebs if u all are keen to explore the trail, maybe we could do it on Sunday morning. All stay Woodlands ah? I walk there from home leh.
Me staying in Boon Lay...

Cannot be there too early lah...Got to take bus, MRT then bus again

Jung is using 40D + Canon 100 Macro + Flash/Ring Flash. That day he didn't use his ring flash though he brought it along...
Old 11th February 2009   #10
tehtarik

good try
all composition are quite nice..

#2 is a white crab spider..
just my personal opinion, try to focus the eyes whenever shoot for macro, especially spider..as spider got 8 eyes, at least get the 2 biggest lor
for #2 i dunno whether is OOF or flash that burned out the details..

keep on shooting, and try to shoot those less moving insects first before going for bees, as the bees always move and cause even harder to get focus..
bugs that is good for focusing practice such as crickret, fly(the eyes), and spider(not moving around one), or try to focus on flower, and after few time practising, u will find actually focusing is so easy
gambateh and all the best!
Old 13th February 2009   #11
jungsangchoe

thanks for your kind comments.

macro portraits r a challenge

look forward to shooting more..

i was using a 40d with a 430ex n stofen diffuser