Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 28

Thread: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

  1. #1

    Default What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Recently attempted my first shoot at Wedding AD.

    Realised some of my photos are very grainy due to noise as i do not really have any fast lens. Can anyone share what is the highest iso that they use for acceptable IQ?

    So other than buying fast lens and using flash, what are the other ways of avoiding photos with high noise level?

    advice appreciated
    D70s + kit 18-70mm / AF50mm f1.8D/ SB-800

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    2,196

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    It really depends on your camera. The latest generation sensors like the 5DmkII and D3x can produce very clean shots at even ISO3200+, and "acceptable" at 6400?

    For a D70s, my guess is ISO800 for reasonably clean, 1000/1250 could be pushing the limits of what would be "acceptable".
    Sony Alpha system user. www.pbase.com/synapseman

  3. #3

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    What camera are you using?

    The latest cameras can easily go up to ISO 3200 without any problems.

  4. #4

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Still using a D70s....

    hmmm so only way is to get a higher end body? or a faster lens??
    D70s + kit 18-70mm / AF50mm f1.8D/ SB-800

  5. #5

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    I use 10D... and I max out the ISO ... occasionally.
    Gallery | Facebook Page Spreading the Good photography.

  6. #6

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Oh... I use Nikon D70... I try to keep to a max of ISO 800... Personally, I try not to go pass ISO 400, although I have hit ISO 1000 before...

    Shot at ISO 1600 once, and never tried it again... Results were fairly horrid.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2003
    Location
    State of Confusion
    Posts
    2,196

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Quote Originally Posted by brenton View Post
    Still using a D70s....

    hmmm so only way is to get a higher end body? or a faster lens??
    Eventually you're going to need to upgrade the body. The D70s has been around for a while aready, and the newer generation sensors do give a perceptible difference in performance. Try a 50mm/1.4 for starters. It's not too expensive.
    Sony Alpha system user. www.pbase.com/synapseman

  8. #8

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    upgrade the body
    D7100,SB910,17-50/2.8OS,105/2.8VR,85/1.8D,2xE-M1,O60/2.8,12-40/2.8,35-100/2.8,14-42,LX100

  9. #9

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    i shot weddings with a d70 before. get a 50 1.8 and push your iso to the max, of course you need a flash and you need to get your exposure spot on. but other than that, theres no magic in getting nice pictures at iso1600 on a d70. the trick is the flash. and remember, if its going to end up in a 4r album i wouldnt worry about noise too much, dont believe, print it and you'd be surprised.

  10. #10

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Thanks thanks, have to start saving up again for purchases liao
    D70s + kit 18-70mm / AF50mm f1.8D/ SB-800

  11. #11

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    I feel that sometimes you have no choice but to use a high ISO.
    The other alternative will be to use Neat image or Noise ninja and apply noise reduction

  12. #12
    Senior Member Anson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    ansonchew.com
    Posts
    8,210

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    I am using a max of ISO 800 for 450D & ISO 400 for FZ50

  13. #13
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    1 VERY important question...

    wat is the requirement for the photos.. ?? Do they need it to be able to be developed into 8R?

    If only 4R, then a lil noise is ok... it can't be seen. I've shot at noisy ISO 800 on my D200 and the noise can't be seen at all in the 4R prints.

    So it's a matter of how much noise can be acceptable at which resolution you require.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Location
    Western SG
    Posts
    1,537

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Alternative method instead of investing in a new body or fast lens for now:-

    1) Know the limits of your equipment, what lighting condition you can shoot at what ISO (the highest ISO that is acceptable to you that look 'noiseless')

    2) Don't shoot when you know the lighting are beyond your equipment limitation.

    Like that you have more keepers

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Serangoon North
    Posts
    2,225

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Use a flash and shoot Manual. Set ISO 400-800. Should be fine. If all else failed, convert to B/W and called it art.

  16. #16

    Wink Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Quote Originally Posted by synapseman View Post
    Eventually you're going to need to upgrade the body. The D70s has been around for a while aready, and the newer generation sensors do give a perceptible difference in performance. Try a 50mm/1.4 for starters. It's not too expensive.
    Am using a 50mm 1.8 now. Gonna get used to prime and know it inside out before moving on to 1.4

    Quote Originally Posted by hacknet View Post
    i shot weddings with a d70 before. get a 50 1.8 and push your iso to the max, of course you need a flash and you need to get your exposure spot on. but other than that, theres no magic in getting nice pictures at iso1600 on a d70. the trick is the flash. and remember, if its going to end up in a 4r album i wouldnt worry about noise too much, dont believe, print it and you'd be surprised.
    Hmm i hope it's just 4R then.....Thanks, must ask for requirement next time

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    1 VERY important question...

    wat is the requirement for the photos.. ?? Do they need it to be able to be developed into 8R?

    If only 4R, then a lil noise is ok... it can't be seen. I've shot at noisy ISO 800 on my D200 and the noise can't be seen at all in the 4R prints.

    So it's a matter of how much noise can be acceptable at which resolution you require.
    Luckily for me, this time round, there's no expectation from the couple

    Quote Originally Posted by m3lv1nh0 View Post
    Use a flash and shoot Manual. Set ISO 400-800. Should be fine. If all else failed, convert to B/W and called it art.
    AHahah I like this one! I gonna have some art i hope :P
    D70s + kit 18-70mm / AF50mm f1.8D/ SB-800

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    3,350

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Really depends on whether you're using noise reduction software, and what sort of noise you're dealing with. Chrominance noise seems to be easier to rid and with less loss of detail than luminance noise. In this sense this allows me to use the maximum ISO setting on the Canon 1Ds which is ISO 1250. Some people say this camera is very noisy, but personally I've found that with little reduction of chrominance noise and leaving the luminance noise alone, printing to S8R (8X12") is not an issue at all.

  18. #18

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Quote Originally Posted by zac08 View Post
    1 VERY important question...

    wat is the requirement for the photos.. ?? Do they need it to be able to be developed into 8R?

    If only 4R, then a lil noise is ok... it can't be seen. I've shot at noisy ISO 800 on my D200 and the noise can't be seen at all in the 4R prints.

    So it's a matter of how much noise can be acceptable at which resolution you require.
    Hi zac, I've tried iso 800 on 40D and wif some pp, fotos look ok to me, but I havent tried in PRINT yet, so cannot really share comment wif ts. does any bros know the limit on a 40D in terms of max usable iso for 4r print?

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Punggol
    Posts
    5,812

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    On my 400D, I shoot ISO1600 very often. Sometimes, I even underexpose 1 stop and push up in post-processing to gain a better shutter speed. With LR2's noise-reduction system and me printing or posting online in small sizes, noise doesn't really irk me.
    Our pictures are our footprints. Itís the best way to tell people we were here - JoeMcnally | Flickr

  20. #20
    Senior Member zac08's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    East
    Posts
    11,755

    Default Re: What is the highest iso to use in AD wedding photography?

    Quote Originally Posted by gunawan View Post
    Hi zac, I've tried iso 800 on 40D and wif some pp, fotos look ok to me, but I havent tried in PRINT yet, so cannot really share comment wif ts. does any bros know the limit on a 40D in terms of max usable iso for 4r print?
    Well, I can see noticeable noise in my pics at 100% crop, and at 4R, you can't see anything...

    For a guage, look at them at approx 800 x 600 pixels, if you can't see much noise, it's ok.
    Michael Lim
    My Flickr Site

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •