Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: How to... color only a portion of the picture

  1. #1

    Default How to... color only a portion of the picture

    HI guys

    I have seen some pics where only a portion of the photo is colorised, while the surrounding area is in B&W. How do I do that in PS? Would appreciate any help

    Thanks

  2. #2

    Default

    do not know if mine is the orthodox method..

    I desaturate the whole picture and then use the histroy brush to brush back the colours into the areas i want coloured.

    Hope it helps.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    East
    Posts
    706

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laugh
    do not know if mine is the orthodox method..

    I desaturate the whole picture and then use the histroy brush to brush back the colours into the areas i want coloured.

    Hope it helps.
    Yup think that is the best way...

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laugh
    do not know if mine is the orthodox method..

    I desaturate the whole picture and then use the histroy brush to brush back the colours into the areas i want coloured.

    Hope it helps.
    Thanks laugh. Works like a charm

  5. #5

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gremlin
    Thanks laugh. Works like a charm
    check this URL:

    http://canong2.dynip.com:8080/canon-...rticle01.shtml

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by laugh
    do not know if mine is the orthodox method..

    I desaturate the whole picture and then use the histroy brush to brush back the colours into the areas i want coloured.

    Hope it helps.
    I finally know what the history brush is used for.. hehe

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    984

    Default

    the history brush can be used for many other things. its one simple but yet very powerful tool in photoshop. have fun exploring

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    desert
    Posts
    363

    Wink

    I cant seem to do the same for my PS 7 leh.
    Keep telling me wat the histroy does not have the same colour so cannot use the history brush
    confused.............

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    East
    Posts
    706

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jnifur
    I cant seem to do the same for my PS 7 leh.
    Keep telling me wat the histroy does not have the same colour so cannot use the history brush
    confused.............
    Make sure you have not cropped or done any changes to the picture before you apply the history brush and also flatten your image before applyign the history brush. hope this helps

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    Singapore
    Posts
    984

    Default

    the reason why you cannot paint back is because you might have used the simplest but not the best way of removing colour from the picture... you prob used the grascale function...
    this is a different colour mode and when you try to paint colour onto a monotone image, ps gives you error message....
    thus, once you have monotoned your picture, make sure that the mode is in either rgb colour mode or cmyk color mode...

    then the history brush will work just fine...

  11. #11

    Default

    Yes, agreed with showtime, you won't be able to use the history brush if you use the change colour mode function, or deleting colour channels method to get b/w. Try using the desaturate function, or monochrome in the channel mixer.

    There are several ways of doing it tho.



    My flow, not using the history brush,

    1. From the layer menu, select Adjustment Layer, follow by Channel Mixer.
    2. From the pop-up Channel Mixer dialog box, click on the Monochrom, somewhere at the bottom left of the dialog.
    3. Click OK. Your image will go b/w.
    4. In the adjustment layer, select the eraser tool and "brush" on the area that you want to be coloured.
    5. Done!


    Try it out and post it here!

  12. #12
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    desert
    Posts
    363

    Talking

    Finally done!!!!!!!!
    Thanks all who have taught me how to do the change.
    Thank you! :laugh:

    Last edited by jnifur; 18th October 2003 at 12:46 PM.

  13. #13

    Default

    * togu clap clap clap



    You might also want to try adjusting the curves too, that'll bring out your colour contrast tremendously.

    1. From the Layer Menu, select New Adjustment Layer, click on Curves.
    2. In the Curves dialog box, pull the centre point of the curve vertically up, and the bottom left point of the curve horizontally right.

    Keep it coming!

  14. #14

    Default

    thanks for the tips! really helpful


  15. #15

    Default

    Another one for the record


  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Eastern Coast of Singapore
    Posts
    164

    Default

    There's another method. Polygon Lasso/Pen tool, use Feather to make the selection and Inverse Selection, followed by Desaturate. To me that's faster...

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2004
    Location
    London, UK
    Posts
    2,358

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by acrylonithrill
    There's another method. Polygon Lasso/Pen tool, use Feather to make the selection and Inverse Selection, followed by Desaturate. To me that's faster...
    That's the method I usually use... Here's a pic using this method:

    The equipment can only bring you so far - the rest of the photographic journey is done by you.

  18. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Eastern Coast of Singapore
    Posts
    164

    Default

    Hahaha... I used to craze over this workstyle. I don't have my library with me but just some real damn lousy post that I did last year...


  19. #19

    Default

    Your workflows were pretty cool...But how do you guys select the a particular portion of the photo (any tips on this) I find that the eraser tool is quite slow, that is it takes a considerable time to erase a particular area specially if it is an irregular shape. The magic tool should help make it fast but only if the shape is not irregular and has a good contrast else it is not accurate... How the experts here do select a particular area in a shortest time possible?

  20. #20

    Default

    got spare cash?

    corel knockout 2

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •