Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

  1. #1

    Default 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Hi all,

    I'm new to photography and have some noob questions regarding my 1000D.

    I understand that 1000D does not have spot metering, but seems that if I activate Live View and set AF mode to Live (contrast detection), I can choose which area to focus by moving the AF point. I also noticed that exposure is somehow taken from the same AF point. Is this one way I can actually do spot metering on my 1000D?

    Anyone else has this similar experience? Hope someone can help to advice, thanks!

  2. #2
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,209

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    What metering mode are you using? Partial metering?

  3. #3

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Quote Originally Posted by Anson View Post
    What metering mode are you using? Partial metering?
    Sorry for late reply, I am using evaluative metering, but during liveview, you get to shift the AF 'box' around, seems like exposure also taken from the same 'box'. Or is evaluative metering still on?

  4. #4
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    if u r using zoom lens, u can use partial metering (which is a fat spot metering) and zoom in all the way and point to where u wants t meter, lock the exposure, zoom back out and recompose.

    but of cause, if u already zoomed in to take the photo, than this method dont work.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  5. #5

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    if u r using zoom lens, u can use partial metering (which is a fat spot metering) and zoom in all the way and point to where u wants t meter, lock the exposure, zoom back out and recompose.

    but of cause, if u already zoomed in to take the photo, than this method dont work.
    hmm that's a good idea, i'll try it out, thanks so much!

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Eastern Side, Tampines
    Posts
    377

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    if u r using zoom lens, u can use partial metering (which is a fat spot metering) and zoom in all the way and point to where u wants t meter, lock the exposure, zoom back out and recompose.

    but of cause, if u already zoomed in to take the photo, than this method dont work.
    Eh.. Bro What a good technique! Amazing logic. Thanks for sharing!

    Cheers

    Mahathir
    Only in death, I shall be truly liberated.

  7. #7

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Its the AE lock function. Pretty good feature if you worry about overexposure and underexposure.
    You wont see me much less remember me but i am the guy who makes you look good.

  8. #8
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    i will recommend you guys read up on this

    http://www.kodak.com/cluster/global/...f9/index.shtml

    especially for the part Substitute Readings since you want to tryout spot metering.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    5,782

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    if u r using zoom lens, u can use partial metering (which is a fat spot metering) and zoom in all the way and point to where u wants t meter, lock the exposure, zoom back out and recompose.

    but of cause, if u already zoomed in to take the photo, than this method dont work.
    Yea it's what I do as well. That, or use manual mode.
    Our pictures are our footprints. Itís the best way to tell people we were here - JoeMcnally | Flickr

  10. #10

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Another newbie here . I thought live view is for focusing(manual) and metering is for exposure? thanks
    Canon EOS 40D | EF-S 17-85mm IS USM |SpeedLite 430EX II

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    5,782

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Quote Originally Posted by karayden View Post
    Another newbie here . I thought live view is for focusing(manual) and metering is for exposure? thanks
    You are partly correct on LV, and correct for metering. LV is also for convenience sake, like when you're shooting low, or shooting from up high (above heads, for example).
    Our pictures are our footprints. Itís the best way to tell people we were here - JoeMcnally | Flickr

  12. #12
    Senior Member denniskee's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    5,468

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Quote Originally Posted by Headshotzx View Post
    Yea it's what I do as well. That, or use manual mode.
    er... manual mode not equal to spot metering.
    photography makes one sees things from all angles.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    5,782

    Default Re: 'Spot metering' for Canon EOS 1000D

    Quote Originally Posted by denniskee View Post
    er... manual mode not equal to spot metering.
    I meant, when the environment is a difficult one to shoot in (backlighting, black tuxedo, white school uniform etc) I would use manual mode and chimp / read histograms for the exposure metering.
    Our pictures are our footprints. Itís the best way to tell people we were here - JoeMcnally | Flickr

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •