Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Autofocus problem...

  1. #1

    Default Autofocus problem...

    Hi,

    I just bought my D60...and I found out there is no autofocus motor inside the camera.. it is depend on the lense.. Actually i want to but 50mm lense which is don't have the AFS...

    What is the solution for this problem? People say I can adjust the lense's focus ring manually... hehe

    how do you guys manage to get a good focus using non-AFS lense on camera that dont have autofocus motor?

    (*dont ask me to go to google, coz i can't find the solution there...)

    CHeers ^^

  2. #2

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    Learn how to fiocus manually, and practise - a LOT!

    I don't know if 3rd party split-image screensw are available for your model, and if there would be problems, but this one you can search and find out.

    All the best.

  3. #3
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Ang Mo Kio
    Posts
    1,325

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    D60 has some electronic rangefinder thing right? If it's in focus, there'll be a dot that appears or something like that...

    There's a new 50mm f1.4. Think that's AF-S right? Or is it only AF? Haha! =P
    incywincyspider climbup the waterspout...

  4. #4
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    With a D60, you can look at the viewfinder screen. There is a green dot on the left side and it will light up when you have focused accurately.

    You can use that as a guage.
    Last edited by zac08; 16th January 2009 at 12:28 PM. Reason: sorry... pointed out wrong side
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  5. #5

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    This is the result of not doing your research before buying...
    Alpha

  6. #6
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    simple and cheap solution:
    manual focusing with electronic rangefinder, read your camera manual.

    not so simple and not so cheap solution:
    manual focusing with split-image focusing screens, google "split-image focusing screens for D60"

    simple and expensive solution:
    get a Nikon AF-S Nikkor 50mm f/1.4G lens
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  7. #7

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    Manual focus by turning the focus ring on the lens.
    And look for the "Focus Indicator" as shown in the picture #1.


  8. #8
    Moderator Octarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Pasir Ris
    Posts
    12,422

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    Quote Originally Posted by indomie View Post
    (*dont ask me to go to google, coz i can't find the solution there...)
    Is that a standard disclaimer nowadays like "Sorry for inconvenience caused"? This forum has plenty of information available, it just needs you to use the search function for "manual focus" in Nikon section, that's all.
    AFD 50mm 1.8 w/ D40
    Nikon D40, D40x & D60 Compatible Lenses.
    manual focus on d40/x/60
    50mm f1.8 on D40 . . . Anyone ?

    Hope that helps.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    bukit batok
    Posts
    1,479

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    my solution is to go AF-S or HSM.
    planning for a 30mm f1.4 HSM for my d40.
    save up for the lens or upgrade to a better body like the d80/90, or get a job if you have to...

    by right with the electronic rangefinder program in the d60, your MF method should be easier than the d40/40x.
    Last edited by Simon_84; 16th January 2009 at 12:43 PM.

  10. #10
    Moderator catchlights's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    Punggol, Singapore
    Posts
    21,901

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    another more expensive solution for once and all the auto focusing problem on your camera.....

    sell away the D60 and get a D90
    Shoot to Live, Live to Shoot
    www.benjaminloo.com | iStock portfolio

  11. #11

    Default Re: Autofocus problem...

    yeah.. thanks for the reply.. i just know there is a green dot when the subject is already in focus.. thanks guys.. ^^

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •