Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: White Balance in Lightroom

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Pasir Ris
    Posts
    644

    Default White Balance in Lightroom

    I can't seem to figure where to disable Lightroom from automatically changing the WB of a photo after it previews it? Does any one know?

  2. #2

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    I'd guess you're shooting RAW.

    LR will generate it's own interpretation of the RAW data using adobe camera raw (ACR). The "preview" you see before LR generates it's own preview is actually a low resolution JPEG photo from the camera, hence colors and wb will change once LR generates it's own preview.

    If you're shooting JPEG, then I think you've got some presets misset. Go clear them to leave WB as "as shot".
    1D MkIII, 5D MkII 16-200 2.8L, 35L, 50L, 135L
    View my flickr

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2003
    Location
    Singapore, Pasir Ris
    Posts
    644

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by vector1 View Post
    I'd guess you're shooting RAW.

    LR will generate it's own interpretation of the RAW data using adobe camera raw (ACR). The "preview" you see before LR generates it's own preview is actually a low resolution JPEG photo from the camera, hence colors and wb will change once LR generates it's own preview.

    If you're shooting JPEG, then I think you've got some presets misset. Go clear them to leave WB as "as shot".
    Yes, I'm shooting RAW. The funny thing is that the once the preview is "over", the image's WB gets changed. The preview's WB is what I get on the camera LCD as well as DPP. The final image on LP's WB is changed. How can I prevent this from happening?

  4. #4

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by DanMan View Post
    Yes, I'm shooting RAW. The funny thing is that the once the preview is "over", the image's WB gets changed. The preview's WB is what I get on the camera LCD as well as DPP. The final image on LP's WB is changed. How can I prevent this from happening?
    it is not the WB that is getting changed but the general colour interpretation... and you cannot stop it from happening.
    Canon is not providing Adobe with the their colour coding so Adobe makes their own interpretation.
    Create a preset to correct it or create your own camera profile.
    Never forget rule 5
    My Flickr

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    In mac there are camera for the respective canon/nikon think one can use the edtior to modify it.
    I am not very sure how it works...

    http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php...AQ#WhatIsNewAS

    Where are the new profiles installed on my computer?

    On Mac OS X:

    /Library/Application Support/Adobe/CameraRaw/CameraProfiles

    On Windows 2000 / XP:

    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\CameraRaw\CameraProfiles

    On Windows Vista:

    C:\ProgramData\Adobe\CameraRaw\CameraProfiles


    How can I set a given profile to be my default camera profile in Camera Raw?

    First, open an image in CR and select your desired profile from the Camera Profile popup menu in the Camera Calibration tab. Then click on the flyout popup menu (to the right of the words "Camera Calibration") and choose Save New Camera Raw Defaults.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Telok Kurau
    Posts
    135

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by longkangman View Post
    In mac there are camera for the respective canon/nikon think one can use the edtior to modify it.
    I am not very sure how it works...

    http://labs.adobe.com/wiki/index.php...AQ#WhatIsNewAS

    Where are the new profiles installed on my computer?

    On Mac OS X:

    /Library/Application Support/Adobe/CameraRaw/CameraProfiles

    On Windows 2000 / XP:

    C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Application Data\Adobe\CameraRaw\CameraProfiles

    On Windows Vista:

    C:\ProgramData\Adobe\CameraRaw\CameraProfiles


    How can I set a given profile to be my default camera profile in Camera Raw?

    First, open an image in CR and select your desired profile from the Camera Profile popup menu in the Camera Calibration tab. Then click on the flyout popup menu (to the right of the words "Camera Calibration") and choose Save New Camera Raw Defaults.

    Thanks! The new 'adobe standard' profile works great. Albeit not perfect, but definitely a marked improvement over ACR 4.4. Note: My opinion is purely based on as a Canon user.
    Last edited by minimizor; 9th February 2009 at 12:08 AM.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Serangoon North
    Posts
    2,225

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    You can first change the settings in Camera calibration until it matches what you wanted. Under Develop module, go to Develop > Set Develop settings. Next time when you import the files from the same camera, all settings will be defaulted to that.

    More info here : http://www.computer-darkroom.com/lr_...a-defaults.htm

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Location
    sewage drain/manhole
    Posts
    5,011

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    good to know it works on you.

  9. #9

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    I think a more appropriate fashion to do this would be to use the ACR profiles in LR 2.0.

    Although I'm still figuring out on how this works - you would need the profile editor to do so.

  10. #10

    Default Re: White Balance in Lightroom

    Quote Originally Posted by SNAG View Post
    I think a more appropriate fashion to do this would be to use the ACR profiles in LR 2.0.

    Although I'm still figuring out on how this works - you would need the profile editor to do so.
    you need one of those colour charts, then you need to download the editor (free), take a RAW shot of the colour chart and correct the colour to match the colour chart, which of course means that your monitor should also be calibrated. and you should do it under controlled light conditions so you should take a white balance shot as well
    Never forget rule 5
    My Flickr

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •