Thread: Cheerleaders

Default Cheerleaders

Hi there, I took this shot at a recent cheerleading competition among the different halls in NTU. Wanted a wide-angle action shot on the cheerleaders unraveling their hall banner. The photo was taken with a Canon EOS 450D, with a shutter speed of 1/25 second, f4.0, 320 ISO. Settings: in a sports hall with fluorescent lights.

Aside from the fact that I accidentally captured a little bit of the photographer next to me (on the right), I'd like to know how this shot could've been improved. For one, could I have minimised the brightness of the ceiling lights? If so, how? As they appeared in most of my other pictures I didn't think it'd affect the photos until I transferred them to my laptop. Find the lights quite distracting.

Also, which types of other lenses would be a better option for such shots?

Hope to get some critiques as I'm a journalism student who just started venturing into photography. Thanks much!

Default Re: Cheerleaders

I think you shot a little too early, the hall banner has not revealed itself yet. you've missed the money shot.

I presume you were able to rove, and not stuck to this spot. I'd have looked for positions to capture both audience and cheerleaders when shooting WA to get the big picture. it need not be any at all dramatic or exciting but it has to answer the simplest question, what is happening here. your image doesn't tell the viewer it is a competition, even i thought it was some CNY practice session or some other. Include the audience, include the judges, show the supporters, illustrate the noise & buzz... get some place high and shoot down, you might need to get permission to get into certain rooms or positions but it's worth the effort. it would certainly show your lecturer you will go the extra mile.