Go Back   ClubSNAP Photography Forums > General Discussions > Newbies Corner

Newbies Corner The best place for those new to photography and ClubSNAP.

Old 26th September 2003   #1
bubblegumz

Question Where is a good place to shoot nature?

hi folks! I am a newbie both to photography and this forum...glad to know that there are MANY helpful souls out here...cos i NEED help now..

I want to snap some shots of nature, in particular to insects, birds and stuff. Want to try playing with Macro, u see...so where is a good place to shoot? One that has shelter when the weather turns nasty? Many many thanks in advance hor! hehehehe.......
Old 26th September 2003   #2
Falcon

You might want to try the Singapore Botanic Gardens and Alexandra Butterfly trail for a start. Both places are good for insect macros. After which, u can explore sungei buloh, bukit timah,zoo, birdpark, etc.
Old 26th September 2003   #3
megaweb

Go to

http://www.clubsnap.org/display.php?...ens/index.html
Old 26th September 2003   #4
bubblegumz

Hmm......a bit far leh, these locations....where is Alexandra Butterfly Trail by the way?

Any place that is easily accessible by public transport and comes FREE?
Old 26th September 2003   #5
Falcon

Originally Posted by bubblegumz
Hmm......a bit far leh, these locations....where is Alexandra Butterfly Trail by the way?

Any place that is easily accessible by public transport and comes FREE?
Ops.. It shld be Alexandra Hospital butterfly trail located at Alexandra Hosiptal. Take train to queenstown mrt and then bus 195. I think alight on the third stop. You shld be able to see the hospital on the right hand side. It is free. Same goes for the botanic gardens except the orchid garden. Click on mega's link to find out more.
Old 26th September 2003   #6
bubblegumz

Oh! Within the hospital compounds? That sounds interesting...i may try there! Thanks Falcon and megaweb! (me can't go to Botanic cos too far from where I have to go next...but thanks anyway for ur prompt help!) =)
Old 26th September 2003   #7
Falcon

Oh! Within the hospital compounds? That sounds interesting...i may try there! Thanks Falcon and megaweb! (me can't go to Botanic cos too far from where I have to go next...but thanks anyway for ur prompt help!) =)
You shld be able to see it on your left upon entering the compound. Enjoy chasing the butterflies and remember to post here.
Old 26th September 2003   #8
bubblegumz

hehehe.....okie! if they turn out presentable
Old 26th September 2003   #9
megaweb

hehehe.....okie! if they turn out presentable

there are 2 things that you will never miss the Alexandra Hospital butterfly trail :

1. Grasshoppers

2. Ants bite
Old 26th September 2003   #10
bubblegumz

that doesn't sound too appealing...but no choice... guess have to sacrifice a bit ants! here i come!
Old 26th September 2003   #11
Falcon

that doesn't sound too appealing...but no choice... guess have to sacrifice a bit ants! here i come!
Wow. Good spirit. Just curious, what is your macro setup?
Old 26th September 2003   #12
bubblegumz

macro setup? me newbie leh...me using A70 so am gonna on the macro mode and shoot close-ups...is that a set-up? kekekekeke..paiseh paiseh.....
Old 26th September 2003   #13
Falcon

macro setup? me newbie leh...me using A70 so am gonna on the macro mode and shoot close-ups...is that a set-up? kekekekeke..paiseh paiseh.....
Of course. Dun worry, this forum has many macro specialists. I am learning alot from them.
Old 26th September 2003   #14
bubblegumz

okie! i am open to advice and tips tips tips! anyone with gd tips, pleeeeeeeeease give me some!
Old 29th September 2003   #15
megaweb

Thread move to "Newbies Corner" due to the nature of the content ...
Old 29th September 2003   #16
bubblegumz

orh okie!
Old 29th September 2003   #17
aong

I think they've free shuttle service there... chk at the MRT station control..
Closed Thread