Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > Equipment Discussions > Fujifilm

Old 27th January 2009   #1
lunas

Default Do you increase the exposure for Flash on S5Pro?

I find that the S5Pro tends to under-exposed even on flash set to iTTL? Do you have this experience?

*BTW, I have titled the flash head to bounce light off the celling...
Old 27th January 2009   #2
ALPHA1

Default Re: Do you increase the exposure for Flash on S5Pro?

Originally Posted by lunas View Post
I find that the S5Pro tends to under-exposed even on flash set to iTTL? Do you have this experience?

*BTW, I have titled the flash head to bounce light off the celling...
Just as you mentioned flash head tilted to bounce light off ceiling ,for sure the light lost depend on the flash to ceiling distance. Flash compensation depends also . iTTL do not know the ceiling distance lor
Old 27th January 2009   #3
nakedtoes

Why dun u use a bounce card?
Sponsored Link
Old 27th January 2009   #4
lunas

Originally Posted by ALPHA1 View Post
Just as you mentioned flash head tilted to bounce light off ceiling ,for sure the light lost depend on the flash to ceiling distance. Flash compensation depends also . iTTL do not know the ceiling distance lor
I have increased the flash compensation to as much as +2. I do not have this problem with D300...

Originally Posted by nakedtoes View Post
Why dun u use a bounce card?
It is in a HDB living room, surrounded with white walls.

Last edited by lunas; 27th January 2009 at 10:13 PM.
Old 27th January 2009   #5
nakedtoes

I have increased the flash compensation to as much as +2. I do not have this problem with D300...

It is in a HDB living room, surrounded with white walls.
TTl is pretty accurate for me.. seldom do i need to adjust compensating indoor
Old 28th January 2009   #6
photobum

This is normal. I am sure your D300 does the same except that since the S5 Pro has a wider dynamic range, thus the underexposure is more prominent.

What Alpha1 said is correct. You will lose light if you bounce flash off the ceiling. Worse if a bounce card or dome is not used.

If you think bouncing off a white HDB ceiling is bad, try a church or conference hall.

Last edited by photobum; 28th January 2009 at 08:19 AM.
Old 28th January 2009   #7
lunas

Originally Posted by photobum View Post
This is normal. I am sure your D300 does the same except that since the S5 Pro has a wider dynamic range, thus the underexposure is more prominent.

What Alpha1 said is correct. You will lose light if you bounce flash off the ceiling. Worse if a bounce card or dome is not used.

If you think bouncing off a white HDB ceiling is bad, try a church or conference hall.
Thanks for the advice, Bro. I didn't use a dome or a diffuser, just merely the piece of plastic on the on the flash itself and that small bounce card, shooting at 17mm during daytime.

Somehow light falls off at the side...as a result the two ends are not lighted evenly with slight under-exposed and overall picture is under-exposed...

Again, could it be due to the daytime that I need to increase exposure compensation for flash, because in the night, shooting in HDB flat I do not need to increase as much as +0.7 while in the daytime as mentioned above...even with +2.0 flash compensation the picture is under-exposed as I am trying to use the Flash to light up the place...

Thank you.
Old 28th January 2009   #8
photobum

Somehow light falls off at the side...as a result the two ends are not lighted evenly with slight under-exposed and overall picture is under-exposed...
Try using ISO 640 or 800. This will solve the problem.
Old 30th January 2009   #9
garagez

usually iso 800 works for me

cheers
Old 30th January 2009   #10
lunas

Originally Posted by garagez View Post
usually iso 800 works for me

cheers
Thanks guys. With ISO800 I will get more noise. Maybe next time I should get a tripod for taking group photos with slower shutter speed at maybe 1/20 sec with f/5.6 @ ISO400

Cheers.
Old 31st January 2009   #11
photobum

Thanks guys. With ISO800 I will get more noise.
The noise of ISO 800 looks pleasing even on 8R prints.

Occasionally, I even shoot at ISO 3,200 with flash.